Hello Steemit!

I'm Robert Rister. My family pronounces our name as if we spelled it correctly, Rye-ster. I've been writing professionally for over 30 years, but I am a total newbie to Steemit. I'm looking forward to getting to know Steemers, and learning how to use this platform to do some useful things. My photo is at the end of this introduction.

I was what one of my publishers called a "modestly successful" author during the pre-Internet era. I wrote several books on natural health that altogether sold about 1 million copies. If you are writing on a modern Internet platform and your product grosses $25 million, people would probably think you are some kind of genius. I'm not. For years I wrote with the help of a New York City publisher who took a personal interest in my book, sometimes talking with me over the phone two hours a day, day after day, for months. I had one editor to help me develop ideas and write the first draft of my book. I had a different copy editor to check and double check spelling and citations. I had reviewers who raised questions about my books before they ever went to print. My publisher provided an artist and a book designer who turned my words into printed art. Then I had a publicist who promoted my book to the media, and of course my publisher had salespeople. We also made deals with chain bookstores to get my titles placed so shoppers saw them as soon as they walked in the door. Then I got mentioned in stories (just one for each of these) in Time and Newsweek and US News and World Report, and I did hundreds of radio and television interviews. I did book signings all over the country and served on charitable foundation boards and all the other things you would do to be an "author." You actually had to earn your authority slowly, carefully, and with a lot of help from face to face interactions with 3-D people.

With all that help, you actually need to earn that $25 million. My share was a very small fraction of that, but it's been enough to get by.

My experience as a modestly successful print author of the 90's and 00's is nothing like making a living by writing on the Internet, is it? With the old print publishing models that no longer work, I'm a real expert. With this platform, I'm just another newbie. But that doesn't mean I don't have any plans for what I'll do on Steemit.

(1) About 15 years I wrote a book called Healing without Medication. It's 753 over-sized, double-column pages on everything I could find to help people who just can't afford their medications. It's not anti-Pharma. It's pro-people. It sold hundreds of thousands of copies, and people tell me they used the print book until it just fell apart. I got comments from readers as far afield as Rwanda and Iran and Chattanooga, Tennessee. I want to make an updated version of my book available for free. I'm hoping I'll be able to do that on Steemit. Not only can I get good information out, Steemit can be a place where your comments make it better. I hope some of you will help me do that.

(2) I don't know diddly squat about Steemit, but I do know a few things about reaching people in ways that make life better. I'll be writing about writing hypnotic content. Seriously, I'll be writing about content traps us and how we can get out, and how to use the powers of persuasion respectfully as you write. I'll also be writing about "luck," reaching goals, and the woo-woo of writing well.

As you might have guessed, I'm almost old enough to be on Medicare. I have one of those new-fangled iPhone thingees, but it still mystifies me. I'm not going to be anyone's tech expert here. But maybe you all can help me--and I look forward to getting to know and, as much as I can, supporting you. Thank you.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @robertsrister.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you! I'll take a careful look.

You need support from a community to grow and earn easily on steemit.
I recommend one for you.
Meet over 3k + steemians.

Steemit is a business, we will teach you how to succeed

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

Thank you! I'll be checking this out. As I've commented elsewhere, I have a lot of learning to do here.

msl.png

If You Need Any Help Starting On Steemit

Join Us Here


Join one of the biggest Steemit group on discord with 3000 members and have free lessons from Steemit Schools Teachers, ask for any help you need about anything you want to know about Steemit platform.

  • Free daily 24/7 voice chat workshops with teachers
  • Interact with more than 3000 Steemians from all around the world
  • Ultimate Challenge where you can win rewards daily

Click on this link to join us https://discordapp.com/invite/t885dNw

Hope to see you there @robertsrister

Write DELETE if you want this invitation removed

Hey, thanks! I have a lot of learning to do here!

You've got that very nice intro, sir, and definitely follow for I am looking forward to your creations in the future. I hope to read your blogs soon. Good luck, sir!

Thank you. I'm following you, too. And I'm looking foward to reading your blog, too!

You needn't have to follow me but thank you, anyways. :-) Oh! My blogs aren't that good. I am not a writer, not even a blogger. I don't think you'll find them interesting. I'm just trying out Steemit since I am very active on social media platforms. Haha!

Well, I think your blog really is pretty good. But more importantly, you connect so well with people. Maybe your people pleasantness will rub off on me, digitally speaking. All the best!

A lot of new Steemians feel that way, @robertsrister. I've even felt the same way because of my friends who are finding this platform unattainable to keep up with. But I keep moving and finally found some people who are helping and supporting me now. One of them is @cryptkeeper17.
A lot of people on here just don't notice you but later on, they will. :-)

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you rock.

I checked out your feed. You rock, yourself.

Interesting background @robertsrister, this is actually a pretty cool place to be especially for those who have some kind of writing background. Although not nearly distinguished in writing experience there are a few places you definitely can go to meet some really cool people on here. I would recommend you check out @mariannewest and her 5 minute freewrite daily exercises. As well as the @freewritehouse, which also focuses on free writing exercises. The people there are very helpful, have been on here for quite a while and are a lot of fun to chat with on here day to day. I found your post thanks to a user on here named @laudetteiam, and her mention of you on @greetersguild, a group of friends of mine that help new people when they first begin on here. There is a program our group of friends also has, to where you go to steemauto.com to sign up. You search curation trail cryptkeeper17 and follow that curation trail. We all upvote your posts, and provide you with support to get started and ongoing to help you build from now on! Ask me any questions you may have, I am always happy to answer them!

thank you for mentioning me and our baby, the @freewritehouse!!! We love to see you there @robertsrister. My page is for the daily prompt and the @freewritehouse is for all kinds of cool contests, curation posts and more...
Hope to see you there.
And no, you can't vote twice for the same comment or post. Your second vote cancels the first vote.

Wow. Does Steemit let me upvote your comment twice? I really appreciate the advice. I'll check it out!!

My advice that will really help you get on discord, its where a lot of us on here spend a lot of time, we help bring people up to speed and help on the learning curve here, there are a lot of little ins and outs you would be smart to be aware of.

Hi! This is my third day on Steem, and I have set aside a couple of hours to take your advice. Thank you!

Excellent! Feel free to shoot any questions my way if you have any, I should be on here for the next few hours as well. We also hit you with an upvote from the curation trail as well! Congratulations sir!