Hi I'm Daniel, an aspiring Paralympic Wheelchair racer!

Hi fellow Steemians! My name is Daniel Lee and I'm an aspiring Paralympic wheelchair racer! I'm really glad to be able to be part of this community. I've always had a desire to share my story in order to inspire and I hope that by sharing more often here, I will be able to make an impact. 

Just a little introduction about myself. I was born with a condition called Osteogenesis Imperfecta (Type 1) a.k.a. brittle bones disease. If you've ever watched the movie "Unbreakable" starring Samuel L. Jackson and Bruce Willis, I have the same exact condition as Samuel L. Jackson's "Mr. Glass". I've broken my bones so many times as a kid I lost count a long time ago. 

Because of my condition, I was never active in sports. Most sports would come with potential for injury and I was automatically excluded from it by the people around me. I've always wanted to give marathon running a try, simply because I feel that there's so much similarities between marathons and life, and that I can draw so much lessons from it. It wasn't until 2012 that I received a new sports wheelchair from a group of people from Acts Church and with that, it allowed me to go for my first 10km at the Standard Chartered KL Marathon. I completed my first 10km in 1hour 04 minutes. Quite an accomplishment for a first-timer but I felt awful with cramps and dizziness after it all ended. 

Later that year, I decided to join my next 10km run at the 2012 Nike Run but with better preparation this time. I did much better than expected and completed it in 45 minutes. It was also in that same year, I went for my first wheelchair race as well. Shockingly, I came out in first place against 180+ other wheelchair users, some of them were national athletes. It was then that I realised that I could have a potential in sports, specifically in wheelchair racing.   

()  

I went on to complete other marathons, and in 2013, I participated in a 100km ultramarathon called the Xtramile Day to raise over RM168,000 for the education of underprivileged children at the Dignity for Children Foundation.  

 

I will be sharing more about the other experiences that led me to my current journey in sports in upcoming postings. Now, my goal is to compete in the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics Games as a wheelchair racer. I hope that by doing my best to strive for my dreams, I will be able to inspire others to do the same.  

If you'd like support and follow me on this journey, check out my social media accounts as well.

http://fb.com/pushtoinspire  

http://instagram.com/pushtoinspire/
Sort:  

Hi AWESOME You are an inspiration!!!
Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.

Thank you for the support! Followed you back :)

Welcome to the Steemit Family, Daniel. Love your story, your journey and where it leads to. You're an inspiration to us all. Malaysia Boleh!

You are a hero.
Nice to get know about your story.

Thank you! Hope you will be encouraged by more of my sharing in the future!

@pushtoinspire Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to more inspiring stories from you. Upvoted and followed you.

Thank you! Hope to be able to inspire more :)

You're a big inspiration! Welcome to steemit and Team Malaysia @pushtoinspire. I like that profile name, it should be a tag to spread your inspiration.

Thanks a lot for the idea. Maybe I should use it as a tag :)

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

welcome to steemit where all the interesting writing will be get the rewads

Welcome to Steemit and TeamMalaysia. You are already an inspiration even before you join Steemit. Have fun!

Thanks! I'll do my best to continue to inspire :)

That is truly inspirational. Congratulations on your current achievements! Also best of luck in your future endeavors !

Thanks! Keep an eye out as I'll be updating the progress for me Paralympic journey here too :)

You are a great inspiration by just living as who you are! Welcome onboard and steemit will be a great platform for your stories to get out there! :D can't wait to see what you will share @pushtoinspire

Thanks! I hope to write and share even more often! :)

hello and welcome @pushtoinspire~~
i support your passion~~

Thanks for the support!

I am glad you found your true passion and at the same time using it to inspire others. Keep Strong.

Thanks! I'll keep on doing my best :)

Such an impressive spirit👍🏻😊 Good luck 😉

Thank you for the kind words. I'll keep on doing my best! :)

That was inspiring. Welcome to the Steemit community, Daniel. Nice to have you onboard.

Thank you! :)

well done, baby you will done your achivement job

Thanks for the encouragement! :)

Truely inspiring. You're welcome to the steemit community and may the steem force be with you and give you more strength even a you aspire to be a paralympic wheelchair racer

Thank you for the warm welcome and encouragement! :)

Welcome @pushtoinspire ! very inspired by what you do. You got my full support in your inspiration journey . :D

Thank you! I'll continue to do my best and hope it'll make an impact somehow :)

You already are making an impact. Just keep going ! :D

Welcome to Steemit @pushtoinspire . Looking forward to read more from you.

Thank you for the support! Followed you back! :)

hi@pushtoinspire and welcome. You are a real inspiration and i am sure many will follow your determination and positive attitude to overcome their challenges. Like the saying goes, 'when there is will, there is a way'. Stay positive and you will succeed. The steemit community are supportive people. God Bless
@jackpot

Thanks for the encouragement. Will be sharing more of my journey here!

Great to have you here on Steemit! Share more of your stories ya!

Thanks! Yes, will be sharing my journey more often here :)

Looking forward to see you achieve your goals. Had a real good chat with you the other day and welcome to Steem!

Welcome to Steemit @pushtoinspire. Thank you for sharing your journey with us and for inspiring everyone on the Steemit community. Look forward to read more of your journey as a paralympian on Steemit