Why was SportsPodium created?

We all had sports stars in our schools. These guys and girls are born with the talent to perform in mostly any sport. Some go on to achieve great success in sports later in life, but some don’t.


Image Credit

I had a friend at school, let’s call him John, which during our 12 years at school, received provincial (regional) colors 14 times in 4 different sporting disciplines. The guy was just good at every sport which he participated in. After school I traveled through Europe for a few years and on my return I expected John to be a National Athlete or have national colors in various sporting disciplines. Unfortunately he did not, and the sad thing is that although he had the talent and was definitely good enough to compete at international level.

One of the main reasons that he never moved to the next level, was that he was living in a small town, and was never noticed by the scouts. I am sure many of us can tell similar stories.
John did not go to an internationally recognized sporting school which is unfortunate in today’s competitive sporting communities.

Image Credit

In today’s competitive sporting communities, you have be identified at a very young age, in order to have any chance of success in a professional sporting career. If you do not know the right people or do not go to the appropriate sporting school or have the correct surname that is recognised by the scouts or selectors, you very little chance. And that is unfortunately the reality.

There are just too many talented people participating in sports these days, which makes it very difficult for the scouts and talent seekers, to know where to look. The scouts have their favourite hunting grounds to find talent, and the logical place to start looking is the well-known schools, clubs and universities. This is how it has always been.

What if we can give the scouts a reason to look elsewhere?

What if we can use the immutability and trustless state of the blockchain to provide information to the scouts and talent seekers from every sports person around the world? What if we use clever algorithms to identify talented individuals and highlight them to the scouts and clubs that are looking for some talent? What if we provide a club that is looking for a person to play in a specific position, and the club have the ability to search a database of players in a hierarchical structure?

Let me give you an example: A talented player from a country like South Africa, is looking for an opportunity to study at a university in the United States to further his sporting career. Currently there is no chance for the University to even know that the individual exist. What if the sports person, can promote himself to the university in a structured way using his lifetime sporting stats, which will be presented from a blockchain, to ensure that the information is trustworthy?
What if a club from England are looking for a specific talented individual but they have access to a database from all players around the world?

There are so many examples that can be provided, we will sit here for the rest of the day

SportsPodium is a solution to all the what if’s scenario’s above and we are only mentioning a few of much more to come. We will reveal more about the solution in our upcoming posts.

Please share this post far and wide and follow us @sportspodium for more information. There is some big announcements coming soon.


If you missed our earlier blog posts, please follow the links below:

Sort:  

Fantastic!! I wish this was in place when I was still in school. Even though I was one of the top athletes in my school it was in a small mining community so there were no real opportunities for athletes such as myself. This platform will change the lives of many young talents.

Nice post, i just followed, upvote and resteem your post please remember me when you make it a big affair. If you could be kind enough to follow back

Thanks @zacksilver, this is great news. We have a strong executive team, advisory board and a solid business plan. Watch this space :)

Welcome here Sportspodium! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Welcome @Sportspodium:) Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. ! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunpoom!

In this post, added snaps are so beautiful, i liked them, Followed,

Thanks @princekayani, followed you as well.

then thank you very much, resteem my personal posts also , coz there is something new for steemians.

Welcome to Steemit @sportspodium!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

I think it's a great idea. Thanks for sharing

Thank you very much @rawpride. We have a strong executive team, advisory board and a solid business plan. Watch this space :)

Your post @sportspodium is very good, I love it. Thanks for sharing. I hope your experience becomes knowledge for all of us. I have come and Upvote in your interesting post. And do not forget to follow and upvote do the same to me. Hopefully steemit remains the foremost.

Thank you very much @zubett

nice post. upvoted!
what is your idea about talent effect on being champion in sports?
is it 100% or attempting can cover that?

Thanks for the comment @behfar.zarnani. @sportspodium is for sportspeople on all levels, from junior amateur to seasoned and professional athletes.

you are welcome to steemit, im @nauval from @aceh, pleeis folow me

Love the idea. Would love to connect with you regarding this. My agency represents Olympic medalists and professional athletes. Very interested to see how we can work together.

Hi @ebmgrj, we are also interested in talking to you. Are you on Steemit chat? Or Twitter. Our Twitter handle is @mysportspodium. Please send direct message and we can discuss.

Hey @sportspodium I am on Steemit Chat I can look for you there to discuss how we can work together! I'll also send you a DM on Twitter.

I can relate to that story. So many talented people in my country Kenya never get noticed because they don't know the right people. Therefore I support your initiative @sportspodium. I wish u success in your future endeavors.

Thank you very much. We will announce a lot more over the next few weeks. We really hope that we can assist those that is unfortunate stars that is not seen.

Yes, it 'sa sad thing for your friend. I wish you a happy day and the most beautiful sport for the body+follow

Thank you very much @tohamy7

What an amazing idea! Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much @mdd-ste

My pleasure :)

As a massive sports fan and farther of your children who I hope one day, one of them will get into sports I think this if awsome and I will be very keenly following this! Well done !

This is great to hear. We hope that the platform will help many children to be seen and identified. Not to say the platform is only for performers. It will also be a platform to share, learn, and have fun. Thanks for following us @ch00fy and I hope your children will be the biggest sport star that we have seen.

Nice! Always good to support sports. Such an important part of growth for kids and big kids.

Thank you for the comment @bigfatmyths and you make a very valid point. Sports is important for the growth of our children. Not only on the field from a fitness perspective, but also from learning to work within a team and so forth.

you have a brilliant idea, i wish you the best in developing your idea. upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you very much @nairamallam

The reality is that there are more scouts than ever looking for talent, because of the potential money that can be made from "discovering the next big thing".

Speaking as a professional football (soccer) scout myself based in the UK, it is very rare that we would sign a player without seeing them live. Stats are good and they can create interest but if the Athlete is talented he or she will get spotted, or scouted as people will talk.

Its great that you have come up with this idea and I hope that it really does help someone get scouted.

Good Luck :)

@notdavemate thanks for the input. You are completely right, a player or athlete must still be evaluated and seem before they are promoted by scouts. How do you go about finding talent to look at though. Also, the scouting process can be very clicky as I am sure you have experienced. We hope to make opportunities wider for sports people. Please remain engaged with us as this project unfolds

@sportspodium I will be following and supporting your idea!
I would say that you should also consider adding video clips to player profiles to back up some of the stats. I'm just thinking of a situation where a scout from another country is interested in a players stats but the club doesn't have the resources to send scouts out personally to see them. All of the top clubs are very big on player stats and will have their own databases.

Where are you guys based?

https://steemit.com/football/@funfails/funny-dizzy-penalty-soccer
watch it here the funny Dizzy penalty of mine, upvote it if you liked it and also follow me for more and do share with your friends.

What a great idea! All the best of luck and mark me down as a follower!

This is incredible! I'm from Venezuela, and I play Ultimate Frisbee. In 2013 I was part of the national team under 23 and we participated in the World of Nations in Canada, where for the first time in the history of the Venezuelan Ultimate, we achieved the fourth place in the mixed category; Two years later we tried to attend the world championship again, but the government didn't approve the resources, all due to the economic crisis in my country. And like us, I have friends, who are great athletes, but who have not been able to project because of their economic situation. For that reason I think the @Sportpodium initiative is wonderful.

Great idea, it's different welcome, great start

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to steemit sportspodium, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Best, I like...
Hy steemit people , Please follow me..
image

Keep up the good work! Great post :)
follow me > follow You!
Grettings from PL - deazydee