Introduction and first article for Old News. The neck wringer! 1896

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Header final2.jpg

Hello Steemians!

I have been enjoying old news articles for awhile now and thought this would be a great place to share some. I find the contrast between the modern age and the past to be entertaining and educational. I haven't seen much like this being posted here so I thought it could be a good addition to an already great Steem community. Most of my blog posts will be about "old news" because I want to keep it focused for convenience of readers/followers (if I get any:) but I will be following and replying to other blogs and topics I am interested in.

With no further adieu I would like to present my first Old News article!

The Neck Wringer

This article and illustrations are from a 1896 newspaper.

wrinter text.jpg

I mean hey it was better than the "skull crusher" I guess! and look at the innovation, it folds back into a stretcher to roll em right out.wrinter pic.jpg

Thanks for reading and I am still learning how to format these posts so they will get better. If you have any comments or suggestions please reply! article 2 is on its way soon, it covers some old ads :)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit,
I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you!:)
Enjoy your time here & Good Luck

Thank you! and nice to meet you as well. I have been reading posts here for awhile so it was nice to finally join and hopefully contribute something to community! appreciate the upvote also.

I do like your intro @oldnews … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/artificial-intelligence-ai-must-be-designed-for-the-good-of-mankind

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my UPVOTE tick for the welcome, and hope you will FOLLOW to be up to date on posts ..!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Appreciate the response! I will check out your articles for sure, I am on the lookout for topics I am interested in so thanks for the informative introduction post.

Did a disgruntled chicken design this device? XD

Lol Must have! I liked the line about "the body can be delivered to relatives differing little from natural condition of death"

Cruel happiness... or what is this joy I am feeling reading the good ol' news!

Some of these old articles are entertaining in very odd ways. I have some old ads for next post and they make me laugh with wild claims and outlook. I checked out your profile and saw you were writing about crypto which I like to stay informed about so gave you a follow.

Thanks man :) And true that. Waiting for more news and such :)

Hello there @oldnews and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Thanks! I appreciate any upvote I can get :) I am always interested in new things so will check out what you have going on. Good luck and may you make lots of $$$ as well !

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

I welcome you to the steemit community. I hope you find here interesting.
You are also welcome to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for assorted exquisite dishes from all over the world.

Your will be a new style of writing and I an foresee that It would be great at content too .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around .

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Congratulations @oldnews! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!