WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?

So I finally decided to take up the challenge and introduce myself on @Steemit. I must confess, these past weeks have really been tedious and although I love to write, it has been difficult finding the time to gather my thoughts together or even sit in front of my laptop. Anyway, I’m glad I finally have the time to do this. This is supposed to be an introductory post but writing it got me thinking, because I realized that each time I am asked to introduce myself, I am usually caught up for split seconds wondering if I could really find the right words to express myself about who I really am.

How can something as simple as knowing who you are, which most likely begins with your name, be such a difficult task? Well, I think it’s because even before we begin to manifest our true nature, society has already predetermined a definition for ‘who we are’, using names, family background, and social classifications. This has the capacity of trapping life in a vicious cycle of inevitable identity crisis or a clash of identities. But really, is there more to who we are beyond our names, what our titles represent, beyond the social tags we carry, our nationality, skin colour or the circumstances that label us? I dare to believe there is more, so much that society and even we don’t realize. What defines beyond the periphericums of our social status, our names, our jobs, position or circumstances etc? Well, I believe what defines ‘who we are’ is our Unique Personality, our Potentials and our Purpose. These vital intangibles are often lost in the mist of trivial tangibles all around us. Let me define what I mean by that; most of the things we struggle in life to acquire to prove who we think we ought to be are material things, but in reality, they are immaterial to judge our identity with because the things that really gives credence to our identity are not adscititious but intrinsic.

By PERSONALITY, I am not referring to the usual classification as introvert/extrovert or temperaments (although these have their place when defining our psychological framework), what I mean here is that each of us was created uniquely different genetically, physically and psychologically, such that no two individuals are ever the same. Even identical twins, born of the same parents, on the same day and raised the same way would see issues with two different pair of eyes and may approach the same issue differently and both would still be correct. Similarly, our genetic makeup, our psychological framework and respective experiences molds us into uniquely distinct individuals capable of seeing and doing things differently from others. This phenomenon is what I refer to as our unique personality, and this remains our signature as we tackle the issues of our life. Sadly, we are often suffocated by the suggestions of society which portray to us alternative personalities they expect us to match up to, and we are often overwhelmed by these suggestions. If we refuse to comply, we are faced with rejection and disapproval simply for not following the crowd or rolling with the pack. Life eventually presents these odds to us in arm-twisting ways that we eventually cower and give in to conformity whereas deep within us there is a longing and a dissatisfaction crying out for a chance to be different so as to show forth our true self.

By POTENTIAL, I mean that we all possess certain in-born talents and gifts as well as skills we have learned in/from life. These are awesome abilities that if we put our hearts and some calculated efforts into we can make astronomical achievement in life. These gifts and skills are life’s endearments and are meant to meet the needs of the world around us (serving a purpose).

However, the ultimate essence and meaning of life, the beauty of our existence is found in the PURPOSE for which we live and eventually die. Purpose gives life it’s meaning and discovering the purpose of life (our potentials and personality) gives meaning to its existence. Purpose refers to the role ‘you’ have been created to play in the global (and if you like, universal) scheme of things. Purpose speaks in our hearts of the good we would love to leave behind as a memory when we leave this world. The understanding behind purpose is; ‘life is more than just the number of years we spend on earth, it is about the value of the things we spend our years on.’ Our personality and potentials only have relevance when they are appropriately matched with the right purpose and consequently channeled towards satisfying that purpose. Developing a sense of purpose makes us realize that we are created with a unique personality and endeared with powerful gifts and talents not for keeps but to put them into use for the common good of our world. Someone said ‘the purpose of life is a life of purpose’ and this is true because nothing lasts in the world except those things that make the world last. We are stewards entrusted with the responsibilities accruing from the gifts and skills we possess, hence life is all about service to those who were meant to benefit from our gifts. One more valid point to consider: we all possess at least one gift but we don’t always possess the same gifts. It follows therefore that we all have something to offer (no one is useless) in life except we choose not to, and no one is as sufficient in himself as not to need the assistance or gifting of another. Rick Warren once wrote that ‘When the purpose of a thing is not known, abuse is inevitable’; unfortunately, many lives have been abused by other, society and most times by the individuals themselves. Know your purpose!

What makes us who we are is the unique blend of personality, potential and purpose within each and every one of us. When these are properly harnessed, we wield great universal, cosmic and divine power to make astronomical impact within our circle of influence and our world at large. But this can only come about if we refuse the perirhinal views, break the erroneous social molds and look deep within our core for inner beauty then and only then can we find our true identity. The good news is that irrespective of what you’ve been through or what shape you’re in right now, you can redefine yourself today! So next time someone asks you to introduce yourself, think again because you’re worth more than you thought.

