Hey Steemit! Will you hear my confession?

Why hello there! I'm Jen and...

[deep breath]

... I am a writer.

WP_20180111_16_59_36_Pro (2).png

There - I said it. It's taken a long time for me to build up the confidence to do so! I think imposter syndrome is something we all contend with at some level (right guys? RIGHT?!) But, two years on from quitting full time paid work to begin the torturous process of honing my craft, I feel I've finally earned the title.

I still haven't quite found my niche. I've written poetry, flash fiction, non-fiction articles, and I finished a play last year; but I suspect that long-form prose may be my thing. I love to read novels and I'd love to write one, but it's always our most coveted dreams that leave us paralyzed with fear and so - well, that's why I'm here! What could be more inspiring than being part of a community that actively encourages creativity in all aspects of life: from producing original art to living outside the 9-5?

WP_20180111_17_17_57_Pro.png

So words are my fave; but I like other things too. Music, art, cycling, cooking and eating are all pretty high up on my List of Things to Do at Every Opportunity. Early mornings, not so much...

When it comes to food, cosmetics and cleaning products, I like to make my own, and I've recently started brewing fruit wine.

WP_20161222_18_30_52_Pro.jpg

I love to travel when I have the cash, and I was fortunate enough to spend a year of my twenties living in Vancouver. It's a fabulous place to be if you enjoy the outdoors as much as I do (though my vertigo gets in the way sometimes!)

407633_157251174384901_882586000_n.jpg

I joined Steemit because I heard it's the place to be for aspiring artists (thanks @thebigdelay and @kiloindigo for the tip!) and, having now had a peruse of the trending creative writing, I have to agree! I can't wait to get to know some of the people behind all this wonderful work.

It's so exciting to be here. Thank you for having me!

Sort:  

Welcome!! Glad you finally decided to join; I think you'll really enjoy the fantastic community here :) @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nighttimelight to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Welcome to steemit. I hope you will enjoy your stay here. If you need help with anything at this platform please do not hesitate to ask me or anyone in the community. Everyone here is eager to help one another. Have a wonderful day!

Loading...

Welcome to steemit. I'm sure you will find lots of people who share your interests. There are lots of writers here doing well. Make it fun and I'm sure you will want to stay. Have fun and good luck

Thank you!

Welcome aboard! I hope your writing finds some loving feedback here, so you may eternally avoid anything 9-5 :)

Hooray! Same to you

Welcome, we can always find room for another talented person... ;-)

Glad to hear it haha

Hi Jen! Welcome to Steem!

The Fresh Five is a new Steemian curation effort, geared toward rewarding new Steemians who deliver interesting, fun, thought provoking, or just plain silly introduction posts.

We invite you to come to our Engagement Post and join the comment thread where we hope to encourage engagement and interaction with your fellow Steemians.

Looking forward to seeing you dig in to Steem and join the community!

Ooh thanks! Looks great - would love to get involved