Introducing Steem Ventures and the Serial Entrepreneur behind the scenes

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! I am very proud to announce Steem Ventures, my belated contribution to the Steemit platform.

My beautiful, dark, twisted mind

Before I begin, I want to briefly introduce myself as I have not formally got around to doing so. I found myself lurking in the Steemosphere while attempting to write something of substance, and I might have gotten stuck in a black hole along the way whilst, my fellow Steemians found unprecedented success and acquired a loyal following, darn you vortex!

So anyways My name is Ricardo, I think my writing kind of sucks to be brutally honest but I intend to mitigate that with some good ol' fashion writing classes next month at the local university, really feeling psyched about that!

I am basically a serial entrepreneur from Kingston. I have many passions and have attempted many things, unfortunately I don't have a whole lot to show for it. I however, think this is about to change. I want when those darn historians look back on my life and contribution to society and humanity, they will be able to see that my impending rise has coincided with the unprecedented rise of Steemit, when digging through the blockchain for historical references -- and yeah, in 2100 Steemit will be the biggest, baddest social media behemoth on the block -- Facebook will be extinct as some of you might have guessed -- SBD will be the defacto currency of the world, Bitcoin too -- Steem/SP will be the most lucrative stock on the decentralized exchange, and investors will be literally killing each other, I mean figuratively killing each other for a stake -- supply and demand baby -- darn you should have been an early adopter will be the inscription on my grave -- Wow, so morbid of me I thought as I dropped the controller -- No more Final Fantasy for me, I'm a professional now!!!

The cryptocurrency revolution

My major project is a niche marketplace for local products.

(Image Credit)

I am currently bootstrapping this venture, you can check out our progress here, and we will accept SBD/Bitcoin for sure! I always thought Bitcoins were a superb idea but I just never got around to do anything but scratch the surface. I can confidently say that since I found Steemit, everything has changed and now, I don't want to just scratch the surface but I want to immerse my whole body and soul into Steem, Bitcoin and the cryptocurrency ecosystem on a whole -- yet still discovering diverse altcoinz on a daily basis -- while harbouring/entertaining thoughts of becoming a serious, part time cryptocurrency day/night trader, trading coins in my underwear and stuff.

The strategic investment

Basically our goal is organize a few investors here locally and regionally (both institutional and private) and sell them the Steemit vision and encourage them to invest in the sustained growth of the platform. We are confident that early stage investors (early adopters) that come on board will be the big winners in the medium to long term.

Our vision is to establish Steem Ventures LLC. And transparently manage a pool of funds from our investors for vests in the Steemit platform.

We intend to raise $1M equity and convert that to Steempower and add some liquidity to the project. The timeline of the funds will be five (5) years.

We have been analyzing the downward trend of the Steemit market cap on the major exchanges since the much talked about 4th of July payout and following the detailed analysis of @ozchartart.

You can find his latest analysis here.

I have concluded that the current market cap doesn't represent the true intrinsic value of the platform and does not adequately capture the added value of the tireless work that the community is putting in to create new tools to build the steem ecosystem, from the ground up. I think Steemit is currently crossing the chasm and is well on it's way to mainstream adaptation. So we intend to apply the philosophy of value investing; purchase undervalued vests, hold for the medium to long term and cash out and/or reinvest based on the growth and overall health of the platform.

Conclusion

I am confident in Steemit's visionary leadership and the dynamic community. I project that together, we will achieve great things barring any intentional move by the government/overlords to artificially destabilize the movement.


(Image Credit)

(@ricardo_guthrie) tweeted at 3:09 PM on Thu, Aug 25, 2016:
Steemit is the $hyt!

Sort:  

I dig your vision for the future :)

Thank you. I'm surprised that someone actually read this :)

Good stuff. Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks @tombstone :)
Such an honor to be apart of this amazing community!

I have concluded that the current market cap doesn't represent the true intrinsic value of the platform

Agreed! Great post and love the Steem Ventures concept.

Thanks Jason, I have a really great feeling about this thing! Also you provided some valuable insights in your last post, especially as it relates to the concept of dollar-cost averaging. I have a feeling I can learn alot from you. I'm always open to collaboration/strategic partnerships. Onward.

Likewise. Let's stay connected.

I understand the dark hole of over analyzing and thinking too much about post topics. Great that you got this one out, your writing is good and flows well. I'm going to follow you so I can be sure to read your next post!

Im happy someone thinks my writing is good, you just made my day! I think the topics you write about are quite interesting too. I'm now a loyal follower lol :)

This is a good initiative. I would like to see the progress,though. The link you provided is broken and it doesnt load anything.

Thank you for pointing out the broken link @thebluepanda. I didn't even realise I better get that fixed, your attention to detail is admirable. More updates coming soon!