You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From the South African bush to West of London, a short story of 50 years - My intro post - better late than never :-)

hi @livinguktaiwan thanks for stopping by :-) I've just followed @pinmapple, and C/haveyoubeenhere and yourself. I will certainly add these communities to my reading/curation list as I love to consume a diverse range of articles. Some of the highlights for me in Hong Kong were Chinese New Year, walking up the big hill behind the skyline in the evening and taking in the cityscape all lit up, visiting the Kwan Yin statue and offering up prayers for the health and safety of my family, and meeting a bunch of US Navy guys in the Hardrockcafe in Kowloon who were docked in the harbour at the time. They knew how to have a good time! All very innocent of course lol. I still have the t-shirt I was wearing that evening which they all signed ha ha. One even drew a picture of their ship on it! We had drinks with them...seemingly bottomless...got an invite to go and explore their ship the next morning but sadly they received orders to ship out at short notice and so hubby and I ended up watching the prep from the dock and bidding the ship a bon voyage. I haven't been back to HongKong in many years but it was a vibrant city with many tales to tell when I was there. Travelling 2 hours up the Pearl Delta to Kaifachu (sp?) where we were living, about an hour outside of Guangzhou, was always a peaceful time for reflection and reading. I bet you miss it! :-)