Back from the (what I presumed was) dead

in #introduceyourself3 years ago (edited)

I didn't think I would be back.

It's been over 2 years since I posted on this blockchain, back in the old Steem version. I came across Hive while looking for possible solutions for a mental health project (mentioned later) and then discovered that it was a fork of Steem. I was surprised that I could use my password from Steem (although not the keys) to retrieve all of my keys, and even some HBD converted from my old Steem Dollars.

But since my HP and reputation are still so low, and I never really contributed too much, I thought I would properly introduce myself and tell a little bit about how I got here.

tl;dr I've lived a bunch of places and had a bunch of jobs as a software developer, while wanting to be more than just a coder. I got into communication and mental health, and am now facilitating activities and creating projects to help people to connect more.

Growing up (mostly) alone

I grew up in rural Wisconsin in the United States way back before computers were a thing. My family's first computer was a Radio Shack TRS-80 Color Computer, and I learned to program BASIC. It had only 4K of RAM and we would load programs from tapes. Literally cassette tapes. We had to make sure the volume was set between 3 and 5 otherwise would get an I/O Error and would have to manually press the rewind button to get to the right location on the tape. It was insane.
Image of TRS-80 Color Computer by Adam.Jenkins CC-BY-2.0
There was literally a red BREAK button

So when people complain about internet speeds and computer speeds, I just think back to when we had a 2400 baud modem (for people like me who don't know what that means: it's 9,600 bits per second. The coffee shop wifi network I'm writing this on is 16.2 megabits/s, which is nearly 1,800 times faster). But I still get impatient.

Anyway, growing up I spent lots of time by myself, playing computer games and generally being anti-social. We lived in the country, so there was no neighborhood to hang out in, I couldn't walk to anyone's house. I remember spending a lot of time throwing a softball up in the air and catching it.

I had two sisters who would spend time doing I'm-not-sure-what-but-I-sure-wasn't-interested.

All of this alone time taught me very few social skills, and so when I went to high school, I found it difficult to make friends. And of course people teased me for my awkwardness and my big thick glasses. I think I've burnt all the photographic evidence.

I did well in school, but not amazing. I was accepted at the University of Wisconsin and continued to study computers, but what I really loved was Psychology, Astronomy, and History.

Work life

I graduated in 1996 and started a job at IBM in Rochester, MN. It's really cold there: in fact, I visited Alaska once in the winter and it felt warmer in Alaska. I spent most weekends (and sometimes weeknights) with my colleagues drinking and visiting the worst club I've ever been to, Aquarius. (After Star Wars Episode 1 came out, they painted a neon pink Darth Maul on the black velvet walls.) I don't think it's open anymore, because their last Facebook post was from 2009. They boast:

The only TRUE sports bar in Rochester, MN with a hot-night-spot dance club attached to boot!

I have no digital records of any of this, which I'm a bit sad about but mostly relieved. I'm still not sure what makes a sports bar true.

After 5 years I got married, moved to Austin, got divorced and started going to much better clubs (RIP Plush). Music became a much bigger part of my life, helped by the great live music scene in Austin and the incredible South by Southwest music / film / interactive festival.
Image of Austin Live Music Capital of the World, Photo by Steve Snodgrass CC-BY-2.0
It really does have a great music scene

Do I really want to be a programmer?

It was at this time that I started questioning my career. Did I really want to spend my life building software for big companies like Disney and Bank of America, so that they could siphon money from other people? It just didn't seem fulfilling. I feared that creating my own startup would be too difficult, and so I did what most people do when they don't know what to do: go back to school.

photo of the author, taken by unknown
Me, age around 35

I was interested in how people interact in groups, and so I studied Sociology at University of Texas. I wanted to make a difference in the world, so I got accepted to the University of Maryland Public Policy program, and then decided not to follow through because I feared that my career would be full of putting a lot of effort into something, and then having it come to nothing because of politics.

A word of advice to people planning on going back to school: make sure to have a clear vision of your goals putting in the effort of getting there.

I still wanted to make a difference, and thought NYC was the place to do it. So in 2012 I packed up my car and moved there, not knowing anyone. I quickly learned the obvious, that New York was expensive, and so rather than follow a dream of public service without any previous experience, I got back into computers working at the AI-based education company Knewton. I'm still proud of my post explaining n choose k using an alcoholic octopus.

Becoming a nomad

I left Knewton after a couple years to again go back to school, this time for a BA in Psychology. And again this was a lot of work before having a clear vision of the future, and again I decided against continuing the process. Instead I ran away to the tropical island paradise of Koh Phangan in southern Thailand. I learned ecstatic dance and studied at an infamous yoga school which was honestly a life-changing experience for me in the most positive way.

Photo of author, courtesy of Patience Lilje
I'm sad that I lost this shirt

I came back to NYC, could no longer deal with the constant honking of horns, and began 6 months of travel around the US and Canada to find my new home. I wanted a place which was another country, but one that I could integrate into. Montreal was perfect: it felt foreign to me, but still only a 6 hour drive from NYC. And my great-great ... grandfather Gilles Lauzon was one of the first settlers of the city, which made it quite romantic: me coming back to home.

But yet again, same pattern: got a job at a software company (this time at Mylo, now Moka), helped build a great product that rounds up purchases to the nearest dollar, and then realized that being an employee wasn't the right fit for me.

I left and became VP of Engineering at @volentix, who are building a decentralized crypto exchange. I met @helo, @transisto, and some other great crypto enthusiasts, to whom I am forever grateful. However I ended up leaving after a few months, which in retrospect was lucky because it got me to Thailand just before the COVID-19 lockdown.

Current life

In January 2020 I flew back to Koh Phangan to attend a 6 week intensive self-development retreat. A few weeks after it finished, we were in COVID lockdown. The borders to Canada were shut to Americans so I couldn't go back there, and I hadn't lived in the US for 3 years. So I stayed.

I feel incredibly lucky to have been here when it happened. It didn't affect this island like the rest of the world: there has so far been a single case, and that was detected and quarantined immediately. Dances and other events have continued as the death count continues to raise back home.

I just started a weekly Authentic Relating Games Night event, using what I learned from my time attending and facilitating at Authentic Montreal. We give people the opportunity to learn and practice trust, vulnerability, and empathy in a safe space using fun, simple, games. I also plan on hosting other events to help create honest connection and healing.

Photo of Authentic Relating in Koh Phangan, photo by Shawn Lauzon

I've also started thinking about how to make mental heath services accessible to anyone in the world who needs it. As my work in authentic relating has shown, we all have the capability to help each other. So I am investigating how to use the Hive blockchain to incentivize empathic listening to each other.

I will continue to post about this as my vision becomes more clear. And I look forward to learning more from this amazing community how we can create a better planet together.

♥️ shawn.

Sort:  

Good to know your story and all waves you have gone through. Hope you enjoy Hive and Hive adds some value to your life too.
Have a wonderful stay here!

Thank you! Yes it's been a life which hasn't been boring, that's for sure!

Oh gosh. This sounds amazing! How lucky that you were in Thailand when everything happened.

Just to let you know about the @naturalmedicine community. We do love to support mental health posts of any kind - so use the tag/s #mentalhealthawareness #naturalmedicince so we can find and support you easily.

Communities are a big thing on HIVE now - a bit different from Steem 2 years ago. Welcome back and I can't wait to hear about what you have to say about listening - so important. xxx

Much love.

Thank you sister! Ahh you're the founder, that's amazing. I came across your community a couple weeks ago when I first started looking at hive: natural health content with yoga and healthy eating, amazing.

Wow, AND you have the LOTUS token (in love with the name) I'd love to talk with you more about creating a community and token, as I see that as being part of my vision. What is the best way to connect?

Via Discord, or on messaging via LOTUS CHAT https://naturalmedicine.app?ref=fhzn22

I second that, ** Natural Medicine** is awesome community, and I think you'd be a great fit. Look forward to seeing more of your Hive journey.

Thanks Justin!

Welcome to Hive!!! I found your post in the SMILE DISCORD SERVER.

When many of us are trying to finish and run away from school, you run right back into school 😅.

This is an ethic introductory post. I recommend you to participate in my NEWBIES INITIATIVE since you are just becoming part of Hive. It would be a great guide.

Thanks! And yes, when I was first in school I couldn't wait to leave, didn't pay attention, and skipped school a lot. Then after being in the workforce for awhile, I went back and attended every lecture, took great notes, and aced every test. Because I wanted to be there!

And actually seeing all the love that I just got, I would love to participate in the newbies initiative. It looks like I've missed the 7th of March 00:00 cutoff for submission though. Is there still time to write the participation post?

Nice man, welcome back.. Hive is growing into something big that this broken world needs. Good luck with your projects! Monty

Thanks Monty! Yes it does, especially the work that leofinance is doing with simplifying onboarding.

Well welcome back i guess, from the steem death
to the Hive blockchain and platform, Yes its happening you are a hiver or Bee as we are calling ourselves now. This is the moment to warm welcome you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!

I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here I am returning the favour. I know that Hive may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be a great blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I may know the answer. If not I will know someone who does.

Very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours.
To blog i use Peakd, to control your account use Ecency, also an App I use is great, it gives you insight on what is happening in your account.

Maybe great to join the terminal in Discord and visit @heyhaveyamet to See more newcomers onboard.

Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)

GREETZ from Holland
Britt
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b
Theterminal discord invite

Good luck to you as the new arrival, may hive become your new life !

Cool, thank you Britt :) It feels great to receive such nice comments.

Well you are not really new new so sort of know the drill, i have faith you will find what you need , if not we are always around

That never changes just the blockchain

Congratulations @shawnlauzon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day

Welcome back

Thank you, good to be back :)

Welcome to the Hive community @shawnlauzon!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and Peaklock,
  3. The owner password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. Do Not open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hivians available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Fantastic, thank you. I've just joined the server