Exploring the World Through Photography

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

rkpetworth-051014.jpg

I am passionate about photography, traveling, gardening, green living, environmental and social justice issues, and using technology for social good. I am excited to try Steemit to share ideas and learn from others. Let me start with sharing some of my musings about photography.

Photography immortalizes the magic of people and places. The flexibility and mobility of the photographic medium lends itself to spontaneous exploration. It helps me to create images from transitory, fleeting moments by freezing them in time.

The medium of photography offers many choices. I choose to relish in the different realms of photography. The play of light, shadows, textures and colors fascinates me. I do not limit myself to color, or black and white photography. Both express the beauty of people and places in different ways. Depending on the light, textures, and composition, one can be more powerful than the other.

“Art” photography insists that a person limit themselves to particular genres and types of photography. I enjoy the freedom of exploring different genres and formats of photograph. I believe that we are complex beings with different interests, therefore we should feel free to express our complexities in the artistic medium of our choice.

My images may have diverse themes, however, they all have one thing in common–my eye, my way of seeing, and my relationship with people and places. Some of my images are purely aesthetic, while others are of a documentary nature giving insights into the people and culture of a particular place.

Photography allows one to challenge his or her temporary, momentary existence in a two dimensional way. It transforms one’s fleeting existence into “permanent immortality.”


Global Mosaics: Exploring the World Through Photography

NetSquared DC: Technology for Social Good Community

Green DC Living: Tips for Greening Your Home

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @roshani. This was a really nice post. Nicely done, well structured. Wow! that was an amazing way to describe photography! I would love to see some of your work. Keep Steeming.

Thanks @firepower! You can see my images at http://www.globalmosaics.com.

Sure, I will check that out soon. :)

Hello @roshani. Welcome to Steemit, hope you have a great time here. Stop by @minnowmentor if you need any support with your steemit journey! It's completely free support for minnows and new users. Looking forward to seeing some of your photography posts.

Thanks @anarcotech! I have figured out a few basics like linking text, and adding images and videos to posts.

Photos do well here. You'll do well ;-)

Thanks @ering! Some great photography here!

Great intro @roshani! I love art. Art is definitely one of the best ways to leave your mark on History. Thanks for joining Steemit!!

Welcome roshani im excited about gardening green living as well!

Thanks @strugglingdiy! Look forward to checking out your posts on gardening and green living!

@roshani i like how you touch on art and photography and also love “photography immortalizes the magic of people and place.” Well said Indeed. 😊

Thanks @colleenc! Some great photography being showcased at FotoWeekDC! http://www.fotodc.org/

welcome to steemit @roshani, looking forward to all your post...