Hi, I'm Ruben. I am on the adventure of starting my own storytelling business and here on Steemit I will share, validate and learn from you all

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit community!

I am Ruben Blom. I am a dad, copywriter, screen writer and -since a little while- a business owner. I started ROTYS - a storytelling workshop and coaching business. I am here on Steemit to find out what my (sometimes quite different) take on storytelling-in-business is worth. I will validate some ideas, share updates on my startup journey ánd make the most of my part in this exciting community.

You can already check out my first article on Steemit right here:

A brief history of storytelling and my view for the future storytelling industry

(Couldn't wait to write.. should've first introduce myself ;)

Added on day two, when I realised I have more to add here than my storytelling:

Copywriting Class for Pro's #1: Designing a user centric website from copy perspective

This is me...

Steemit introduceyourself @rubenblom

This is my story

I was raised and schooled as an artist (writing and theatre) but got caught up in business-land right from the start of my career. I have always been the 'different one' which in my case luckily turned into my job: I create new and fresh perspectives, narratives, on which brands and campaigns are build. But somewhere along the road I started to feel this huge dissatisfaction with how storytelling is used. More often than not -at least in my region- story is used solely for branding or marketing. While within my projects, I saw how people in organizations reacted emotionally when I delivered my narrative.

It were remarks like: 'Suddenly I know again why I am doing this job' or a simple 'I never looked at it this way' that made me realise there is more behind story than plain marketing. So I started to experiment with what happened if I actively discussed narratives and their backstory with teams. I would bring it to communication assets, while they would think through their jobs as how to make it more congruent with the narrative that they perceived as 'theirs'. Long story short, by now I fully believe that storytelling and sense making through storytelling connects people to their (shared) passion and creates cultural focus and efficiency. And the marketing which arises from storytelling organizations tells stories that really add to the world.

ROTYS - When story becomes teamwork

With my workshops and through my content, I want to share and spread my knowledge and view. My workshops are a great tool for leaders to bring their story deep into the hearts and minds of their people. But the workshops are also an educational piece for all attendants about this ancient way of human communication and collaboration and how you can shape the world around you with it.

If you upvote or resteem me, you'll fund a little bit of my startup journey. I would be so grateful, but even more valuable are all your comments, thoughts and remarks on my articles and posts. Feel free to get in touch!

Find ROTYS and more content on:
Website
LinkedIn
Twitter

Find me on:
LinkedIn
Twitter

Thanks for your upvote & follow!

Ruben Blom | ROTYS

ROTYS - Are you aware of the story you act in?
(By the way: I make these visuals myself in a powerpoint template with footage from https://unsplash.com "zero cost startupmarketing" ;)

Sort:  

Welcome to the best community (steemit) @rubenblom!!!

hopefully you always triumph here and wherever you are. Keep sharing content that is valuable to readers and also useful to you.

Thank you, do not forget to support (ASC) #Aceh Stemmit Community. Nice to meet you!

Likewise @foways, nice meeting you! I will do my very best to add to this community, thanks

Welcome to Steemit @rubenblom :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steem @rubenblom I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @rubenblom! Nederlands? :)

Yep! Nederlands. And thanks for the warm welcome!

Welcome! You will love it here.

As a writer as well (and singer-songwriter--I have some videos up if you're interested in looking), I really do see the world as framed through the lens of story as well. It's everything.

I'm trying to connect with other serious writers and artists on Steem, and while you're a little different of an angle on that, I'm going to follow you to see what comes! There is so much potential in every sphere of life for those who see the world artistically to change. We need meaning.. so we need stories!

All the best!
Xx,
Kay

Thanks for the follow, I will follow you to. 'Cause even if it is a little different of an angle, all stories are the eventually the same. (I am just helping those who have the biggest distance to being a great storyteller ;)

Welcome mate; you really gave a good overview here. Glad we got another seemingly quality poster :)

Thanx so much, I will do my very best at creating qualitative posts!

Welcome ! Any story/advice will be helpful for the whole community (and you also).
Keep steeming :)

Well @enterg, do you have any requests for topics that you want me to go over?

I try to reach financial freedom online . I am on this way,worked online a lot and get involved in internet marketing .
Any topic related would be appreciated .
But whatever you are expert on is better for you and the community .
Thanks .

Hello there @rubenblom and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Thanks, I will have a look at that.

Welcome to this fabulous community! I post about cryptos, economy, silver,etc. Please checkout my posts to see if they interest you and my policy is if you follow me I will follow you. Welcome again!

Thanks lengle, I followed you. Stuff sounds interesting!

hi there, welcome onn steemit, you have a new follower make sure to checkout my blog !

Thanks for the follow, you now have a new follower to.. ;)
Looking forward to jump in some articles of you!

Thank you !!

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Please read the following address and press voting
https://steemit.com/kr/@jyoungking2/if-you-ve-started-something-set-your-goals
Good Luck
3.png

Thnx @jyoungking2 for that encouraging article!

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)