A Japanese self-introduction (ha-ji-me-ma-shite)

Most people find self-introductions boring, hard to articulate or write, and in many cases unnecessary. However, here in Japan there a must; the first stepping stone on the path to acceptance. Imagine, a freshman college student or company recruit sitting around a low table in an Izakaya (Japanese pub) waiting for his/her turn. Doing their best to listen to others, they drink faster than usual to build up courage and try to remember the words they typed into their i-phone more than a week ago. To be honest, I kind of feel that same pressure now. I’m new not only to Steemit, but also to blogging. Anyway, here it goes. 

  

Name’s Paul, an Australian expat living in Japan since 2001. Came here on an 18-month working holiday and haven’t gone back. Obviously I’ve settled down, and despite the obvious challenges that go with leaving your homeland and starting afresh, I still love it here. As my profile name suggests, I see myself as an outsider looking in. In what way? For now, I’ll start with four. 

  1. Living in a mono-cultural society, I’m considered by many every day to be an outsider. I hope to share some experiences with you that provide insight and clarity into my life in Japan, and that of a local. I want to be an ear to chew on for Steemits anywhere who are interested in visiting, working or living in Japan. Remember, there are no student questions, or on Steemit, posts. 
  2. Australia - a peaceful, safe, multi-cultural society where everyone is laid-back, outgoing and sporty? Well, your answer is as good as mine. Between being away so long and relying on a somewhat biased media to keep me up to date, I’m not so sure about what Australia stands for anymore. Therefore, I’ve joined Steemit in the hope of learning more about contemporary Australia; I want to confirm my worst fears yet be surprised by progress and innovation. 
  3. Growing up in middle-class Australia had its benefits, but in many ways I felt sheltered from the real world. Consequently, I’ve done my fair share of traveling, and I’m particularly interested in North American culture. My work as an English teacher and education consultant has brought me into contact with many Americans and Canadians, people I genuinely connect with and respect. Without political, racial or religious motivation, I’d like to offer my thoughts on the positive impacts North American culture has had (and has) on the world.   
  4. Finally, I’m a sports lover. I grew up playing and watching AFL (Australian Rules Football) and Premier League soccer. And, I’ve loved NFL, NBA, MLB and even a little NHL since my teens. I hope to throw in the occasional post about sports and its reach in society, once again from the perspective of a fan who thinks outside the box.  

If you’ve bothered to read this extensive self-introduction, then thank you. I appreciate you taking the time to do so and hope that you enjoy my future posts.

arigatou

Sort:  

Konnichiwa Paul. I lived in Japan for 2 and a half years (I am French). That was quite an experience and loved it! I'll have to go back one day.
Yes, I am pretty sure many people on Steemit will enjoy reading your life and funny stories as a Gaikokujin. Warm welcome to the platform, and Gambate kudasai for the blog!

Many thanks @muphy. Yes, Japan is full of fun and interesting experiences for all us gaijin. Yoku ganbarimasu.

I find this self-introduction amusing!

I really appreciate Steemians who put an effort into putting up a quality blog, so thank you and welcome to this wonderful community! Gil here from the Philippines.

I've never been to Japan but I met some few Japanese friends during my travels. I would love to visit one day.

I am sure about saying that it must be hard to leave your homeland. Maybe because I am really looking forward to migrating abroad kind of like a fresh start and more adventures.

I'll look forward to more of your blogs.

By the way if you need help with anything about steemit, feel free to ask.

Happy steeming!

<3
@purepinay

You read it all - thanks a lot Gil. Please enjoy future posts about Japan, my adventures and more. To be honest, leaving was the easy part, but enjoying and getting over challenges makes living abroad great. Best of luck when your time comes.

And, I'm sure I'll have questions about Steemit, and you'll be the first person I ask. Have a great day.

Welcome to Steemit!

Congratulations @outsiderlookin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit, Johnno. Never expected to see you turn up in this neck of the woods but good to have you on here all the same.

Thanks, hope everything's going well at your end. Thought I'd try my hand at writing - as you know i'm far from an anarchist, but I'd like to put a few opinions out there

Welcome to Steemit Paul! I'm and American living in Tokyo, Hachioji, but I spend a lot of time in California too. I came to Japan in 2001 too. It's interesting how things have changed in Japan since then, or maybe just it's Tokyo.

Looking forward to reading your stories.

Welcome. I'm happy to see the Niigata community grow. Good job getting through your hito-koto.

I lived in Japan, Misawa, for 3 years and came back to the US in 2001...to make room for another gaijin :-) Still have fond memories and enjoy reading posts like yours to keep up with Japanese culture. Welcome!

Thank you @kunschj - plenty more to come if you like reading about Japan. Considering a series of blogs - one for each year I've been here. Each post will highlight several unique and/or everyday aspects of life in Japan. First coming soon.

As someone from the USA I'd love to hear the positive impacts of North American culture. Here in the USA we hear so much about why everyone hates the US it would be a refreshing experience to hear what others are thankful for about the US.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

I'm willing for you to promote this post and future posts. First in my series of positive impacts of US Culture is coming soon. Thanks.

Another Steemian from Niigata. Great!
I have started here just about a month ago, so I'm not that much ahead of you.

Welcome, I hope you will enjoy it.

Thank you @maxinpower. Still picking up the craft, but so far enjoying it.

Hello! Welcome to Steemit.
As an American, I would like to hear your opinions on some of the positive impacts North America has had on you. We have a polarized history but I would rather focus on the good.
For me I've had a little exposure to japan in the form of it's cuisine. Just curious what is the most popular food where you are at?

Thanks migmike. Live up north in Niigata, leading producer of rice (per sq. mile) and assorted rice products (crackers, sake and more). A coastal and traditional agricultural city (highest self-sufficiency rate for any large city in Japan), it's blessed with squid, shrimp and salmon in addition to locally grown fruit, vegetables and meat processing. In terms of eateries, sushi and ramen shops everywhere. All in all, plenty of good, reasonably priced food. Will explain more about the US and food in upcoming posts. Have a good weekend.

Welcome to Steemit! Explore + enjoy :)

Thank you lopezdacruz. Looking forward to it.

My respect sir! Welcome beloved, steemit is a place for personalities such as you.

You'll do well here, I've up voted your introductory post.

Make friends and have fun.
I'm a friend @maxdevalue
My regards to your cute son

Thank you @maxdevalue. I appreciate your kind words. There will certainly be more pictures of him - he is quite the character. Please enjoy your weekend.

Welcome to steemit Paul. I am sure you will find lot of interesting bloggers here to connect with :)

Thank you @skysnap. Looking forward to learning from them.

Hey @outsiderlookin, welcome to Steemit

Congratulations @outsiderlookin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @outsiderlookin. Welcome to steemit! We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-21-11-17-and-the-steemit-growth-forum