NewSc0rpi0 - Portuguese, Son, Brother, Husband, Father and Video game collector, here is a bit of myself

in #introduceyourself2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I was recently introduced to Hive through Rising Star (@risingstargame), but after reading some of the posts in PeakD, I can already tell this is a great community worth exploring beyond the game.

91295740_3404849996210325_2875390960114597888_n (1).jpg

So for those interested here is a bit of myself, I am originally from Portugal, from a small city that gets that village vibe with a close community where everyone knows everyone and helps each other.

I am the oldest of 3 sons and what you would call a choir boy, the good reliable son, always very independent and the protector of the family. From young age I always been taught to have a mind of myself, not getting influenced easily, and I like to believe that helped me making great and true friendships along the years, not looking at who they were viewed by the society, but who they truly are.

392026_520321884648816_859912956_n.jpg

Video games were always a big part of my life, starting in the beginning of the 90's with a Atari clone, called TV Game at age of 5, it never stopped to this day, so much that when I started getting my own money I started collecting video games, having what my mum calls "too many games" and my father "waste of money", they will never understand it, but they made peace with it a long time ago 😄.

277165331_5520593811288240_2819240252563951269_n.jpg

Going back to share a bit of my personal self, at 17y, I moved out my parents house to get my university degree, was my first experience living alone, got me to be even more independent and responsible for my own life.

After finishing my degree the house market bubble exploded and we had "The Crisis", countries like Portugal were severely hurt by it and I am very grateful to my parents, they took me back in and provided for me during that harsh period of almost 2y, while paying for my other brother university degree.

That put on hold any hopes to get a job related to my degree (economics), so for 2y I kept developing myself, absorbing everything I could during that time.

Initially I turned to writing video games reviews, video production for youtube and web development in html and WordPress, to get some money on the side for my personal stuff.
Then, while playing some poker video game on PlayStation, my cousin showed up at my parents place, saw me and quickly introduced me to Freerolls and poker websites where I could actually make money without spending any (Free money? Let's check it out). That quickly brought my competitive self to light, and if I could be making some money while having fun, trading a video game for the real thing without adding a penny to it... why the hell not?

So for 2y, until regulations almost killed online Poker, I had some fun, got better at the game, started getting some earnings from it, even became the first "Zero to Hero" champion, a competition sponsored by PokerPT the main Poker website in Portugal. Got to go visit Hungary and play at the Unibet Budapest tournament, my first ever live tournament, even with all the problems getting a job, were 2 amazing years that helped me, not only, to have an escape from all that situation, got some cool experiences and best of all the ability to "read" people better, great skill to have in your life in my opinion.

new_Scorpio.jpg

Late 2010, I got my first "real" job, the day after my birthday 😅, but I wasn't satisfied with it, after 3 months a 40h job turned into a 20h job, with nothing to do on the other 20h, but had to be in the office basically doing nothing. I don't like to be stopped in time, I like to be challenged in everything I do, so after a year working and with all the money I saved, I invested it all in myself went to live in the south of Portugal and get my Masters degree which allowed me to be presented with new and better opportunities while the country recovered financially.

After finishing my Masters in 2013, I got to live in Germany, then back to Portugal, then to UK, then Czech Republic, in 10y, I believe I had lived in at least 10 different houses, some for a few months, others for a couple of years.

20431643_1799321683429839_4516866467053877613_n.jpg

2019, the best year of my life so far, stable life, good job doing what I like, living in Prague, an amazing city to live in, money on my pocket and best of all, I could finally start my own family, with some stability.

Got married early that year and had a baby girl in December that same year.

20200104_214039-ANIMATION.gif

Then in 2020, we all know, the pandemic changed the world as we knew it, but for me things got even better, it allowed me the chance to move back to my home country, with a better job and pay I had when I left, allowed me to give my daughter the chance to be with the grandparents and family in general, same as myself and her mother had, bought my first car and my apartment and I am now a bit with less money on my pocket, but richest as I ever will be :)

Oh and the food, (weird transition, but has to be said), I missed our food so much, we don't value what we have until we lose it... and if there was a thing I missed the most besides family and friends, was the food.

