Hello Steemit. Evolutionary biologist introducing myself and I brought a gift.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello all. I've been lurking for a couple of weeks and decided to finally introduce myself. I am a PhD candidate studying evolutionary biology (so whether that means I am an evolutionary biologist or not yet a biologist I am not sure). I am mostly interested in phylogenetics, invertebrate zoology, evolutionary theory, and molecular adaptations. I'm also way into parasites, but I don't actually do research on them. Much of my work involves large datasets, so by necessity I'm interested in Python and R programming. I also have a strong interest in science education and the evolution/creationism political debate. 


When I'm not working I like to get outside and hike. I, for reasons I can't exactly explain, really like taking pictures of turtles. 



And sometimes videos of turtles.


![Video of turtles](


Occasionally I might take a picture of something that isn't a turtle.



I think I will probably mostly post about recent research articles or news items relating to my scientific interests and offer whatever commentary or insights I can. Recently I've seen several really cool parasite related news items I could have posted about. 


For several months I have been thinking about doing some in-depth blog entries on various topics and techniques in evolutionary biology. I don't think much of that will be of interest to too many people here, but maybe I'll give it a shot anyway.


So we'll see how it goes.  


Also, I figured I would share this, so here is the gift I promised. Here is a link to a free pdf of Denying Evolution: Creationism, Scientism, and the Nature of Science by philosopher of science, Massimo Pigliucci. Dr. Pigliucci shared this link on his public blog so I am assuming this isn't a copyright violation. (And I guess we should say Massimo Pigliucci is offering a free gift rather than me.) If you like this, Dr. Pigliucci also has links to free pdfs of several other collections of his essays [available here](https://platofootnote.wordpress.com/collections/).



Anyway, thanks for reading. I hope I can contribute some content that at least some of you find of value.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @pyroteuthis I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome great post and thanks for the PDF link!

No problem. I hope you enjoy it!

This was funny to me mainly because it's nice to see someone authentic who just reveals that...

really like taking pictures of turtles.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks!
Yeah, what can I say about that? I just take a lot of pictures of turtles.

hello am a microbiologist
welcome

Awesome! I do like microbiology. Sometimes I regret deciding to work with these eukaryotes and their big stupid genomes.

yup prokayotes for life

akaryotes tooooooo

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

welcome to steemit dear friend @pyroteuthis, I've met with good friends by searching 'introduceyourself' tag, i love newbies and delight in giving them a hand of friendship. Love from @maxdevalue, am sending some steem to your wallet right away, welcome on-board! Your contribution is needed here in steemit.

Thank you for the steem and the kind words.

Welcome sir.

Welcome! Hope you share some good content with us! This is a great way to meet people from all over the world. I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travel and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Welcome to Steemit @pyroteuthis!
Dropped you a follow for support!
Please dont hesitate to reply if you have any questions!
Hope you enjoy your time here as I do!

Welcome to Steemit, @pyroteuthis!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Welcome @pyroteuthis to Steemit:) I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Hi and welcome to steemit. Feel warmly welcomed :)

If you are also interested in science and investing, feel free to check out some of my articles.

Best
Alex

Hey @pyroteuthis

Big welcome to steemit from me, I HAVE UPVOTED YOU

I'm Bania, I just started recently too and i am enjoying every moment here.

Here's a couple posts that can help you figure this place out

Beginners Guide To Getting Started With Steemit (REVISED) by @shayne || 1. The Introduceyourself Or Introduction Post — Steemit

Complete Guide For Steemit. Everything you need to know 👍 — Steemit

Hope these help you like they helped me. I'm part of a team and we like to help one another learn quick.

You can learn more by checking this out

Introducing Team #minnowtowhale | Newbs, Networkers Welcome‼️ | #minnowsupportproject sub group — Steemit

Welcome to Steemit @pyroteuthis!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit @pyroteuthis!
Dropped you a follow for support!
Please dont hesitate to reply and ask if you need any help!
Hope you enjoy your time here as I do!

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you find this to be a great place to share your ideas and thoughts. Keep Steeming on

Hi and Welcome, Steem is an awesome community to share and discuss ideas.
I too like to study evolution (only as a hobby), but my angle is not just biology but including other scientific and mythological view points.

Here in my post I talk about Evolution from Eastern Philosophy point of view.

https://steemit.com/life/@bsameep/the-sound-of-the-universe-or-the-sound-of-big-bang-theories-of-evolution-from-eastern-part-of-the-world

Do give it a read, and follow for more :) Would like your contribution

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it here!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

I'm glad you came out of the shadows! Followed you excitedly!