Sort:  

I have been programming in Omnis my whole life. It is a crossware solution working on all platforms (win, mac, linux) with all major databases (mysql, sql server, oracle,...), a very good language to make nice looking stuff very quickly, also very fast and nice to do web apps but not very scalable.
I don't consider myself very language-bound, i am quite attracted to python now, are you programming blockchain? Warning: If you say yes, i will have some questions :-)

I'm not programming blockchain. I'm a (front-end) web developer, and I have been working on some apps that get their data from steemit, but all data is simply fetched from the public API's. No real blockchain technology involved there, just the results of it.

If you ever have any javascript questions let me know though :P

Hey @pilcrow, does that mean i can access steemit data from Javascript? That would be cool to make some little project immediately...

Yes, that's right. You can use SteemJS to fetch and post data, it's not a very practical API and badly documented, but there's some articles out there that can help you out. I wrote some tutorials for it, but those by @jfollas are the best.

Also the #steemjs and #dev channels on steemit.chat can be very helpful.