Hello fellow Steemians -- I am a Designer and Maker!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello Steemians!


I'm Sam I live in Chicago, Illinois and I am in my last semester studying Industrial Design. I really like to make things with my hands and solve problems and manifest ideas from my mind to reality. I do this through many mediums, and don't like to limit myself, or box my ideas into any certain categories.

IMG_0252-01.jpg
This is me with pieces from a weird project I have been working on lately called "I Can't Draw Hands" for which I recently launched a Kickstarter.

As a designer, I have become more and more frustrated with the over saturation of unnecessary products and content in the market. I care about creating things of quality and meaning, so please feel free to critique me in the future if I do not do this! I am all about learning and getting better. I am excited about joining this platform and community, because I feel like not only does it foster and encourage quality and personal content, but it shows the value of a community that cares about what they are feeding their minds with.

One of my goals for this year was to write more. So I thought this would not only be a great place to put out my ideas, but also a great place to get quality feedback from likeminded individuals.

Topics I write about may include:

  • design problems I come across in daily life and solutions I find
  • ideas that influence the way I live and think
  • expanding on and giving my thoughts on popular idioms, quotes, or books that I read
  • people that inspire me and why

It is a goal of mine to read 100 books this year! I have finished 7 so far, and have 8 others I have started. I will probably mention these from time to time, because they influence the topics that are on my mind.

IMG_0253-01.jpg

Really I am just trying to better myself and get my ideas out there. That way I will have a record of them and I can see my progress throughout time. Another thing you should know about me, is that I really like to just try things. I strive to be a doer of everything and a master of nothing. I think this is one topic I will expand upon in the future.

I love both fashion and architecture. They are both so aesthetically and mathematically driven, and they both influence people everyday. These are two artistic mediums that produce a lot of influential figures in my life.

Thanks for reading a little bit about me, and I hope you stick around for future posts!

Sort:  

Hello :) Sam
Nice to meet you!
I hope i can make global friendship with you.
I just upvote and follow you :)
Mutual follower event
my introduceyourself
it's my first travelling post ^^

Thanks for the follow! I checked out your introduceyourself, very cool to see the places you have travelled

thank you ^^ i would wait and expect your amazing posts !

Good post, keep friends @somekid .
Follow back

thanks for the follow! i got you back

Hey mate, welcome to steemit and best of luck here :)

100 books is a solid effort what genre's do u usually read?

I like to read a good mix of fiction and non fiction, for fiction I am really into satires and dystopian novels right now. Two of my favorite nonfiction books I read this year were Al Capone and the 1933 Chicago World’s Fair, and The Devil in the White City. They each talk about one of the two World’s Fairs that we’re held in Chicago.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and Chicago reminds me of Gotham.

Fun fact they filmed a lot of the Dark Knight in Chicago, so that’s probably why there is a connection! My friends and I would always drive the tunnels on Lower Wacker which is where the chase scene in that movie was filmed.

The connection is also in the crime rates, Gotham and Chicago.

Probably a very good reason why the producers chose to shoot in Chicago haha, they don't have to do a lot to change the vibe

Hi @somekid ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

welcome somekid,,,, and good luck

thank you!

Congratulations @somekid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!