Let me introduce myself.

Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 19.53.28.png

Hello everyone, I have never been good at talking about myself, but here goes. My name is Christine and I am a graphic designer and illustrator. I tend to do more illustration and art work than graphic design, because well..whenever I have to do work for someone else I kind of loose interest. It is as if the presence of money makes my creativity and art-like abilities to disappear, like a child being told to clean his room.

My main focus is to draw and paint. I started drawing at a young age. To me it felt more like I was compelled to do so. I had to draw otherwise my brain would be too full of thoughts and images. I would always create stories and characters, and spend my day trying to come up with epic tales.

As I grew up I focused more of story telling and poetry. It seemed to be everywhere and my home town, Bogotá seemed to be bubbling with magical realism at every street corner. I took all my romantic ideals with me to college, only to be crushed by my unmotivated master students not really caring about teaching, or overzealous teachers that stole all my work at the end of the semester... so i stopped writing, and focused more on photography and art.
imaginarycompanion3.jpg stardustwooniarc.jpg

tied.jpg

()

I did more photography and less art for years on end. I was again obsessed with the beautiful silky shadows and luscious highlights. I created surreal expressions of stories and dark time pieces. But with time, I became frustrated. I was in need of providing after divorcing the dark force in my life, and used photography as a way to earn money. At first I was happy for any client I would get, but still I could feel my creativity vanishing with every click. Until finally, I couldn't bare even touching my camera. I was repelled. I couldn't even look at photographs the same way that i used to. It was as if it had lost it's magic.

Screen Shot 2018-01-08 at 16.55.32.png

So, in desperate need to create I went back to my first creative endeavour, drawing. And since then I haven't stopped. I have found a way to earn through painting classes and parties, prints and the occasional commission. But since I create for myself and only myself I have not lost my muse. At time she is stubborn, but still she is there.

Untitled_Artwork (15).jpg

Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 19.54.08.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 19.52.36.png

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steem Christine

@sissyprints
Welcome to steemit, I like your style! Do you scan your drawings and color them in photoshop or is it all digital? (hard to tell now days).

hey there @friendly-fenix I either use watercolors and acrylics, or procreate on my ipad.

@sissyprints
Okay, nice work! Glad to read your story, good thing you did not loose your muse!

Hi @sissyprints
You are a new member so , welcome to steemit;The biggest platform with the great people inside.
you can sharing what you like and what you love.I liked your photos too much.

thanks @drphysiatre! why type of things do you like to post there?

I'm here to write about health ,cryptocurrency my travel experience and sport .

Welcome! Love seeing other new artists on here!

Thank! You have some cool posts as well. What type of art do you like creating?

Welcome to steemit. Nice pieces of Art, keep up the good work! Hope to see more from you. Wish you a great time on steemit.

Thank you @smartcoins. I'm still trying to understand it all. It is fascinating

Welcome to steemit hun

Hello @vwovwe. How ling have you been on here?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sissyprints to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

GREAT intro post!

So, in desperate need to create I went back to my first creative endeavour, drawing. And since then I haven't stopped.

You're very creative and I have to say my I was the same way when I joined steemit.I had lost my way with my writing and blogging but then I joined steemit and found my way!