Your unaverage Korean South African

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Where to begin...

Well I'm a Korean born South African in my twenties with a rather interesting past and hopefully a more interesting future.

I immigrated to South Africa when I was a year old and subsequently lived and studied there for 17 years til I graduated High School.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2018-09-04-13-31-30.jpeg

I tried to be a professional swimmer but failed a drug test at 16 (tested for THC), and was disqualified from the u-16 Olympic tryouts, so I began studying and pursuing writing. I had a life threatening experience during 10th grade, when a burglar broke into my house and stabbed me in the ass, and now I have a huge scar on my left butt cheek.
After high school, I came back to Korea for university and after a year I joined the army. I served 21 months (635 days) in the army, and after finishing my mandatory military service, I resumed my studies.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2018-09-04-13-31-45.jpeg

Unfortunately, due to the extremely high academic standard of Korean universities, I am still a student, struggling to graduate, but one of these days I will, if I don't drop out before then...

I'd like to describe myself as transparent (what you see is what you get), motivated by money, not very creative with a dark sense of humor. Not twisted and sadistic, just a little unethical. My interests are music, money, photography, gym, netflix and traveling.

I recently learnt of Steemit so I figured it would be a good place to foster my personal writing, with the hopes of making some money on the side. I've been invested in cryptocurrency for a while now, but not nearly as early as I would have liked.

Not sure what else to write, but I'll share more about myself in future posts!

Thanks for reading and looking forward to getting involved with the Steemit community!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @sangdoze.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to our Steem Community @sangdoze! Thank you for this introductory post and letting us get to know you a little bit.

Dropping in to visit after finding your post featured by @macoolette in her entry into the weekly Pay It Forward Contest. As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it.

"Well I'm a Korean born South African in my twenties with a rather interesting past and hopefully a more interesting future.

I immigrated to South Africa when I was a year old and subsequently lived and studied there for 17 years til I graduated High School."

That is certainly a very interesting start to an interesting life so far. I had my own challenges with getting through school, but “hung in there” and have never regretted it. Hope you make it.

All the best to you in your future here on the Steem blockchain!

Thanks for the welcome and the motivational "hang in there" haha

I most definitely will think more thoroughly on the matter :)

Yes, definitely want to think very carefully about it @sangdoze.

There's actually a little bit more to my story. I actually did quit. For about 2 years, working as a laborer in Wyoming, amongst other things ...

In making that decision, I definitely "grew up" through the experience and went back to college to finish what I had started. While we all face the challenges of the difficulty and question the effort, over time and looking back, it makes much more sense as to why it is worth persevering.

An employer certainly is interested in us receiving a good education to increase the value of what we can do to help their enterprise succeed. But, having been a supervisor of other's work since 1984, I can tell you from long experience, there is more to it than that.

It is a question of the character of a person who does not quit, but "hangs in there" through the difficulties and ultimately is successful.

Why is this such a big deal? Life is full of difficulties. We don't want to develop a habit of "laying down" in the face of them, but learning what it takes to overcome adversity. It is not "fun," but there is a quiet satisfaction achieved which then helps you be at peace.

You are then in the process of developing a "do whatever it takes" (as long as it is legal and ethical ... 😉) mentality, which will serve you well over the course of a long career

I'll trust you don't mind a little "extra" from an "old war horse," on the other side of the world (what an amazing time we live in ...) Hope it helps a little.

Have a great day! 👍

Welcome to steemit @sangdoze; what an interesting 'introduceyourself' post! I read through the comments here and some of my questions have been answered, but I wondered if there was a big Korean population in South Africa? That is not your average Korean story for sure haha

I'm one of the judges in the Pay it Forward Contest where @macoolette featured your post. You are more than welcome to join us next week with an entry of your own if you'd like :) All the rules can be found at the contest page. Being new, it's also a great place for you to meet new people and develop a community of your own.

I think many of us would love to hear the story ( or many stories) of how it was growing up in South Africa as a Korean boy and how it feels being back "home". I taught English in Canada for many years, so I totally understand your decision not to pay International fees to study in the US or Canada for that matter. it really is absurd, isn't it. I remember wanting to study in California, but being from Canada, I too would have had to pay international fees ... that is many years ago, but it was still equally absurd!

