A proper introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

After waiting almost 2 weeks to get verified by Steemit I was anxious to post. I never gave a proper introduction and though my chance may have been lost to make a great first impression, I believe that a mistake is only made if I do not learn from the things I did wrong. Since my account is still at plankton level, I figured the time was still right to say hello and introduce myself.

nolo clear 2 small.png

My name is Nolo and I create things. I love all forms of art and media as well as branding and advertising. The thought of translating ideas into visuals in a way that resonates with a community has always been appealing to me. Its almost like another abstract language with room for interpretation that stimulates growth and new ideas.

monster thug outline.png

I grew up heavily involved in the graffiti culture of Miami, Florida. I liked graffiti because it gave me an opportunity to gain notoriety through the work I put in and not the people I knew or the money I had. It was the first decentralized platform I was a part of lol. I don't agree with the destruction of property and my consistency has allowed me to turn it into a legal profession that also beautifies communities. The idea of creating things other people can see and enjoy has helped me grow as an individual because it allows me to share a part of myself with the rest of my human family.

172081_10150180800438636_7758526_o.jpg

I am a Graphic Designer by profession but also enjoy making music, videos, murals, and creating businesses that can help people achieve their dreams. I love Typography, Photography, Philosophy, Art, Music, Gaming, Technology and anything which involves creativity. I'm even a huge fan of conspiracy theories lol.

elephunk.png

I am an entrepreneur by nature and have learned a lot about going in to business for myself. I found that sometimes your ideas may not be understood by everyone but that doesn't mean they aren't good or important. Sometimes it's all about timing and whether or not the right people see it. I have learned that failure is my greatest motivator and if you can correct the wrongs, your mistakes are only reminders for growth. After years of failure I've run out of ideas. Feeling lost, down, and useless I've almost given up hope in my dreams as a creator... until I found Steemit.

graff small.png

I've been here for a while and I'm finally getting a better understanding of the community and what Steemit has to offer to the future of Content Creation. I myself am directly affected by this because my goal is to be a professional Content Creator and curator. Without much else in my life, Steemit has been my single greatest motivation as of late. It is the platformed I envisioned for years as the idea of Content Creators became a real thing. It's given me hope when I thought only failure was left. It's pushing me to be kinder, more engaging, and patient.

todayisours.png

I have been well received by some in this community and I look forward to continue helping it grow. I believe we should be regarded for our actions and Steemit is a great way to experience that. This community is strong and supportive and I'm grateful to be here at a time when it is still growing. I would love to hear any recommendations for ways to become a stronger and more useful member of this community. I thank you guys for engaging with me. Especially those who have posted on my work and inspired me to do better.

Thank you guys for accepting me in to this great community. You guys rock!

Nolo Logo Black Shadow color.png

Sort:  

Welcome :) Did you design your profile picture yourself?

Thank you for the welcome. I did design it myself. Its a vector illustration self portrait with my minecraft glasses lol. A lot of people are regarded for how they look instead of what they can do. I felt that the illustration would be a great opportunity to express both lol
Thanks again for the great welcome

Hey, a big hello and welcome to steemit my friend! Nice pics! I love graffiti art. I was a scenic painter for theater for 20 years. Here's a project you might look into that my friend, @markrmorrisjr is doing. https://steemit.com/writing/@markrmorrisjr/you-need-to-stop-what-you-re-doing-and-read-this-right-now-i-m-going-to-make-you-famous-on-steemit-yes-you @steemgoblin

Thanks for having me! Scenic painting is epic. I really like creating engaging environments and creating an experience for people.

Checking out the link now. Thanks for the recommendation my friend!

I always wanted to do a graffiti set. I saw one for Seussical that was interesting. They took a modern take on his actual art. Pretty sweet.

I Googled it and was not disappointed lol. Dr. Seuss has great characters and linework. I'm surprised I haven't seen more graffiti inspired by his style.

Yeah, he had a kind of graffiti style, with his bold use of negative space and color on color. Lots of large container forms with other stuff going on inside and a very otherworldly feel, that is both alien and immediately familiar, like, I've seen that guy.

MAN! Thanks for the love already! That's awesome! Great post! Conspiracy theories, huh? SO, what do you make of this flat earth movement? LOL

I hear it can be a pretty touchy subject lol. Really don't want to touch that one. If anything I think people should be allowed to believe what they want as long as it doesn't negatively affect those around them. I think we should be allowed to question things because it helps us grow as a family.

Your post was a good one and I'm glad to see so many like minded individuals. I look forward to watching this community grow to Facebook and Youtube levels. Should be interesting.

You're right on that. I'm just not sure where they even got the idea. I've asked. They use the word "evidence" a lot, but don't seem to have any. Thanks for the conversation. Have a great day!

But just to not leave you hanging, unless you've traveled the whole world or have been to space, I don't know how you can say for sure. I think it's more interesting that people are talking about it again more so than the possibilities of it being flat or round. To each their own though

Man, I can't even draw something with a pen and paper, I have always been floored by what people can do with spray paint. When I spray something it turns out...not that great haha. Keep posting pictures of your awesome art! Also dtube is giving pretty generous upvotes right now to those uploading dtube videos! You could probably make some showing Steemit how you . make your art! I would totally watch that! Welcome and following!

Thank you for your inspiring comment! Spray paint is hard at first but like anything, practice and hard work will give you results. I believe anyone has the potential to be a great artist. Our ability to express our emotions in an artistic manner separate us from everything else, even A.I.

I just recently found out about DTube. I started sharing a few of my speed drawing videos on there. Would be kind of cool if people can get something from it. Its comments like yours that keep me here and keep me creating. I'm watching one of your videos as we speak. Will be checking you out a lot more. You have great execution in the way you speak.

Welcome to Steemit nolocreates. I am a newbie also and enjoying the Steemit site. Nice graffiti work. Keep Steaming. I will follow u.

Thanks for the welcome and compliment :D. Look forward to seeing more of your posts.

Welcome to the Steemit community, @nolocreates! I think graffiti art is fascinating, and I've seen some really awesome ones on the internet. Looking forward to seeing your posts - and thank you for your lovely comment on my poem, "Sweet Lila". Sending you all the best.

Thank you for the warm greetings. I love poetry and am excited to see more from you the very near future :)