Hello Steemit Community

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello Steemit community!

Resized_20180512_204337_4807.jpg

This will be my profile picture, it was taken by my beautiful partner, @robyneggs.

My name is Kevin, and I have a background of working in many different trade skills, and arts. Motorcycle mechanic, carpenter, welding, sewing, photographer, and sketch art just to name a few. Currently I work as an environmental arborist. The Company I work for contracts with the federal, and state government for the purpose of providing old growth habitat in areas of regrowth. This involves a lot of driving, heavy gear, hiking, tree climbing, and camping. The hobbies I am most focused on right now are mead and leather.

WC 01.jpg

This is a photo of me carving a bat flange into a larger tree with a chainsaw at about 150ft up. It was taken by a coworker in an adjacent tree.



WP_20170408_008.jpg

Cherry mead

Mead

Mead is a wine that is derived from honey as its main ingredient, and it is one of my favorite drinks. When fruit is added it is also referred to as a melomel. Much of the fruit I use is hand picked from remote locations of the forests where I work. The honey comes from a local distributor and is collected from bee keepers throughout my region, but I plan to source directly from bee keepers as things progress. It is both an artisan product of the region in which I live, as well as a cultural celebration of the Nordic portion of my ancestry. I started making mead several years ago when my uncle, who was also a home brewer at the time, gifted me with a pair of 1 gallon, glass carboys and air locks. He now owns, and runs, Deep Woods Distillery in Oakridge Oregon. I am still just a hobbyist, therefore I can not sell, or make a profit from my mead, but it is my hope to eventually satisfy all of the requirements for a winery license.

WP_20170408_005.jpg

The wild black raspberries add a nice color.

20180401_124819.jpg

I like to surprise @robyneggs with a bottle from time to time. Also pictured is a bottle of Garbhain's Well, a single malt whiskey from Deep Woods Distillery.

imagejpeg_1.jpg

Vikings full of mead invade fine art. I found a pair of these cute Viking wine bottles at a local thrift store. The painting is by my aunt, Anna Lee Steed.

6tag_270817-125125.jpg

This photo is from last years batch of black raspberry, and thimble berry mead in progress.



WP_20161208_005.jpg

Leather

The history to my leather craft goes back long ago to my early ages. My mother is a talented seamstress, and as such would make me original clothing items from time to time, allowing me to take part in the process. She taught me basic hand stitching to mend my own clothing, how to work from a pattern to create clothing, and introduced me to the sewing machine. It wasn't until years later that these skills began to serve more of a purpose than basic need.

6tag_071116-134012.jpg

The vast majority of my leather products are hand stitched.

6tag_270817-125352.jpg

This work in progress will be a satchel for an old friend in Texas. It is also my first leather carving.

More

There are too many projects going on for me to cover everything in one post, so there will be much more to come. Until then, here are a couple examples of other projects I have taken on.

WP_20160716_001.jpg

I made these brass frames for a friend who was in desperate need of new ones.

V__1B7C.JPG

This was the first ever attempt at forging a knife from a piece of cable steel that I recovered from the woods. It is commonly left behind by loggers....

Sort:  

Welcome Kevin ;)
Definitely nice artwork and definitely worth a resteem for some publicity!
I wish you good luck and fun around here!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Hello new member, welcome to Steem

Hello noblitt! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steemit, noblitt! Wish you a very inspired experience here on this platform :) Life is Good

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

I'm deeply impressed by your various skills.
Have a good time here.
(Sorry for answering in German first.)

Thank you. My German is not so good, but feel free to comment whatever you like. I wouldn't mind learning a little more.

Hiya! Welcome on Steemit!! I find it an amazing platform for all sorts of reasons... I am also very new here and just uploaded my intro video. What I have already learned is that it helps to follow and upvote and the Steemit community will return the favor by throwing some cents your way with and upvote and following you. You will see some amazing posts and videos here. Stuff to laugh at, stuff to cry at, things that educate.. The list goes on and on. So here's my invite, please upvote and follow me and I will return the favor from sunny South Africa! :-) You can watch my intro video here https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@travelsa/r9ji45gn
Chat soon Steemit Buddies!!!!
14359166_10210978058515860_8371904207279343477_n.jpg

Thank you, I am now following you, and left an up vote.

Wow! So glad you are here on Steemit! Welcome to the platform, I know you will do well here, with all your cool interests! :-)

Welcome to steemit Kevin! Your hobbies are very interesting~ I didn't hear about mead before and curious to learn more! Also the satchel looks great! Will be following you. With this kind of content you will get a following soon, I'm sure :)

Thank you. There will definitely be more posts about mead to come.

@noblitt, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit! What wonderful detailed work you have done in that leather carving and hand stitching. Always something special of a handmade item they tend to last much longer than usual more modern day style of production for things.

Thank you, I agree entirely.

Hey welcome to steemit :)

Thank you!

Hello @noblitt. Welcome to Steemit.

Looks like you'll fit right in here with some interesting stuff to post about.

Best place to start I found was to comment as much as you can on other people's posts. That gets you noticed faster than making your own posts usually.

Have fun! 😊

Thank you, I will take your advice to heart.

You're welcome @noblitt. Glad to help! 😊

Hey mate, welcome to steemit. I'll be definitely in touch with you, I really like those things you do! Check out my blog :) Following you already, I left my vote.

Thank you, I am now following you as well.

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)


Thank you, I am new to Steemit and still exploring, but I will be sure to check it out.

Mead is amazing. Nice to meet you.

It is indeed. Nice to meet you as well

Welcome to Steemit @noblitt
For your kind information keep safe your master password.
For cryptocurrency news follow @jyotirmay & Do Upvote.

You really are a sweet and talented man! 🤓 Welcome to Steemit!