#introduceyourself

Rather than offering a resume of who I am, I am hoping to give some bullet points of what I enjoy with insights to what to expect from my blogs/posts.

I'm pretty new to the platform and still learning some of the ins-and-outs of how it all meshes together. I've posted to a couple of the other networks, here and enjoy the feedback and hope to add a lot of value to the communities.

My "day job" for the past 20+ years has been a Field Service Engineer for Life Sciences companies like Agilent and PerkinElmer, with a brief stint at a pharmaceutical company. I am very skilled at troubleshooting, which makes the career enjoyable.

Last year I opened my own consulting firm (LabServe Consulting Inc.), which leave me more time to enjoy my other skills.

In the past, I used to shoot wedding photography with my wife. This lasted several years until we had kids. Along with weddings, I do a lot of outdoor and nature photography, which centers mostly around waterfalls.

I founded a volunteer organization called Dig The Falls, which started as a way to catalog all the waterfalls in New York State (over 3,000 and still growing), but the last several years we have been focusing our efforts on the volunteer side of things.

We found that publishing information on these falls was becoming troublesome, as people go there and litter and damage the locations. So we started picking up litter, creating trails and green spaces, and educating as many people as we can on our efforts.

In 2012 I co-authored the book "Waterfalls of New York State" and was the primary photographer for the book. We had some waterfall challenges, but those have been dormant for a couple years due to the pandemic.

I forage quite a bit, so I may post blogs about foraging from time to time.

I am also a bit of a polymath, so there may even be a sprinkle of electrical, mechanical, plumbing, cars, hiking, chemistry, gardening, or whatever else I forgot to mention :)

Hit me up if you have any questions. I know I have a lot. I'll be trying to follow as many of you as I can and look forward to reading your blogs/posts as well!

Sort:  

Hellooo @smith-er-eens ,
Welcome to Hive Ecosystem! ♦️

Excellent introduction, I loved the post!

Here you will find a very healthy network.
Where you have freedom of speech and receive a lot of support for your effortin creating content.
I hope to see you flying through the communities and staying forever in Hive!
Nice to meet you!

I invite everyone to participate in the communities: HiveBR, MusicHive and SkateHive.
In addition to being a content creator, I am a Moderator and Curator in these communities.
Let's exchange ideas and evolve together.

Boelter hugs straight from Brasil!

boelter-upgrade.gif

Thank you so much for the warm welcome. I'm traveling today, but will check out those communities asap! I'm really impressed with how close knit the Hive communities are, and the curration is astounding! 🥰

WOW thats is a hell of an intro
and with that amount of mushrooms you must be a FUN GI :D
!LOL
!PIZZA

What do you call a haunted chicken?
A poultry-geist

Credit: reddit
@smith-er-eens, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @dadspardan
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/8)

Those mushrooms look great. Can't wait to check out some of your photography. We have a huge #photography community here. Welcome to Hive.

Thanks! That was last year. Tough this year, though. I'll probably join at least one of the photo communities soon 🦾🦾🦾

They do a lot of weekly photo challenges too. Photography is a great community and topic here, Maybe @traciyork has some photography group suggestions?


~~~ embed:1555679182033756162 twitter metadata:VGhlX0NyeXB0b19Eb29kfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL1RoZV9DcnlwdG9fRG9vZC9zdGF0dXMvMTU1NTY3OTE4MjAzMzc1NjE2Mnw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @the-bitcoin-dood ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dadspardan(3/20) tipped @smith-er-eens (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @smith-er-eens! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!