Hi, Steemit! I'm Melissa a ranting cook to a discerning crowd of kin.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

I like writing introductions of myself about as much as I enjoy working on a resume, or writing cover letters--it all feels like I am trying to sell people on myself; I don’t like it. Give me a research topic or something goofy to fact check. I’ll write about that! Me? I dunno. I went to school to be a photojournalist, and that never happened. I went into office work, and that was soul-draining and guilt-inducing. I became a farmer’s market manager in Michigan. Through that process, I learned so much about the importance of locally grown food--ways to use local produce, how to keep them fresh, and even grow them.

Now I am staying at home with my two kids--6 years old and 2 years old. We are having lots of learning experiences together and we are enjoying watching each other grow as humans. My default parenting method is sarcasm and movie quotes, so you might see some of that in my posts.

Most of my posts will be food related--specifically on cooking gluten free foods, with recipes and pictures. Because of the kids, I have had 4 years experience trying to cook above average gluten free faire that (at least my) kids will eat. It has been a challenge to say the least! I have learned to be aware of nutritional value of gluten free substitutes, and to be budget conscious as well. Gluten free is not a cheap diet, and I would not be living a gluten free lifestyle if I had a choice. That said--I have produced a number of really successful from scratch recipes, as well as some bombs, that I would love to share with anyone who loves food--not just for the gluten free people. If you have any questions about substitutions or options for any of my recipes, please feel free to ask.

Also--I swear. You may come across that in my posts, too. Don’t get offended. They are just words. Made up ones, at that (they are all made up words)!

This is my first experience in working with any kind of cryptocurrency. I was introduced to it through @jesta and @tonytuba. I have kind of been taking a back seat to Steemit, and reading more and more to learn as much as possible. I am excited to be a part of this community that seems to really support each other, and help each other grow in so many ways. I plan to post every every Sunday and Friday. I hope you follow along if and try some of the things I put up!

Please check out my first post for a recipe:
Pickle Chicken Tacos

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Welcome here on Steemit Melissa. I hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Already nice picture. Thank you!

Welcome, wow gret looking family and apple tree 😃

Welcome to steemit :D

Short, precise and to the point introduction, I liked your "Be Yourself" approach in your first post!

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcometodubai

whenever i see apple tree then i remember newton, steve jobs and finally you with your kids 😊 lets follow each other . i like to upvote your post.

Welcome to Steem @rarintugo I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to the community

Welcome to steemit...thanks for sharing

What a nice pic and i believe you have a very nice life. Welcome to steemit I'll follow you and definatly resteem this post.

Hey Melissa great to have you here! Your kids are absolutely cute and I'm sure they'll grow up to be wonderful human beings, what with your genius parenting method 😁
Welcome to steemit!🙂

Steemit is the best way to get into cryptocurrency! You can do really well here if you take the time to meet other users and get involved in the community. Good luck

Thank you! I look forward to it!

Hey ! Welcome to Steemit, I hope you will have lots of fun interacting with the community. Have a great time n do follow me @manish22rai ....Cheers !!

Good post with a sense of humor!

That's my goal!

Welcome to Steemit! Food posts you say huh? I'll be following you in that case :D

Hey thanks! And if there are any recipes you would like to see- especially if you are unsure about making something gluten free- I will definitely take suggestions.

Ooh thanks, I'll definitely remember that! :-)

"My default parenting method is sarcasm and movie quotes, so you might see some of that in my posts." Awesome. Welcome to Steemit! I'm new here too! @rebele93

Welcome to Steemit @rarintugo! Looking forward to your stories (i am following you). I'd be happy if you were to follow me too! Perhaps one day I will talk about how to make Gluten free beer!!

Enjoy your time in this community!

While I am not courageous enough to try brewing at home yet, I would love to know about the process for gluten free beer. It's been something that I have seriously missed since starting the gluten free diet.

Duly noted. I will have a think/look at it!

Hello and Welcome to the Steemit family. i'll be looking forward to your posts. lets support each other follow me back @manofmiracles

welcome to steemit.I hope you will succeed here.I wait for the best work from you. Nice to meet you. 🤗

Nice
You are welcome here in steemit and hope u enjoy your stay here
Upvoted and following you
@krpawarssc

Hey @rarintugo I am also in Michigan currently, I have been a chef for the last 10 years professionally but (if you saw my intro post) I am finishing up school and moving into game development. Always looking for new cool recipes to try though! Welcome:)

It would be great to get some professional feedback if you ever feel up to it! :) Thank you.

Welcome!! Your babies are gorgeous. I'm a Stay home Mother myself. Looking forward to some sarcasm & more posts from you ^_^

Parenting without it [sarcasm] would just be.....I don't know what that would be. Not me that's for sure.
"Oh good! All of the oranges have bites taken out of them! That's my favorite surprise!"

Welcome to steemit. I'm excited to take a look at your chicken pickle tacos, I love pickle and tacos!

Nice Introduction !
So cute kid ...!
Happy steeming beautiful girl !

welcome to steemit @rarintugo thank you for sharing. I'll definitely follow you for your recipes because I love food. You have a beautiful family. Enjoy!

Hey @rarintugo. Welcome to Steemit! Will look forward to good recipes. Cheers!

Nice to meet you, @rarintugo! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Nice to meet you, @rarintugo! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Welcome, wow gret looking family and apple tree
#Melissa

Hai!!!!!!!! Welcome !!!!! Nice Family. Lovely kids. Nice apple tree. I remember the saying " Have an apple a day. Keep the doctor away".
Followed and up voted.

Thanks for the follow!
I'm looking forward to posting more later this week!

welcome to steemit world

Excellent, with loving kids.

Upvote $ Following @rarintugo

Welcome to the world of steemit

Welcome to steemit @rarintugo.. i glad to find woman in steemit.. nice to meet you melissa, hopefully we can share each other
Regard
@rayfa
Aceh, Indonesia

welcome the community

Welcome to steemit!!! Have a nice day here! If you are interested in a food blog, you can join in our contest. Try and enjoy...

https://steemit.com/food/@kennyroy/watch-out-for-the-most-exciting-food-contest-coming-out-soon

thanks,

@kennyroy

Welcome to steemit
I have upvoted

Hello there :)
Welcome on steemit.
I've upvoted and followed You, i wish You gonna do same.
Visit my blog @buryx

welcome to steemit :)

Hello @rarintugo I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Wellcome to great media network hope you like to be a part of community, cheers !

Amazing. Welcome to the platform @rarintugo . Hope you can share more about the importance of locally grown crops.

Welcome,Nice intro post.You added a nice pic.

Cute kids you have there. Thats a full time job. lol
i love your introduction and i have read it so many times

welcome! Glad to see your introduction did so well. If you'd like to join a community that helps one another rise through steem with education please consider the Minnows Support Project: https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@narconaught/highlight-minnow-support-project-and-how-to-register. Have a great day!

welcome chef!! upvoted and resteemed

Welcome to steemit. You and your kids are very pretty :) Nice to meet you.

There are 2 pages
Pages