Why? (A Short Intro)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

To Entertain You

Why would you take your time to view, listen to, or read my posts here on Steemit? My pleasure and my goal will be to entertain you, or even give you insight on a subject. Hopefully you might reply with affirmation and add to what I share. Or, if you disagree with me even slightly, you could state your views. I will respect you. Will I successfully accomplish my goal to entertain you? We shall see.

That doesn’t seem like an “Introduce Yourself”-type post. But it is, isn’t it?

A Little Bit About Me

Allow me to tell you a little about me just to give a little context to future posts. Because of the nature of social media, more about me will come out in future posts. But that’s not the goal here. It’s to entertain or edify you.

GravOzwazo.jpg![]()

Last time I checked, I’m sixty-one years old, born five hours before New Years Day in 1956. I’m a United States citizen born in Montreal, Canada. My birth certificate from the American Consulate in Montreal says that I’m an “American Citizen Born Abroad.” My family moved to Los Angeles when I was two years old and then moved to San Diego, California, when I turned eleven years old (that would be in 1968). I’ve been married to wonder woman since 1981, and we have had two excellent children, a boy and a girl. Today, they are adults.
Ozwazo is my online pseudonym. My real name is Serge. My mother was French Canadian and gave me this rather common French name. Though it’s a common name in French-speaking Montreal, it’s an uncommon name in Southern California where people often do a double-take and check to make sure they got it right.

The Focus of Future Posts

Look, there’s a lot of neat things that people do for personal edification and entertainment. We could investigate and share on the subjects of science, education, DYI auto repair, fitness running, soaring, backpacking, economics, religion, and on and on. You get the idea. For now I’m going to narrow the focus to the following subjects:

  1. Art. The type of visual art where one smears pigment, ink, or graphite on some sort of support.
  2. Music. Mostly the type where one plucks some strings stretched across a wooden box.
  3. Photography.

(Oh no! Not again! Art, Music, and Photography!)

A Dead Start

I called this section “A Dead Start” because it’s about me again. That is, until I create a post about the techniques I used to create each of the following paintings. Let me point out that I’m merely a dabbler, not a professional by any means. I’m more into art appreciation, but I’ll share these two paintings to show you that I can paint and be creative to some degree.

![Small DnM10x13-9.JPG]()

This first one is a 26”x36” oil on canvas that I copied from an 8”x10” black and white wedding photo of my parents taken on June 23, 1945. I wanted something more impressive than a small black and white to hang on the wall. To get the the colors historically correct, I asked my mother to describe the colors. They have since passed away. I do miss them both dearly. I will post it again sometime and explain the process I used to enlarge it from the original photo.

![Small Jazz.jpg]()

Here’s a 36”x24” acrylic on canvas. I call it “Jazz.” This piece is personally interesting to me because the composition spans a great deal of time, about 30 years or so. I’ll check my notes sometime, post it again, and go into more detail about it.

I Got an Idea

Hey, I just got an idea for a series of posts about an approach to critiquing art that I learned in college. Would that interest you? Hopefully, I still have my visuals and notes on the subject. If not, I’ll have to recreate them.

That’s It For Now. Bye!

Sort:  

Greetings @ozwazo.

Lovely post write up and paintings.

Welcome to Steemit.

Let the fun begin.

Wishing you all the best.

Cheers.

Thank you.

You seem like a really interesting guy! The paintings were awesome by the way.
Looking forward to your future posts!

Wow these paintings are remarkable! Welcome aboard @ozwazo! I like to direct people who just start up to visit my friends @greetersguild, leave a link to this post so that you can get more recognized right away get upvoted and start talking with hoards of interesting and very kind people. I do a lot of work on here to help speed up the learning curve on here so feel free to ask questions as needed, I'm sure there may be a few that pop up today as well as the coming days! Enjoy the platform sir we are glad to have you as a member!

Thanks for the advice. I'll check out @greetersguild.

Welcome to steemit!

This is a great and healthy post. Glad I learn a few after reading your post. Thanks mate. :)

welcome to this platform, my simple advise to you is, always attract the attention of curators and whales, there must be originality and quality in your posts which could make the whale or curator to visit your blog periodically and hence reward you as you've proven to post only original and quality content.

Ah! I understand. I had to look up the meaning of "whales." Thanks for the advice.


Welcome to Steemit @ozwazo!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit, Serge! It looks like you have some interesting things to say about art - curious about that approach to critiquing. :)