Introducing Schwoortz

Hello Steemit,
I just recently discovered steemit while absorbing all information I could get on this concept called "the blockchain". I am very much a beginner here, but it is indeed an interesting technology, not just in terms of banking and bitcoin, but maybe also in the area of "democracy / voting" or the large field of education / academics...?

Michael Schwarz - aka schwoortz - on steemit


My name is Michael Schwarz, I'm from Berlin, Germany. Online I (often) go by the nickname "schwoortz", which was derived from my last name. During my time as a student and jazz musician in New York we would often call each other by our last names. Is that a jazz thing? I don't really know. Anyway, hence my nickname schwoortz - which also led to all sorts of quotes, e.g. like "May the schwoortz be with you...".
Know where that comes from, anyone? :-)

I studied jazz performance - that was last century(!). I toured a bit and at some point settled in Berlin where I then got into web development and stuff, in addition to playing and teaching the drums.

These days I ...

  • mainly work as a web frontend developer in various projects. I started doing so in 2000 or so.
  • am associated with the Jazzschule Berlin where - as a side project - I help creating online learning courses. Trying new conceps, technically.
  • rented a little office and gathered some nice coworkers.
  • do a little podcast (interviews with musicans, in german) - but I rarely find time to publish new episodes.
  • etc pp

Although I am not a native english speaker I do find that some things are easier to express in english. Especially in programming and music. Then again, some things would be easier for me to express in german. Difficult. As for steemit I decided to "say it in english". Feel free to point out any mistakes in the comments, if you want. Life long learning... :-)

Almost daily I read something here on steemit, I enjoy it, a lot of stuff is really great!

I am looking forward to reading from you,
Schwoortz

Sort:  

Welcome! gave you a follow!

Welcome to Steem @schwoortz I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @schwoortz!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to steemit Michael , you will find a lot of likeminded people here in community
Engage leave comments & follow , participate in community projects you will make friends
Cheers

Hey, Schwoortz! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Congratulations @schwoortz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great Intro. I work as a web developer as well, i followed you and look forward to reading what i'm sure will be some great content.

I hope you stick to english as much as possible as my german is pretty terrible and I'm afraid I wouldn't be able to understand you otherwise! Haha!