Introducing Myself - haven't done it although I've been here a little while.

IMG_5618 (1).png

Like many other people I can be a bit harsh about myself with regards to how I see myself and what I produce and do. The picture above is a good example of that. I painted it several years ago and I hated it at the time as it was not what I was intending to produce. I reworked it and reworked it and eventually gave up and stuck it into store. About two weeks ago I was going through my things I "rediscovered" it .....and I found that I really rather liked it. All the things that I had been trying to achieve I had forgotten about. All the things that I thought were glaring faults I couldn't see any more. I took a quick snap there and then. Interestingly the faults that stand out now are the fact that I think that I have not taken a very good photograph and the colors are out. It's odd how you judge yourself sometimes. With that in mind I hope to tell you a little about myself.

IMG_5335.png

The Liver Building - One of The Three Graces

Currently I live in Liverpool in the UK. I wasn't born there and have never had a relationship with the city until now. It's just that I used to live in Tokyo, (the longest I have ever lived anywhere) and when I came back to London I nearly had a heart attack at the rental costs. I looked round for a city that was cheap and had compact center in which I could run a business project. Liverpool was by far and away the best option. This had lots of plus points too.

  • I live on one of the four original streets from 1207 AD so it oozes history.
  • The people are really friendly in comparison to London.
  • It's very international.
  • There are some fantastic and historical pubs.
  • There is a big range of public galleries.
  • There are some good theatres.
  • The weather is probably the best in the UK.
  • I can walk pretty much any place I need to go.
  • The Chinatown has some great restaurants/supermarkets.
  • Add to that London is only 90 minutes by train. It can take you longer to commute from the burbs of London to the centre.

I started off this post with a painting so you might think I studied painting and that is sort of correct but I didn't begin that way. I did an undergrad degree in neurophysiology specializing in neurogenesis. Although I found that academically interesting I found that I couldn't deal with the practical side so that was the end of that. I then did a masters in Fine Art and had a studio on the South Bank of the Thames when it was uber-cool to do so. Did a lot of posing - like you do ...cough. It was fashionable at the time for the financial sector to employ artists as analysts as they thought that artists (especially ones with a scientific background like me) could offer an alternative perspective on the financial markets. Within a few years I got parcelled off to Japan for the simple reason that they knew I had a Japanese girlfriend and that I had lived there before. Cue their plans for for a Japanese office going up in smoke and me deciding to stay for a while. I pretty much multi-tasked while I was there doing everything from work in patent attorneys, promote and organise gigs for European bands, work on early LMSes and LCMSes, international legal research, company formation, business consulting, etc. I even wrote the marketing slogan for Nissan Diesel which appeared in all their adverts for about 4 years -

Nissan Diesel - Driving Innovation

think about it.....

As you can see I'm a bit of a jack of all trades and master of none. That extends to everything that I do. I rush to learn about things I don't know about knocking off the top three or four layers before moving on.

I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.
Pablo Picasso

G_5597.pngTiger and Salt Cellar

And here is some beer that I brewed. I drank it - all gone - yum! I plan to make cider (hard cider) too. I have about 14 apple trees on the edge of the city and next year there should be enough to make a big batch. Am going to be making a press with a friend over the winter ....or possibly spring. See how it turns out. I've been collecting rare apple scions and grafting them to rootstocks to that I can guerilla plant them on brown land throughout the city. Give it a few years and there will be orchards where factories and docks used to be. I've also been planting willow and hazel which can be used for basketry and fencing. Willow and hazel fencing is so much nicer than concrete and brick. I also scatter calendula around - they self seed and It makes for a really beautiful "weed" - like giant orange daisies.

I'm a big music fan - pretty eclectic in my tastes and like most genres. At school and college played in bands, originally as a bassist and later a singer - ended up organising events and doing distribution in Japan for European bands in my spare time. it's hard to pick out a favourite band. I tend to like individual tracks rather than just favour a band. I don't really want to put a list of things I really like as I feel I would be doing certain songs I like a disjustice. there is one song that I think sums up a lot of genres really well and that is Rock and Roll Queen by The Subways. It is short so it is is pop, it has clichéd lyrics, it has noisy guitars so it is rock, it is singalongable after one listen, you can go wild to it and you can dance to it. Simple and hypnotic. Whatever you do don't ever listen to any live versions of it as they make it into a 10 minute track and it destroys what makes it good - A yell of "I'm alive - Weeeeeeeeee!"



And to finish here is a list of my favorite books

  • Foucault's Pendulum - Umberto Eco
  • The Master and Margarita - Mikhail Bulgakov
  • The Most Beautiful Woman in Town - Charles Bukowski.
  • The Doctor Strangelove Game - Paul Strathern
  • Excession - Iain M Banks
  • Paddington at Large - Michael Bond.

All the books (except Paddington ofc) are pretty hard to get into but once you get past the first chapter I found they draw you in.

IMG_5641.png
Books I like

Feel free to ask me things in the comments as I find that responding to questions is easier than writing a post.

Sort:  

You wrote that marketing slogan for Nissan? You clever sod. Carry on the good work with your guerilla planting, old bean.

Well it was Nissan Diesel which is actually a different company and only part owned by Nissan. Other owners were Volvo, Renault and Seat. They didn't export to Europe or the States. The only market outside Asia was South America. Interesting though They had a race circuit for testing trucks and I got to see the iron foundry where they would cast the engine blocks. I did do some work for Nissan itself though.

That is a really great introduction. So many awesome places. I'm stuck here in the boring old US. :)

Well I have never even visited the US so I can't comment on that. I do have a lot of American friends because of my time in Japan though.

Wow.

I'm reading, thinking "cool, someone who knows neuroscience"... and then I'm reading about fine arts degrees, then financial markets, marketing.....

I suspect I'm going to find a lot of what you do interesting. Especially since Foucault's Pendulum is one of your fave books.... Eco was a genius.

Looking forward to reading more from you.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Yeah I spread myself a bit thin. Bit of a flake really. Thanks for the positive take though :D


Welcome to Steem @sugarfix.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem sugarfix! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome ( well you were already here but its Nice 😬) To the Steemit platform, you are a steemian now. I am warm welcoming you as a new user.
As a Jack off trades too its Nice to learn There are more jacks on the steemisfere. Ehhh you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!
I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor. You say you rather respond in the comments but your blog was super sp I would do both!
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours ! Please for safety tips read and visit the white paper.
To easy post use Partiko and to control your account use Steemify.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
It gives you insight on what is happening in your account.
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt

Haha - yeah thanks. I haven't made that many posts but just the same people were hassling me to make a intro post and I was putting it off.

I never use a phone for anything though.

quite a scary depiction of yourself. i dunno anything about painting but kinda looks like a troubled mind 😦
anyways are you japanese? or the other way around, british born in japan?

No I'm not japanese. I'm a European mutt. Tokyo was, however, the longest I have lived anyplace. Art and arts in general are just a catharsis.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sugarfix from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.