So much for psychoanalysis and philosophy, my name is NJOKU PASCHAL FRANCIS @paoloscali-EU. I am a Nigerian, a trained Biomedical Technologist. I love to make life (and people) better than I meet it (them), I usually do this through healthcare, writing (articles and poems), teaching, motivation or simply being a sincere friend. I believe in love and that it is meant to last and not to leave. If it leaves, it is because it was used wrongly (perhaps abused). My favourite quotes; ‘aut inveniam viam, aut faciam’ (I’ll either find a way or make one). FB_IMG_1474409145163.jpg

Poetically, I like to say that;

I am like a sparkle that remains especially when the darkness is thick.
That’s why my friends always say I’m a moralist!
I believe I can make things change, even if all I have is a stick.
That’s why people I talk to like to call me an optimist!

Sometimes I am like the hazelnut, unappealing at first glance
But like it, I’ll fill you with a compelling sweetness within.
I am the little child who believes peace deserves a chance
And that an act of kindness should be always come with a grin.

I love to express myself in lines, stanzas, and rhymes.
And can’t resist the temptation of being called a poet
Please don’t even bother to ask me to define a sonnet
Because all I do is write down what’s on my mind most times.

Thanks to @Tomfreeman who introduced me to @steemit
And convinced uncle @eurogee to add me up @euronation
Now with my write up, I can link up heroes from various nations
Put down my many thoughts, articles, and poems and earn from it

I’m hoping that I could become as reputable as @paulag
While expressing the power of poems like @poeticpower
This is my first post, coming after a three weeks lag
Still I hope it earns me enough upvotes and steem power.

This is just my way of introducing who I am and what I do but I hope you enjoyed reading this post and learnt a thing or two from the ideas in it.

© @Paoloscali-EU
IMG_20170911_202516[1].jpg

Sort:  

Hello, Njoku / @paoloscali, and welcome to Steemit.

Interestingly, I read another "Intro" this morning where the new Steemian also brought up the issue of personal identity. In response, I wrote that identity is, like life, very fluid, and that one of the worst things we can do is stick with a rigid definition of who we are.

Just as our identity is fluid, our essence is very diverse and again rather undefinable. Are we our body? Our mind? Our heart? Our soul? Of course, we are all of those, which are simply aspects of our grander being. To claim to be only one of them (or to overemphasize any one of them) leaves us with a false and incomplete sense of self.

As you stated above, we are a "unique blend" of various qualities.

Getting back to basics, I hope you find / make your way here on this great platform. Best of luck, and Full Steem Ahead.

Thanks for the beautiful thought and warm welcome... 'the fluidity of our identity' is such that with every experience, every new knowledge, and every new thought, we add to (and sometimes subtract from) who we were before them. Hence like the philosophical adage that a man never steps on the same water twice because, after the first step, neither the man nor the water remains the same. Simply put 'who we are' evolves every minute, however, in very unnoticed ways until it becomes too obvious to be missed.

In other words, we are always evolving. Life entails that we are always growing, so our evolution is inevitable. Of course, it's up to us not to accept things as they are, and not to stagnate.

Essentially, what we are striving for is a "conscious evolution."

As you said, we constantly evolve in unnoticed ways. We will never be able to notice every change in our being, every growth, but if we can get a clear glimpse of who and what and where we are, we can also focus on who and what we want to become, and where we want to go.

Onwards, my friend, and while we're evolving, let's also progress Full Steem Ahead.

Thanks so much for finally making the decision to be out. Your gift of meaningful words is a wonder for all who encounter you or your poems. I believe your presence would be a blessing to the entire steemit community.

Thanks so much for the mention bro... I've invited the post... Every dollar is well deserved.

Thanks to you man, I'll do my best and carve out good time for the community. I love it here already.

Welcome to steemit @paoloscali. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @paoloscali to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

this is an awesome intro post. I have resteemed for extra visibility

Welcome to steemit, I think you are going to like it here. The community is so nice, and there is always someone around to help if you need it.

Thank you for the mention and such kind words

Steem on

Its a pleasure reading your posts Ma. Thanks for the warm welcome

Wow, what a powerful introduction :) Resteemed it with @welcoming for more visibility!
Btw. - Try to figure out some markdown styling tips for better layouting your posts! Took me a long time to, but it really makes them more enjoyable! But man, I love your introduction poem!
Greets!

P.S.: Try to always use five tags - this will give your more visibility too!

Thanks for the warm welcome and the tips, I really appreciate it.

Welcome! That was a little more philosophical than your average #intoduceyourself !

Thanks @rodent, decided to share some of my thoughts, I felt it's a good way to introduce myself.

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to reading what you have to share! Wishing you all the best.

Thank you very much, I'll do my best to delight your reading pleasure.

Hi, @paoloscali! I'm nominating you to participate in the Seven Day Black and White Photo Challenge. (https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@atmemestable/day-four-seven-days-of-black-and-white-a-challenge-tis-the-season) I've found that participating in free contests is a great way to "meet" fellow Steemians and to learn a bit about the Steemit community. Hope you're game to participate. If not, no worries. Either way, I look forward to reading your posts.