The life of an oil/STIR/commodities trader - Big wins, bigger losses & £1million in 3 years.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

A Transparent look into the day of a trader

I've been a trader for the past 4 years and have since scoured the internet for a blog where a trader discusses, with great transparency, their results on a day to day basis. 

When it comes to trading, it seems that £££ is the elephant in the room. For one reason or another, most traders don't like to discuss how much they're up or down (unless it's someone who claims to be an absolute baller and to win every trade AKA a bullshitter).

What I plan to do is post regular updates about my trading day. I will be as open as possible regarding how much I'm up/down. 

First, a bit about me:

I'm a 24 year old and have been a trader since I was 20. I started trading with a proprietary firm (a company whose sole purpose is to trade the markets to make money) in February 2012. I started on the sim (with 'fake' money) and went live with real £ in April 2012. From April 2012 - December 2012 I made £60,000. In 2013 I made £208,000. In 2014 I made £62,000 and finally, last year I made £1,600,000.

I will go into detail about the last 4 years in other posts - huge losses, not so huge wins and everything in between. 

Hope I can provide a little entertainment, insight and, more importantly, transparency into the life of a young proprietary trader. 

For now, here's a picture of my day so far: 


(the 5466 at the top is the amount of trades I've done and the number to the right is my P/L for the day (red is negative, blue positive). The names on the left are, of course, the individual markets. 

ST


Sort:  

I have been a trader for over 10 years, looking forward to seeing your trades. Here are my trades for the day as well. It has been a slow day so far, but positive. One of the more important but easily over looked skills is the ability to NOT trade.

Yes I agree. Fear of missing out is a big issue in my trading, still! Looks like your trading is far different to mine - I actually trade futures spreads!

I don't follow. You said you made huge losses and smalll wins but you are +1m .
Congratulations in any case.

What I meant by that is my biggest down day is bigger than my biggest up day, which can, of course, still lead to being profitable. Hope that makes sense.

Cool, look forward to your posts.