Aggressive police pulling over cyclist for excessive speed

I have an evening job for the last 5 years and for the first 3 years i rode 10 miles round trip to and from work from my home out of city limits. If i wasn't working a particular day, i would still ride into town sometime more than once a day or ride to neighboring towns.

So with all the miles, you think police would become familiar with a particular cyclist. One distinction seperating me from other cyclist was my mode of transportation. I was riding modified 20" BMX bicycles in attempt to get to the point of reaching 40mph, if for just a few seconds.

This was the last bike i built before my son was born back in January 2015.

Picture of my two sons from this week harveylandon and #danieleverett

So like every night before this night, i was riding home. Now you have understand that i didn't ride like most people who ride around at night. I was extremely motivated and i was riding a gear that would break most legs in less than a mile. Maybe i looked like i was riding away something or escaping from somewhere, but i always wore a yellow vest with reflective tape and had proper lights.

I usually took the same route just because of the shoulder being wider and i passed police many times. It's a cold night and the best way for me to deal with cold was to put the hammer down. And this night i was especially aggressive and motivated and i guess it rose the suspicion of a motivated police officer, so with no regard of my safety he pushed me into the shoulder with his cruiser, flashing his lights and using a high pitched siren.

So i am completely surprised and full of nervous energy. My lungs are taking in as much oxygen as they can get. My body is shaking, full of adrenaline and shock. Where did i go wrong? I had been dooing this forever and day. I served coffee to this officer. Sometimes i think officers have a bad day personally and they want to take out on the world.

He tells me to get off my bike and to sit on the curb. "Where are you going in such a hurry? Where are you coming from"? I tell him that im coming from work like every night before and that im riding home. "Where do you live"?


BMX i was riding when i was pulled over by the police state.

Understand that i live a very old and popular higher end neighbor outside of city limits. Each house was on a half acre and my house was a modest 2400 square feet. I tell him that I'm training. Most of my life has been some sort of training. If im not hyperventilating, then im not living.

He looks with some sort of amazement and ask me if i had a car and i told him i did not. He knows that im the real deal. Im riding through time and I'm trying to keep myself from the man. I don't bother anyone and i expect the same from others.

The reason I'm on steemit is because i don't like rule of law. I always think of the first Bush president for the statement, "rule of law". I have always governed myself and i know many others that do the same. I'm tired of being afraid of the beast and the advantge of being over 40 is you stop caring. I'm thankful for @dollarvigilante for introducing me to this amazing over 140 characters social media site.

My name is Keith Breshears and i runridefly as much as i can. Thank you for reading and thank you for the pursuit of freedom.

Runridefly balancing his 5 month old son #harveylandon with NaVorro "Big Money" Bowman signing in background

Sort:  

Thanks for the informative and personal post. Great pics of the kids.

I Appreciate that. They are the reason i wake up with a big smile. With crying and cranky, i can just smile.. Best wishes

Thank for all the upvotes and replies

Beautiful kids.. I enjoyed reading your post..

Wow! don't ride through school zones.

Lol...i used to go ride around until i found one of those trailers for speed check. Thank you.