Just looking for some feedback after a couple days on SteemIt

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone. At least I hope there are enough folks out there to refer to them as everyone :)

Otis Jiry here. It's been a few days now since I've joined SteemIt. I'm a short story narrator with videos of the stories I narrate. Thus far I've uploaded about 25 or so videos I've done, from my Youtube channel, The Otis Jiry Channel. Just looking to see if y'all are enjoying my efforts and if you'd like to hear/see more of the videos.

A little background. Over the past three years, on YT, I've uploaded over 350 videos while accumulating about 31,000 subscribers and over 3.2 million views. As you may or may not know, on YT there's been an advertiser's revolt regarding the matching of their ads to inappropriate creator content. As a result, most content creators income dropped about 85-95% overnight and has yet to recover. As it is, it's very difficult to gain an income stream from YT, as you need to garner a significant amount of views. To be able to make $1000 in a month I would need to get over 500,000 views or 16,500 views per day. You need a lot of exposure to get there.

Well now that things are sorted out a bit with advertisers, YT is running bots on all videos and determining who is or isn't advertiser friendly. If ANY advertiser decides your content is not appropriate to them, you entire channel will be demonitized, meaning no matter how many views you get, you make nothing.

As for me, my YT channel is a portion of my living income, as I'm a voice actor/narrator. Thus far, I have been lucky and not been demonitized, but being part of the 'horror' genre, most YT horror narrators are getting slammed. Some significant channels with over a million subscribers and hefty monthy income streams are being demonitized. Which is why I have taken the lead and have started looking for other digital media sites to expose my content.

So, if you like my content, please upvote so I can gain some 'steem' here. Feel free to comment and let me know if I should continue with this. I have a backlog of over 350 videos I can upload, plus I continually record new ones weekly which I will upload here as well. Some are short. Less than 5 minutes, while others are complete audiobooks running several hours, so there will always be something you can find the time to enjoy.

My subscribers on The Otis Jiry Channel have dubbed me the "White Morgan Freeman" It's kind of a running joke. So much so I did a parody commercial with the voiceover emulating MF's delivery. If you'd like to hear it, have a listen.

I hope you got a little chuckle out of it.

Please, if you enjoy my efforts, give my content an upvote, so that I can recoup some lost income from YT, and to further show my talents for viewers to enjoy. I have many who are regular viewers on YT who keep in touch all the time, and tell me how my content helps them personally, with everything from helping them deal with cancer, depression, coping with life's stresses, to being their kid's grandpa telling them stories at bedtime. It's all humbling. And I appreciate all the feedback and am grateful for their support.

Thanks for listening and bless you all.

Otis Jiry

Sort:  

Not only has this man the smoothest voice in Louisiana, he's also probably the nicest guy east of the Rocky Mountains. He always finds time to answer questions, reads and answers to each and every comment and - best of all, really - he's available for hire!
Seriously, if you want one of the best deliveries available, no matter if it's voiceover work for a movie, a commercial, sports announcement or just the weather, he's your man, folks, look no further.

I'm looking forward to all your new videos, sir. Stay safe and have a nice day!

Interesting guy. That video is funny. So obviously that wasn't Morgan Freeman, was that you?

Yes that is me. My nickname as bestowed upon me by my 30,000 YouTube channel subscribers is "The White Morgan Freeman" so I gave them a little something to laugh about. :)

Welcome to Steemit and have a bon voyage!!!

Thank you so much. I hope you enjoy my efforts.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment