Renaissance Man – My Introduction to the Hive Community

OK, now I’ve got something of a grasp on how this place works and I’ve added some Hive to my wallet so I can post again, it’s time in introduce myself.

I’m from the UK, where I’ve lived all my life, and have been living with my family for over twenty-five years in the bit in the middle, known as the Midlands. We’re in a village of about 1,500 people, located in a row of not very big hills. It’s beautiful, friendly and a great place to bring up a family.

My working life has been spent mainly in tech since leaving university with a history degree. I’ve been a programmer, systems designer, business analyst and project manager, all of which has made it easier than it might otherwise have been to get to grips with the world of the blockchain.

I’m also an indie author, writing mostly crime fiction and occasionally a bit of science fiction. I always write under pen names, because I’m the sort of introvert who doesn’t like the limelight. I’ve done a little blogging along the way and this is something I will be doing more of from now on.

As you might expect, as well as writing I also do a great deal of reading. I read widely, both fiction and non-fiction and normally have one of each on the go at any one time. A bit of variety is good for the soul. In fact, I don’t just like reading books, I like collecting them too, especially old ones that have that distinctive old-book smell, well-thumbed pages, maybe with a few barely readable notes scribbled on them here and there. It’s a beautiful thing, is an old book.

I don’t want to bore you by going on and on here, so I’ll briefly also add that I love to garden, have been an investor since I was a teenager and love to always be learning.

I expect to be mainly posting here about the world of the blockchain (well, OK, there’s lots of blockchains in reality, but I prefer to use the singular) and all things crypto, but I imagine there will be the occasional post on other things and I might branch out a bit more over time.

Feedback is a gift, as someone said, so please don’t hesitate to let me know what you do and don’t like about my posts as it will help me to make them better.

Finally, a shout out to @lovesniper (@fionasfavourites) for some much needed help and guidance on getting into this new world.

Until we meet again,

Renaissance Man

Sort:  

You might have tough time succeeding with blockchain content since Hive is populated with it quite heavily. Anyway, good luck, I'll try to provide you with a feedback. For starters - it's always nice to see illustarted posts:)

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, there seems to be a lot of blockchain related content around, but it's an interesting exercise to see how I get along. I expect to switch to weekly posts beyond the end of November. And, yes, some nice pics do help. I've started using these now with the rest of my posts, though I do need to learn how to re-size them (that's on the to-do list).

Welcome to the Hive community @renaessanceman!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain, Peaklock, Hivesigner, and Hivelock,
  3. The master password and the owner key are only used to reset compromised passwords, do NOT use these to sign in anywhere!
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own
    .
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. Do Not open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hiveans available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Thanks for the top tips, they're much appreciated. (Apologies for the delay in replying, it's taken a while to get to the point where my RCs replenish enough each day to do anything more than publish one post).

Another great writer joined us on the blockchain and will hopefully get a lot of new readers and fans. Writing community’s we have in all shapes and forms, so you will fit in great
.
So welcome
I just saw your new message here on hive ! So I came by to say : Welcome I wish you good luck with hive blogging and I Will See you around🍀 Your passions and thoughts put into writing and a hive blog is great and fun. Also niches or new ideas are appreciated and if you have questions let us on hive know. There are many hivers that will help if you ask in comments or in discord!
There is so much so all topics will have a place here. The hivinguniverse is so diverse it’s suitable for all of us. See the list of all communities on hive in your front end drop down menu.
We (@ jamerussell and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs almost every day , ( when normal life doesn’t get in the way ) and There is a Discord called The Terminal for newbies and all the answers to your questions, join in, I am on Hive everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands but also many other hiver bees and have fun here!

And don’t be afraid to ask there is so much that the beginning can be daunting and scary.
But we are nice, complicated but nice.

https://discord.gg/Q4qBQKSj
Theterminal discord invite

There I also mobile app for blogging called Ecency Or join their lovely Ecency discord https://discord.gg/9sn9Vans
Good luck to you as the new arrival, may hive become your new life !
B

Hi and thanks for getting in touch, it's really appreciated. There is indeed much to learn about how to make the best use of Hive and I know I have only just begun to understand things. Hopefully I will learn more as I post more. (Apologies for the delay in replying, it's taken a while to get to the point where my RCs replenish enough each day to do anything more than publish one post).

We can help you with that. RC is a problem in the beginning, come to discord and we will “borrow “ you some give and you will have that RC problem covered and there all questions have a free answer.
Just engage and be on your way.
See you in discord the terminal