Does this place suck?

That's the question I am currently asking myself. From a first glance it seems alright, but after perusing the site for a total of an hour I feel like this place is dumb as shit. It's more of a circle jerk than reddit, like way more, and it encourages curators to post otherwise valuable ideas on a platform that consumes that value and trades it for a pipe dream. I could be wrong, and if I'm being honest, I'm fishing for up votes with inflammatory discourse.

I'll hang out for a little longer to see if I can either accumulate some fringe following or realize I completely misunderstood the function of this community. Until then here's a picture of famous art critic Ongo Gobloggian: Ongo.jpg

Sort:  

I'd say it's a good place for cryptocurrency info, news etc. It's also a nice place to be exposed to photography/writings from 3rd world countries. The rest... not that great tbh

Yeah, I have enjoyed all the crypto info, but where do you find these pics and writings from 3rd world countries? Is it not something I could find on a different site?

i roam around the new page quite a lot i guess. Most of the articles are shit, or even plagiarized content, but then again, so are they on reddit and the other websites when you sort by new. Given that 1$ is worth much more to someone in a 3rd world country, a lot of articles are from there.Sometimes u get some cool stuff. this user for example : https://steemit.com/photography/@wachera/chasing-falls--2017-11-14-05-35-40 https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@wachera/el-e-phant-animal-photography-contest-by-juliank

When I came to steemit at the start I had some of the same feelings. But it depends on what your goals and aims are. It also depends on what you bring to the community

There is so much more to steemit to what you see in the user interface, way more. If you want some guidance and help feel free to hop over to steemitbc on discord https://discord.gg/pkKAHRM #steemitbc

another awesome community I think you should check out is #minnowsupport

Yo give this place a shot. It's in my opinion not a circle jerk.

I've seen people who tried to manipulate the system here just to make money and they were downvoted to hell.

Stick a while longer and you will find people who are truly here to help.

Welcome to Steem @scaryterry I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey there

I see you everywhere. Is there a large incentive to latch on to us newbies?

Welcome to steemit @scaryterry. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @scaryterry to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you enjoy your stay.

am fews days already but i for now disagree with you as steemit has loads of interesting tags...where you can read about people...culture...news...politics and also crypto and homesteading...have you checked out the homesteading and meme plus foods and art..photography? taking my time to explore more and hoping we take this great ride together my steemian friend... nice photo;)

Hello @scaryterry, I hope you are enjoying Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community -- glad to have you around!
follow @gauravgpt60 for future steemit instructions to get much better results.

Ohhh @scaryterry, you seem to be such a nice guy with a good sense of irony.
Your art critic picture made me upvote you !