I know I'm dumping piles on you here today, but I'd also like to invite you to join @asapers, a group which focuses on quality, unnoticed posts (and being new, trust me, yours will begin as "unnoticed" :) Most do!). We also regularly publish READ me ASAP, where we showcase our members' posts and they receive a percentage of the post payout. Plus, it's another great way to meet new people because there's a place where you can share your own posts, but you need to comment and upvote two other member's posts; the plan being "they" will come visit you when they see that you've appreciated their content.

I'm guessing that's plenty for now, seeing that I've written a short story here haha If you ever have any questions, I'd be happy to help you out. Again, Welcome to steemit! :)

Hey Lynn, thanks for the warm welcome! I’ll definitely look into an entry in the pay it forward contest, as well as @asapers
I’ll also look into writing and letting others know about my experiences as a Korean in South Africa! Thanks for the great content ideas :)

You are most welcome @sangdoze :) And you know where to find me if you ever need anything. HOpe you stick around; there's a pretty big turnover rate here, just so you know. It can get a wee bit discouraging, especially in the beginning, but once you develop your own community, it's well worth it ;)

Hello @sangdoze, anyeong👐 so, you speak and write korean and hangeul fluently 😮 even though you spent 17 years in South Africa? That's really cool. I think you have so many things to write on this platform 😉 your 21 months on millitary services for example, did you in the same group with any famous korean artists 😆 hehehe.

I think that you'll create so many good posts in the future with your broad interests and from the k-drama I watched, struggling in South Korea education system is one of the most challenging in Asia.

Thanks :) and no I was in the country side... celebrities usually go to the city police or a special base just for public figures

Hehehe.. it's just a question @sangdoze 😉 I know you have so many interesting things to write for us here in steemit, my request is only a trigger but I think it didn't work on you.

What a strange policy, do you mean to say that social rank and classes still existed in South Korea?

Yeah hopefully I have some interesting and unique perspectives to share here! And yes social hierarchy is very prevalent in Korea. Maybe not so much rank and class in prestige but definitely in wealth, just like most other countries.

Maybe not so much rank and class in prestige but definitely in wealth, just like most other countries.

I thought it was only on the movie or k-drama 😯 thank you for your explanation. Enjoy your steemit journey then ✌

Hey sangdoze! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will love it here as much as I do.
Good thing that burglar missed any vital organs I suppose. As long as the fingers and eyes work ok you are good to go on this platform. 😝
@macoolette featured you this week in the @pifc curation challenge. So I came over to check out you blog.

Thanks for the welcome :)
Yeah although I would have preferred if he didn’t stab me at all haha

Hi there. I'm on the same boat. We're all sinking together or floating together. Time will tell.

I've found your post after reading this Pay It Foward Contest entry from @macoolette

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your stay in this great community!
I found you from @macoolette's Pay-it-Forward contest entry. Keep up the great work!

I may not heard much but this is my first time to know someone migrating from Korea to South Africa. Can you share the reason to that? I suppose you are from South Korea, is it?

You mentioned about possibility of dropping out from school and I hope you really think about that before it happens. I know a few people who did not finish their studies but are very successful because they chose a different path with their career. I suppose you are considering those factors.

Welcome to Steemit!

Edit: I have featured your post here: Paying it further forward and pursuit for education and interests as an entry to Pay It Forward Curation Contest. The contest is open to everyone so you are welcome to join us.

My dad wanted to escape the social and corporate hierarchy in korea and provide a better future for me and my brother so we immigrated and he started a business there!

And yeah I’ve been thinking about it a lot... I’m majoring in politics and international relations but my passion and interests are completely different and the fields I want to work in don’t really require a degree in IR... tough decision :/

Thanks for reading! ^^

What made you go back to Korea?

Many says that you have to follow your passion but I see a few who were able to find a common ground with their passion and their career. I am sure you can figure that out...

Well I was thinking of going to the states to study, but tuition as an international student was a bit absurd, so I opted to return to Korea since I could manage to pay without having to take a student loan. Also I felt like I should reconnect with my Korean heritage since I had been estranged from the homeland for so long!

There is this saying that it is always good to be back home, no matter what. I suppose that was a good move for you.

Welcome to Steem, @sangdoze!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3163 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.21: Earn more by posting to DTube via SteemPlus.