Out of the workforce, into the community

in #introduceyourself2 years ago

It was October 2019 and I quit my last full time job. I worked for decades at various companies and finally was ready to pursue one of the many businesses I had tried throughout my past.

New Year's day 2020 and I was ready! Then things fell apart. Long story short, my business, that I so longed to work at full time and was doing great for a year before, boomed for 3 weeks in 2020, then crashed to zero.

Month after month, during 2020, I tried to find new opportunities, but nothing really stuck. I sat here with experience in what most would consider valuable skills from a career as a programmer and photographer, yet somehow I couldn't seem to find a penny's worth of revenue from scouring job postings.

So, I decided to do what many do after a long career - switch careers. I don't think I knowingly chose one, but ended up rekindling some crypto knowledge and fired up a couple of mining rigs and reacquainted myself with crypto trading platforms, from my initial signup and trade in 2013.

Fast forward to today and finally I actually love what I do: working with crypto based platforms: trading, earning, growing. And when I found this community, everything matched, from photography, silver living, crypto and the fact that it's blockchain based.

I've never had a blog, so I wouldn't be surprised if I'm not interesting, but working for community vs a company, I can already see it's a lot more rewarding.

So, here goes... photography and crypto that I hope others find useful, if not amusing :) Thanks for having me here.

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive @nthtv, I do hope we'll see more of your blogs! Hive has helped me in more ways than one, I've made new friends, blogging has actually helped me through some difficult times, as it gets one to focus and helped filling gaps in the budget during lockdown when our bnb income dried up.
Even though it's slow in the beginning, check out the communities as you're sure to find some that will be a perfect fit for your interests, subscribe and publish your blog through that community.
Good luck and as you're already in Crypto, you'll know that one has to be patient. You should check out leofinance.io as you can publish crypto related posts through that channel which automatically uploads it to Hive, you will be better rewarded for finance related posts through that channel.

Thank you for the support and encouragement @lizelle . I am really enjoying the Hive platform so far and just getting my "sea legs" here. There is so much on offer, which is just wonderful. It takes a while to learn, but like anything of value, it's worth it over the long run.

I'm getting confidence up with my comment skills, since I'm not a natural blogger or even writer. I am getting excited to author full posts very soon, make friends, enjoy and continue to follow you and others that write such interesting, and many times delicious, posts.

Welcome to Hivelandia!

It's hard to describe what exactly this place is, because it's so many things... but it's definitely a community, with hundreds of subcommunities embedded.

Be patient with it; it takes time to find a niche and identity... like all social media does. I'm just a few days shy of my 5th anniversary here... and a few months short of my 23rd anniversary as a blogger. And about 25 years since I told Korporate Amerika to kiss my grits.

You'll do fine as a blogger here. Particularly, if you weave your photography into whatever you are passionate about.

Your 5th anniversary, congratulations! And thank you for the encouragement.

Thank you, and you're welcome!

I've sent you a small "delegation" of "Hive Power" so you can create and engage freely without getting hampered by "out of bandwidth" messages. In plain English, that means I'm "lending" you some of my bandwidth, until you get going on your own.

Have a good one!

Hello @nthtv! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

By the way, how did you find out about Hive? You might want to share or tag your friend who introduced you here to thank them! ☺️

Check out and subscribe to these Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program. Communities gets you connected to other hivers who share the same interests as well.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

Congratulations @nthtv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!