Scientist, rockhound, sarcastonaut


IMG_0296.jpg

Hi Steemians!

I joined almost 3 weeks ago and have been lurking in he shadows, getting to know some of the communities on this great platform. I feel I've lurked long enough now and feel I can start offering some quality content. I'm not the type to go on about myself, I'd rather talk about things and ideas that interest me. How about a brief introduction and then I'll talk about what brought me here, m'kay?

A Bit 'bout Me
My name is Jaime. I'm married with a crazy cool 5 year old girl and another on the way. I'm finishing up my Master's Thesis in geology (I love those ore deposits), while I work as a GIS technician for the water department. We lived in Washington for the last three years and moved back to Texas last summer. I'm interested in all areas of science, technology, and creative expression. I'm also a entry level drone and cryptocurrency enthusiast.

My background is in hard rock geochemistry. I'm fascinating with the migration of elements through the Earth from its birth until now. I've had the pleasure of going on many a great field trip and study the chemistry of minerals using lasers. Pew Pew! I decided to start studying ore deposits as a graduate student because of a deep love of minerals and crystals.


Jaime_Labcoat.jpg

What's in it for me?
I started getting curious about Steemit and cryptos in general watching videos from @davidpacman, @pressfortruth, and UFDtech on Youtube. They helped demystify the world of cryptos for me while helping me realize how accessible they are to the general public. Cryptos are great, but it's the rise in block-chain applications that really has me excited. A site that pays you for the quality of content you create, not the amount of ads viewers watch? That's fantastic! The power is back in the hands of the people. I can see the distribution of wealth, culture, knowledge, and art shifting away from corporations and the elite in the next few decades. We live in interesting times.

So everyone hates the daily grind right? Working at some random unfulfilling job, earning much less than their worth. A lucky few find work they like, but still have to sacrifice most of their time when they'd rather be with friends and loved ones. Personally I love my current job, but my salary doesn't even let me pay back student loans on top of bills. But cryptos, though? The new online wild west where a smart investor can make a fortune. A world where most any tech-savy individual can can break into the game. More importantly, a chance for freedom from the rat race. That's the greatness I see in a platform like Steemit. Help build a community, earn some steem, and have fun? Sign me up! It's freedom that brings me here. The freedom to provide a great life for my kids and wife, without having to sacrifice the best years of my life.

What do I bring to the Table?
If I've learned anything from the vets like @nonameslefttouse, @molecular-wizard, and @suesa, it's don't pander and just be yourself.

I want to write some articles about science and technology. I have a lot of knowledge stored in these memory banks about Earth history and how/why rocks form. I have a decent size crystal and mineral collection and hope to show those off as well. I'm a bit of an artist as well. I like to use photoshop to make cool images and I'm getting into writing fiction as well. I'm a big fan of puzzles and riddles, I'd like to start a contest about brain-teasers eventually.

You'll find me hanging out in the steemSTEM section and the occasional art contest. If you see me, feel free to say hi.

Shameless self-plugs
My very first post was yesterday in a contest by @geekpowered. Check it out at this link., I'm rather proud of this entry.

I also wrote a haiku for the fractal writing contest by @nyarlathotep that's rather trippy

Sky rings, swirly things
Minds blown wide, staring up high
Acid rain drops free

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem.com

Soooooo I don't think I've seen you in the steemSTEM discord yet. Do you need/want an invite link?

Also welcome to the community, I just pointed to someone out how much I like your name yesterday.

Hey suesa! I would like to chat on discord, please send the link.

I’m excited you were the first to respond here, it was you post about plants vs pharmaceuticals that made me want to stick around Steemit. That’s when I realied there’s something much deeper going on here than can be found on the trending page.

I hope I get to the point where I can be putting out articles like yours soon.

And thank you!

I'm honored you feel like this! And here's the link: https://discord.gg/cPyrMt

Lurkung around Thats funny. You Will like the platform and in No time you Will be hooked

I agree. Steemit is already growing on me, I’m already liking it more than Facebook or even reddit. It’s like as if everyone on Facebook suddenly had an editor and ghostwriter to get their points across and suddenly lost the desire to show off how great their life is :)

Thats soooo true but over here is do different and I am glad to be in pretty early Lets go future off steem

Hey man, I've also been lurking in the shadows for a while and I'm coming out! Now following you. Looking forward to your posts

Glad to hear it. It can be intimidating on Steemit at first. It feels very familiar, but totally different at the same time. Once I started exploring tags outside of the trending page, I realized there are communities here I want to be a part of. Good luck!

Hello..! I welcome you to the steemit platform .. here you will find very interesting things! I invite you to vir my blog @idma

welcome to steemit, sosmed this very extraordinary, can give advantage for us, keep diggers deeper here ...
welcome to join ...
Greetings from me @nostone-unturned

hello @nostone-unturned and welcome to steemit!

this is a great place with a great community .. glad to have you.
@ricmark

Welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and keep posting. :)