Introducing Myself from Shenzhen, China. 大家好!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I'm Sam from America

and I live here:

Shenzhen, China.

mmexport1496813048497.jpg

This past Monday I was doing some intense board gaming at a wonderful place near Futian Sports Park (福田体育公园) in Shenzhen, China. Futian is the district in the center of the city. It was an eclectic place with an outdoor track, several coffee shops, an indoor swimming pool, and a 26 story office building. The view from the 22nd floor lets you keep track of any golfing VC's:

mmexport1496891724069.jpg

---Introducing the "conference room window" filter for iPhone.

So while I was complaining about something job related a good friend (@cryptastic) recommended I check out SteemIt and I've been excited ever since (Three days so far).

See, I've been looking for an outlet for self-expression and creativity ever since Quora was invaded by trolls and I realized tumblr has better uses than sharing my travel blog. I was planning a YouTube channel for the past month but I don't have the time to invest in video editing and equipment and YouTube seems overly saturated these days.

Exclusively posting on SteemIt.

Coming at you from the technology capitol of China, during the first heat wave of the summer, sticking to my keyboard and wondering how mosquitoes found their way around my battlestation. (Don't worry, I have Tiger Balm.)

I've been living in this lively, 38-year-old city since 2013. I've had several jobs in the education field teaching a variety of subjects but my main profession for over the past two years has been as a working musician. I studied Classical Double Bass in college and in grad school (where I learned eye-opening things about the classical double bassist job market) but a peculiar series of events has me in China working as a bassist with a variety of bands which I hope to introduce to you in the future.

20160823_140414.jpg

---I'm not writing SteemIt on a piece of paper with today's date. Trust me, this is me and I'm sometimes a real person.

I look forward to posting more about the life of a musician in China, or any Westerner in China, as it isn't the common profession for an American living abroad. I hope to explore the reasons for that in a future post. For those that live in Shenzhen or greater Guangdong I look forward to introducing you to some places that might have slipped past your radar and in the future organizing a Steemer meetup.

SO, if you want to know what's in this:

20170606_191559.jpg

Or you want to find this:

20170529_125151.jpg

Or you really want to know what happened here:

20170605_214439.jpg

Please like and follow. These were just in the past week!

Thinking about coming to China for a vacation? Starting an import/export business? Need to source electronic motors for your adult device startup? If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them in the future. Just leave your questions in the comments!

Sort:  

Looking forward to read more from you!:)
Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES

You sound like a very interesting person, I will follow you, welcome to the community of steem it, I hope you enjoy this

Thanks Carla, back at you. Look forward to catching up on your posts.

i really appreciate :)

Good to see you on Steemit. There are a lot of great musicians, like yourself, on here.

welcome to steemit!

Some really nice pictures you have there mate! Welcome to Steemit and have fun here. Looking forward to some more food posts! Upvoted and followed.

Welcome to Steemit!:)

welcome to steemit @samjf87

Thanks! Always good to meet a photographer.

Have a nice day in steemit @samjf87

Hey, @samjf87. Great Introduction. Welcome to @steemit. If I need anything to import, I will let you know.

Sure thing! Thanks.

Welcome to Steemit @samjf87, and nice intro :)
Upvoted and followed :)

He there and welcome.

Never been to China and heard a lot of mixed opinions on it so far. So propaply have to make my own picture and go myself.

I am currently in Thailand and Tiger Balm is saving my life here also.

Will follow you and looking forward to read more of your posts, since it made me laugh more then once.

Thanks flipstar, I just went to Thailand for the first time this year and had a great time! Let me know if you have any questions about China, it's not for everyone...

Welcome to Steemit! You seem like an addition to the community.

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thank you, look forward to reading your posts!

Welcome to Steemit @samjf87 :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in our giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


You want to welcome others too? Give your Vote to new users: http://steemgreet.bitballoon.com/


See what this is all about: https://steemit.com/@reggaemuffin/steemgreet-motivate-new-users-who-just-joined

Welcome to Steem @samjf87 I have sent you a tip

Hey i heard or have seen that they also have factories/technology developement in Shenzhen. So i guess there are alot of new workers there working on that field too?

You sound like a very interesting person @samjf87!
Welcome to Steemit and enjoy!!

Have upvoted and followed you and I look forward to your posts ☺️

Same to you!

Followed. I live in China too!

I'm jealous of how clear and blue your sky is...

Welcome to Shenzhen :)

Great intro! You did a really good job whetting our appetite, getting us interested in you. Folowing...

nice pictures

I didn't use yours....but some of them were pretty sweet. We should have a post-off.

Welcome aboard, Sam! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek