Hello Steemians, this is my poor introduction attempt.

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

I have no particular knack for writing, and doubt very much that I’ll be able to contribute engaging content so I will start with why I am here! For the last number of years I have been absolutely fascinated with blockchain technology. When I was first introduced to it, like many others, I only considered the financial possibilities, the possibility to break away from traditional finance and include those whom traditional finance has long excluded. Then, when doing my masters, I was introduced to the idea of a decentralised social media for blogging and news, one where we regulate ourselves as a voting community rather than have our content censored for us. I became obsessed with yet another blockchain application, found steemit and here I am!

I’ve read through several posts so far and can see there is already a huge number of gifted writers and content creators and it’s wonderful to see so many engage with it, particularly those who don’t necessarily have a ‘tech’ background. I suppose one of the many reasons I’m here is to try to encourage others I know, who use traditional social media and don’t necessarily have a tech background, to join. One of the pros of steemit is certainly that it rewards gifted content creators, but the main pro for me is that it also adds a level of accountability by allowing the community to down-vote posts, but more importantly, it doesn't censor on our behalf. The immutability of the blockchain is a marvelous thing.

Now that the whys are out of the way, some things about me as a human -

  • I own more than 1 lightsaber (but less than 4).
  • My resilience in life stems from completing the PlayStation game Abe's Oddysee when I was 10.
  • I think about the Lord of the Rings once a day, and think about how working class people get screwed by the upper classes at least three.
  • I watch alot of conspiracy theory documentaries on YouTube. Current favorites are missing 411, is Prince Charles a Vampire and Finland - does it exist?
  • I’m obsessed with all things FinTech and blockchain and truly believe that by increasing our levels of digital literacy we can claim more autonomy over our own privacy, our own media, our own financial situation, and how we live.
  • 35% of the time I believe in ghosts.

If you made it this far, I truly appreciate you sitting through the ramblings of an excited tech enthusiast from the island of Ireland. I hope to be able to form more coherent sentences in the future!

thank you for coming to my ted talk

cable.jpg

Sort:  

Goodday and Welcome to the great community of Steemit, SAMANTHA
YESS You are a new Steemian now!
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We haven’t met before but that changes right now. Dont let all the replies and bots scare you.
Just comment if you get scared and i Will help out.
If you download the app Steemify for notifications you see what Will happen in your account.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit is and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money to.

I love blogging, But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them

The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote‬
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Good luck with your journey and may you find here what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is THE key to big succes on Steemit.

Please vote for a witness to. You have 30 votes and if you dont understand let me know and i Will help. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure in the beginning very important.

Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie
steemterminal discord invite
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b

Welcome to the Steem blockchain! Loved your intro! I think you will do just fine here! 😁

Thank you so much :)

Hello samanthawilliams, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

A warm welcome...cool conspiracies lol

Hey!
YES!
No tech necessary to play! We are super willing to help newbies learn. And really, if you never wanna learn the tech side... okay, we can still be friends.😍

I also LOVE conspiracy stuff! And I laughed out loud when I found out that Finland may NOT be a thing?! Like mind... blown.

Hmmm... helpful things... Oh yeah! If you wanna make your posts look amazing consider a little markdown (it's the super-easy version of HTML coding). You can do it. I know it.😎

ULTIMATE MARKDOWN TUTORIAL

Minnow Support Project upvote purple.png
If you are familiar with DISCORD come join us there! 😍
Minnow Support Project PALnet Discord

Welcome to steemit @samanthawilliams.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

as someone else commented, that was a fun read. I also think about LOTR often and I still don't know why the "inn keeper" called Gandalf and Elven chap. Maybe someone could let me know. I thought Gandalf was a human wizard.

Hey, that was pretty fun to read, just be yourself like that and you'll fit right in. I also think about LOTR frequently (perhaps not once a day lol). Anyway, welcome to the community and if you have questions we're here to help!

Thank you very much for the kind offer!

You are high welcome to the wonderful community. I believe you can be able to make it through if you are commited and serious.

Here, engagement is the key. Don't aim for the money, aim for recognition, interaction and meeting wonderful people.

Also consider following people who are into what you love doing. Study what they do and contribute yours.

Once again, you are highly welcome.
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is wonderful advice! Thank you so much for the very helpful comment. I will certainly bear it in mind going forward.

Welcome to the Steemit community @samanthawilliams!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Eight suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and steemconnect,
  3. The master password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit,
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once, and
  7. When you open your steemit.com, in the upper right corner of the page there are 3 bars. Click on those, and then on the "welcome", and you will get a lot of reading material that will help you.
  8. Do NOT open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Steemians available who can help you; you can click to go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy Steeming!

This is really helpful thank you!

Hey samanthawilliams! If you would like to make your personal feed contain the top trending media and talking points of the whole internet, consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts - And welcome to Steem!

Thank you for for the tip!

Welcome to Steem! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! In addition, I have published a post that provides great references to assist you in your journey. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or feedback!

Congratulations @samanthawilliams!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 2 with 18 comments

Welcome to Steem samanthawilliams! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome samanthawilliams!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @samanthawilliams! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Do you love comics?