Starving Writer Searching for An Audience That Pays

Writing is a humbling experience. It's not for the weak of heart or part time moonlight bloggers (unless that is all you ever plan to aspire to). Once you give yourself up into the frenzied world of deadlines, editing, grammatical structure and content niche, it will strip you down to a trembling mess and build you back up into super-heroic proportions.

One day you are flying high watching your numbers soar, and the next you are in a deep depression. That moment where your numbers are low and your latest post which you thought was INCREDIBLE, was maybe only average to the people who saw it. It all starts to drive you into the bottle, when you find out once again that a publication whose name we won't mention, won't be paying you till next month - maybe.

Starving Writer Searching for an Audience that Pays

Doesn't it sound deliciously wretched? It's so damn romantic to be a writer, until the bills hit. You might as well be the street sweeper. The street sweeper gets paid regularly...writers don't. But when we write something so metaphorical it sings to us, and our audience actually agrees - it's heaven. Suddenly the idea of bills and money fly out the window as we embrace our new idea! And that is why we continue to do it. That is why I continue do it.

My dad is holding out hope that one day I will move back to the US and get a real job. My mother is my most staunch supporter.

And, my husband is my dearest supporter of all. Because he accepts me for my crazy writing binges, my 4:00 am Tai Chi practice and my insane story ideas. He thought I was joking when he suggested (as a joke) that we should go to a known FARC pueblo and try to interview some guerrillas...and I agreed.

Don't get me wrong - plenty of our relationship struggles have come straight from my instability and financial impotence as a writer. But, in the end he always gives me a kiss and says "haga-le" or go do it, in Spanish. Because in Colombia you can fly by the seat of your pants and survive somehow. Don't ask me how I do it, I have already tried to explain it. Maybe it's some good old-fashioned grace.

Most importantly, I love good stories, and I love it when an article of mine takes off. Which is why I keep doing it. I don't write for money. I write for love, passion and appreciation for the art of word-smithing. But, if money follows, I will pay some bills and then go get my hair done.

Thank you for accepting me into a new and exciting writing community where I can play with my creativity and continue to do what I love!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @openmindedtravel :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Thanks @welcomebot I'm jumping into the Steemit pond head-first!

Welcome to Steem @openmindedtravel I have sent you a tip

Thank you @bottymcbotface I appreciate the support!

Welcome @openmindedtravel to Steemit. Welcome to this wonderful community soldier. Please follow me @bankhai
Upvote

Welcome to Steemit @openmindedtravel!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

I am sure many writers think along similar lines. Well you are the second one in our family to join Steemit, now we just have to invite and enliven the rest of the family. When we share this link lets try promoting more friends and family to get with this in place of fakebook....

Welcome! Let me know if you need any personal security tips. It sounds like you go on some pretty dangerous adventures.

Actually, I train in a Korean Military Martial Art, and take calculated risks. In the end we didn't get to go to the FARC pueblo - but it would be an interesting adventure.

Oh, I mean physical security tips such as how to protect yourself in a hotel room, how to know when you're being watched or followed, and other similar tips. The martial art will help, but your goal should be to never have to use it.

I'm on here sharing residential security knowledge mostly, but that also spills over into the personal security field. I'm a PI in Virginia as well. Those are the things I'm passionate about. Since you're passionate about writing, definitely keep pursuing it.

I wish you good fortune, and it was a pleasure meeting you!

@finnian I followed your page. My karate instructor works with us on street safety - but the hotel stuff, being watched...that would be super useful!

Welcome to Steemit :-) in sure that you will make it

Thanks @scottish01 we do it for the love of words!

Most people have the attention span of a hummingbird. It's tough to capture attention through text, and even moreso with this broad audience. I can tell you write well, so no need for the following but I'll say it anyway.

Keep the topics juicy: food, sensuality, danger! Let me get absorbed in the metaphors. Good luck to yas!

@daxed I appreciate the support! Thanks!

Welcome to Steemit @openmindedtravel! Nice to meet you. Remember me when you are rich!

PS. Follow @ENAZWAHSDARB for entrepreneurial value content, my blog!

@enazwahsdarb Sure! Why not! I will check out your content and follow too! Thanks for the support!