Beginnings & Endings

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Life is funny. And it’s not. We often come into things as serendipitously as we go out. And sometimes...we do it unconsciously.

05FCE6ED-EA1F-4613-A5EC-57AA4C0DC128.jpeg

I’ve been taking a break from Steemit. I’m not sure exactly why I walked away. Well that’s not exactly true. After a year of pouring my heart into this place, I felt empty and discouraged and somewhat disillusioned. Doing the math, I discovered that I could probably have made more working in a sweatshop in a third world country. And as I was waking up to that indisputable, humbling fact, Steem dove off a cliff.

I needed a break.

47F1633C-070A-42AF-BFC2-651990C464B3.jpeg

But then something happened. I discovered that I missed my daily ritual of creating a post. Of writing and shooting and editing and curating...just for myself. Just for the sake of doing it. Not to order. Not for hire.

So...I’m back. I’m still broke. I’m still struggling. I’m still searching for my place in this world as an unapologetic artist. But I’m also here. Consider this my reintroduction; my Steemit 2.0.

Did y’all miss me as much as I missed you?

F3017013-8B58-41CD-A44C-2C1F90991BC9.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @outrayjust! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

How charming. A bot made as much auto-commenting on my post as I did.

This couldn't possibly be intentional on IMB's part, could it? He meant to write more books, no?

Greetings @outrayjust! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Yes, I did. You are now doing it for the right reasons and I look forward to more

Well...after seeing several 100% downvotes on this post - for who knows why! - I remembered why I stopped. No offense at all, @nikv, but it’s a hell of a lot easker to do it for the right reasons when you’re reaching people and making respectable payouts.

When I can pay my bills and have some stability, perhaps I’ll come back for the “right reasons”. But for now, clearly this isn’t a luxury I can afford to put my heart and soul into. 😞

Don't take the downvotes personally, they are worth nothing and part of the Steemit Defense league. A bunch of trolls that downvote at random for no reason at all. Everyone has received a few.

My idea of the right reasons revolves around just being productive. I plugged away at writing on the internet for years for free. It actually turned into paying work in the real world. What matters is that you put it out there, not what you are getting right now.

What matters is that I need to pay my bills... I wish it didn’t. I wish the world was different. I wish a lot of things. 😕

Me too. But all that aside, why not join the @monchromes discord server and start posting under #monomad? It's no longer daily topics

Welcome to Steem, @outrayjust!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3161 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.