I really can't explain it, because I am good with something as simple as a stake, rice, fried egg and fries, but our food is just that damn good, and we can have fresh fish anytime of the week.

To end this my introduction that is really long already, hopefully you made it as far, with everything "on track" with my life, I got back to what I like to do with my free time, and got back into playing video games and again, same as Poker, why not having fun while earning some money.

So, late 2021, I got into cripto and several NFT game, wasn't for sure the best time to know about cripto and invest in it, I am basically on the red in every single coin/token I bought back then, but the more I read about cripto, the different networks their purpose, the more I believe in it, but back to the point of the cripto games, none actually had that fun factor, and to win money I had my daily job that I like a lot, wanted some fun while actually making money.

That is when I found Gods Unchained (GU) (https://peakd.com/c/hive-173286), I used to play a lot of TCG and that looked like something I would enjoy, and 9 months after I am still playing, started putting some of my own money into the game to better myself and has been great, but the best part of it is the community and how invested and passionate they are with the game. Money comes and goes, games as well, but these communities is what is ultimately all about.

I am very Thankful to all the GU community and to @feanorgu to introduce me to Hive and Raising Star, making possible be part of all this.

If you want to know more about me, or just discuss any topic please add it to the comments, I have a few guilty pleasures that I am not sharing just yet, but some of you may relate with... 😁

Have a great day everyone!

Sort:  

Welcome aboard! I'll delegate some Hive Power for a couple weeks to help you get started. This means you will have more resource credits to comment, vote, and post. Click here to learn more.

Be sure to write down your keys and keep them somewhere safe. Click here for another writer's overview of which keys do what. Beware of scammers, and don't enter your keys anywhere carelessly.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask! I don't have all the answers, but I'm glad to help if I can.

dizzy d20 128.png
HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

Thank you for that!

Will for sure reach out if I need to.

Hello and welcome @newsc0rpi0 !

I have to admit that you put a lot of effort into your presentation. Very nice and detailed.

I wish you good work and much success! 👋

Thank you for the kind words @vragolana!

I always have that thing in my head, if I am going to do something, better be the best I can do 😁

All the best for you too!

@newsc0rpi0 que grande colecção sobre videojogos que tem, convido-o a fazer um post, partilhando os artigos com as melhores anedotas.
O seu primeiro posto é óptimo.
Êxito no HIVE
😃

Obrigado!

Vou trabalhar num post nesse sentido logo que possível.

Hellooo @newsc0rpi0 ,
Welcome to Hive Ecosystem! ♦️

Excellent introduction, I loved the post!

Here you will find a very healthy network.
Where you have freedom of speech and receive a lot of support for your effortin creating content.
I hope to see you flying through the communities and staying forever in Hive!
Nice to meet you!

I invite everyone to participate in the communities: HiveBR, MusicHive and SkateHive.
In addition to being a content creator, I am a Moderator and Curator in these communities.
Let's exchange ideas and evolve together.

Boelter hugs straight from Brasil!

boelter-upgrade.gif

Thank you for the kind words.

I will check those for sure!

Hey @newsc0rpi0! This is @indayclara from the @ocd team. Congratulations and welcome to Hive!

We love to read more of your stories so make sure to share them in our amazing Communities! You can also check out the Communities Incubation Program.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here. This will also help you with your start here: How To Get A Great Start on the Hive Blockchain

By the way, since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Thank you! I will check those out!

Congratulations @newsc0rpi0! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome to Hive!
I soooo like the collection!
That's a lot!

Enjoy here in Hive! I'm sure you'll have fun here.

Thank you!

If is something that interests people I might do a post about my collection one of these days.

It is at over 1000 video games now, bunch of CE, more than half is probably Playstation stuff, as it is the easiest to get in Europe.

Have a great day!

I would definitely watch out for that post!
Do you still play them?

I am mostly playing Gods Unchained now, a NFT TCG, but I have a list of games aside in my collection to go through, last one I played was walking dead last frontier, is an interactive story, kind of like reading a comic book with different paths, where your choices lead to different outcomes in the story.

Next I want to finish, get all trophies and achievements, after completing the story, of Kingdom Hearts 3 and Last of Us 2

That's a lot of time and dedication!