Hello everyone! I joined Steemit to share my strange life and crafty hobbies with you.

Hello there Steemit community!

I'm stoked to join up and start contributing! I've never been a very computer/social media literate person, at least for my generation, but my friends Matt and Rob are very convincing people, so here I am. Learning about the internet and block chains.

I grew up in a crime ridden neighborhood in California called Richmond, maybe 10 minutes north of Oakland in the Bay Area. When I turned 18 I moved to Boston, where I lived for 7 years or so before I moved to Detroit where I am now. I've done a lot of traveling within the states mostly by motorcycle, and I've had lots strange and exciting adventures.

I dropped out of high school to be a woodworker, and I've been doing woodwork ever since, so I have a lot to offer in that department, but on top of that, I'm pretty crafty. I also do leather work, sewing, stained glass, taxidermy, metal fabrication, engine repair, laser etching, I've done a few tattoos and so on and so on. FullSizeRender.jpg
This is a retail store I designed and built and installed for a business on Mackinac Island, a crazy island in northern Michigan, where they don't allow and motorized vehicles. Strange place.
IMG_0172.JPG
This is a record shelf I made for my room!
IMG_0183.JPG
IMG_0193.JPG
IMG_0213.JPG
This is a bolo I made for a buddy with a rat skull in it. He found the skull on top of a mountain in New Hampshire
FullSizeRender.jpg

I have so many damn projects going on. I'll post about them, and show what I'm doing, and if any of you guys have a better way of doing things, PLEASE tell me.

I'm in the middle of building a motorcycle and I work at a great furniture shop, so I'll have lots of cool interesting content to show y'all.
giphy.gif
giphy (2).gif
IMG_0249.JPG

These are some old logs that were buried in a swamp near the Ford museum, that were dug out to get milled and turned into some fancy furniture for a big ol executive office in downtown Detroit! I'll show you guys what that's all about as we build it.
giphy (1).gif

I'm also involved in a lot of local activist circles, so I have some vague political Ideas that I like to talk about too.

And I've been involved in the punk scene since I was young, so I have a lot of cool music to share too.

I have to much to offer, my hunger, my flesh, my blood! What wont you take from me?!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Rob is the one who convinced me to join as well. Haha
I look forward to seeing more photos of your crafty projects!

yes welcome :)
do you wanna be my friend ?

Hey what's up man? Looks like @matt and @robrigo snagged another one!

welcome

I'm Matt's cousin, welcome to Steemit! Its a cool ass place, you're gonna like it here for sure.

It seems like you're a handy guy to have around. Haha Nice pieces!! I look forward to future posts from you.

We're reeling them in like fish.

Haha keep em comin!

Tell us more punk stories

okiedokie

Sweet chopper frame! I'm curious about the build process and would love to follow along how it's built up!

excellent! I Should be doing a lot of work in the coming days.

Making a bobber?

More like a cross between a dirt track and a chopper. I raised it up two inches in the front and rear, and gave it knobby tires and I'm also giving it a ridiculous sissy bar and upswoop pipes and a peanut tank.

Now that sounds like a project to Steem about. Would like to see that!

just posted more progress!

YOU Will Get to Know the AMAZING Power of SteemIT Community...
Welcome On Board with Fantastic Community including me @cWorldV99

Welcome! My dad grew up in Richmond and my mom in El Sobrante so I'm familiar with that area. Hope you like it here at steemit

Welcome. Some great things. Enjoy.

Welcome to Steem @slimysammy I have sent you a tip

Hai @slimysammy, i'm please for you to follback me, cause i need follower .

I do like your intro @slimysammy … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/artificial-intelligence-ai-must-be-designed-for-the-good-of-mankind

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/rio-de-janeiro-is-one-of-those-items-that-must-be-placed-in-the-bucket-list-and-one-day-definitively-visit-we-did

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/family-trip-adventures-but-ongoing-environmental-contamination-right-under-our-noses-so-powerful-even-governments-cannot-stop-it

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my upvote tick for the welcome, and of course hope you will tick on the follow link .!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Hey @slimysammy -- welcome to Steemit!

I sure do love me some vague political ideas lol
XD

Glad to have you here. :)
@shayne

Hi! I'm crafty too (and also new!), how about we follow each other? I'd like to make some friends on here as I don't know anyone at all!

Hi Sam!
You've done some great work, it's pretty impressive :)

please follow me and I'll follow you back :D
http://Facebook.com/JoeyArnoldVN

Welcome to steemit
I hope you will have a great time and maybe chat from time to time on your blog or mine
following commenting upvoting resteeming helpls you gain more steem power
We'll catch up around

Welcome to Steemit!
A woodworker huh?
Any chance you could make a wooden coin... I'm actually in need of one and find a woodworker the same day... Strange

welcome to steemit,hope you will enjoy this wonderful platform.

@follow

Hey Slimysammy, I'd like to think that i'm pretty crafty myself as well!! Looking forward to seeing more from you!

Cheers!

Hello @slimysammy, welcome to the platform. Have fun in the community.

Welcome mate. I post a few stories regularly on a few of the hobbies that you have as well, mostly woodworking. Great to have you here, make sure you follow along

Very nice post sir. I am fascinate

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Oh, real man was coming, Welcome @slimysammy!

Hi Slimysammy, you have an interesting story! Your woodwork is amazing and would like to hear more about your biking adventures. Cheers.

Welcome to Steemit. You got some cool projects that you working on. Awesome build.

Welcome I am pretty new here too. I dropped you a follow looking forward to more content. Have fun!

Meccanica sorprendente

It's an impressive skillset to have, I think the people here will look forward to seeing more.

Hi & Welcome to Steemit. Upvoted and following you. Enjoy your day @sunshinetraveler

Welcome to steemit!

Followed and upvoted

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Sammy.

Upvoted and High Pawed! :-D
IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider