Can I call myself a Steemian? My Steemit introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

My online entrepreneurship story from the start

First of all I need to say that I’m so excited to join the Steemit community. I had a serious case of FOMO when I first heard about it.

What’s the story?

I can honestly say that the journey I have taken to get here was completely unexpected. I am a freelance software developer by trade and mainly work on bespoke small business applications. A job which I have found has its peaks and troughs when it comes to earnings. So last September I did what most people do when they are hard up for cash and ideas I started watching YouTube videos. I was desperate to find new and online ways of filling the black hole in my finances.

In a moment of serendipity, I came across the @rulesforrebels YouTube channel, and I was captivated by Johnny’s motivation and drive to hustle. He literally changed my mindset and the way I thought about self-employment. Why was I concentrating on one revenue stream when I could spread that risk out and hopefully avoid further black holes in my bank balance appearing in the future.

My attention peaked when I found a couple of videos he had recorded around drop shipping and influencer marketing, and I thought yeah I could definitely do that. Fast forward two months, I had managed to set up a Shopify store stocked with t shirts of my own design, I can tell you it ended badly lol. (But you live and learn right)  

In trying to raise awareness for my store I decided to go back to the drawing board and did another round of self-education.  I jumped back onto ‘YouTube University’ as I call it, and tried to educate myself on all things Instagram.  This is where I found the digital Ceos guys (Social Media Experts). I later joined their Facebook group and set up my first Instagram page. 3 months passed and I suffered my second set back, my Instagram page was going nowhere in both growth and engagement were low. 

It was time to regroup again, so I took a step back and really pulled apart my strategy and where I was going wrong. Armed with this knowledge I launched my second Instagram page two weeks later. I can say that it is performing well ahead of my expectations and will likely reach 5k followers by the end of July, even though I started it less than 3 months ago. My target is to reach 50k followers by the end of the year and im definitely on target to achieve that goal.

This brings me to the present. About two weeks ago I was watching the @rulesforrebels channel, Johnny was talking about the features and benefits of Steemit. So at the risk of suffering a serious case of FOMO I jumped straight on the band wagon. I’ve spent the last week trying to find my bearings and develop an understanding of the Steemit etiquette. But what has struck me though is how inviting Steemians are, and are always willing to share what they know or have learnt. 

I have to admit that I joined Steemit because I was sold on its money making opportunities. But after joining I’ve quickly realised that the platform is so much more than that. I believe that Steemit will give me an opportunity to share and provide as much value as I possibly can. 

What will I be blogging about?

I want to split my blog into 3 areas, Instagram, Software Project and other hustles.

 I’m very active on Instagram and have been on the platform for around 7 months now. As I said before I believe that my main page will reach 5k followers by the end of this month and I’m targeting 50k by the end of the year. So I really want to document my journey to 50k, and share what I have learnt along the way.

On the software front I’m currently working on an app which will be like a Swiss army knife for Instagram influencers. The app will allow influencers to run hashtag and competitor research with ease, and a content downloader thrown in as an added bonus. The developers among you will know that it’s really easy to lose touch with your coding skills if you don’t keep up with the latest tech and trends within the industry. So my software hustle will allow me to keep one foot in whilst I share my time on other projects. With the open source nature of Steemit, who knows my next project could involve developing an application powered by the platform.

Then finally my other hustles series will feature everything else and any new opportunities that I think are worth my time.  I’m very interested in the Facebook ads drop shipping model, I just need to do more research into the opportunity. As well as crypto currency and the block chain, Although I don’t think I am nowhere near qualified to blog about these subjects at the moment.

My interests

Aside from social media and software development, I am completely fascinated by crypto currency and the block chain.  I think we are living in an era similar to the California Gold Rush in terms of earnings potential, and the invention of the microchip in terms of technological and social advancement. I’m also a massive foodie and follower of Football (Soccer) and Formula 1

My motivations

For me, adding value is the name of the game.  My aim is to make my blogs as quality as possible and only posting when I have something of value to share. If you think that I can do that for you drop a comment, or follow me along my Steemit journey. Also if you blog about any of my interests, again let me know in the comments and I will definitely hit that follow button!

So now back to my question, knowing what you know now do you think I can call myself a Steemian?

Thanks for reading! If you think you received some value out of this post please hit the upvote button or drop a comment, and if you want to follow me on my several journeys hit the follow button. ✌✌ (P.S I'm a Brit we write our dates like this 😁😁)


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.com

Welcome to the community!

Welcome 2 Steemit.com

Welcome to Steemit! You are definitely a steemian now.

I recently posted an article for a beginners guide to steemit if you'd like to check it out!

p.s. Its good to see more brits on here

https://steemit.com/steemit/@elmumby/getting-started-with-steemit-part-1

Thanks, I will definitely check it out. I'm reading up and watching all things steemit at the moment haha!

Welcome on Steemit :) !

I hope the best for you, really ! Don't forget, here we give only positives vibes :)

Try to create your own way. But don't forget, don't think only about earning something... We're here for the fun, to make new mates over the world, to talk and share about our experiences ! :)

I always follow back and vote :)

See you soon ! @benou

Hey @benou thanks for the heads up that is exactly my plan of action. Hopefully people will be interested in those experiences.

Welcome man...You sound like my type of guy. I say work on the best content possible. And this thing is a marathon. It's not a quick payout BUT...if you grind from the jump with the best content. You will see your reward in due time. I have a couple of podcast and when I see perhaps good people with vision, it makes me want to reach out. Check my page for good conscious conversations, along with crypto, and hip hop talk.

Thanks @geechidan this is exactly my game plan, and I will definitely checkout your page I feel like I need to learn everything right now

Welcome to Steem @nosajj I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you!!

Nice to meet you @Nosajj ! Welcome to the steemit community ! Take care, @digital-gypsy

Thanks i definitely feel welcomed to the community

Welcome @Nosajj its good to see more new users around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Hey @chrisx thanks for your kind words, I think I will be having so much fun here

Welcome here Nosajj:) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me...

Thank you for your welcome

Hello @nosajj. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hey David, i'm Jason btw thank you, hopefully my journey is a good one

Hi!!Nice to meet you and glad to see more people like you in this comunity Steemit! Becoming a steaminion is a great adventure, a good idea and a good hobby! Here you can win money while bloging and writing stories from your life! The start it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write cool stories and everything will be verry good. Wish all the best! Seya!
With love, @dianamihaela!

Thankyou Seya, I will try my hardest to write cool stories, im sure if I gain nothing else from this experience I will have become a better blogger and story telller.

Follow me for awesome stories. Wish you all the best!

Welcome to Steemit friend! Hope you enjoy the community here! Followed! :D

Thank you, I think I definitely will enjoy it

You're a Steemian bro!. I wish you good luck on your plans

Thanks bro, much appreciated!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thanks @digitalplayer, hopefully my content is worthy of your follow

Welcome to Steemit, yes this is a community that pays, novel concept, but an efective one!

Thank you, and it seems so far to be community which has value in more ways than a monetary one

Hi nosajj,
Im starting new FB group for designers and architects on Steemit to post their articles and support each other.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SteemitDesigners/

A new Steemian :-) hello @nosajj I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome to the Steemfamily !!! Followed. Follow me back 😘