Stranger in a Steem World: Introducing @sunny-d-light

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

20170722_193212.jpg

Hello Steemit

Why are penguins socially awkward? They find it difficult to break the ice.

And like a socially awkward penguin, this is my attempt to break the ice.

My name is Sunny, and I'm a software developer in San Diego, CA. I love working with technology and teaching others as I advance my craft. In my spare time, I teach introductory classes in html/css/javascript and help organize local meetup events.

I sustained an injury in my neck 2 years ago, and since then I've experienced nearly constant migraines due to a bulged disc. It makes it difficult to go out and have fun in a traditional sense, as I'm sensitive to loud noises and bright lights. I can't stand or sit in a chair without neck support for extended periods of time. Sometimes even making simple conversation is a struggle.

I'm joining the Steemit community in the hopes that it will help create a new focus in my life. Chronic pain can be incredibly isolating and I've lost touch with many friends because I can't do "normal activities". But in this process I'm discovering new things that I love: gentle yoga, working in the garden, playing with our cat. It's forcing me to slow down and find a new outlook. I'm hoping to share my experiences during this process and perhaps find a few others going through similar circumstances.

I'm engaged to @ryanarcher and together we have recently dived into the cryptocurrency realm, which occupies most of our time. We hope that once my neck gets better we can travel the world together. He's an incredibly supportive lover and best friend. I'm very lucky to share my life with him.

Here are some other things about me (in no particular order):

  • I love cheesy puns - the cheesier the better
  • I'm an avid fan of video games, sci-fi and anime
  • I've been told that I make intense eye contact

I'm fairly active online, so you're welcome to find me on Facebook or Twitter.

Cheers!

Here is a picture of me and my fiance @ryanarcher
13100727_10156863355490483_1806219428223826439_n.jpg

Spinning fire at Burning Man (2012)
59319_10150251932305483_7866059_n.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit sunndy D. You're going to love it!

G'day @sunny-d-light! Welcome to the platform :]

Welcome to Steem @sunny-d-light I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome Sunny-d-light to Steemit! Glad to see you. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Hey Sunny!!! love your post. The eyes are indeed intense! And so is that smile, and that soul of yours. Love ya gurl and welcome to steemit!!

For a moment I was like "woah, this post is getting weirdly specific" -- then I realized I knew you! Love you too ❤

haha... that's exactly what I was going for, (that pause for "wtf", and then a "oh, it's just you". <3

Great to see you on this platform. 😍

Welcome to Steemit, Best of luck to you and you blog.

Welcome to steemit hopefully you feel at home here and hopefully you can add a new color here with the post that you will share it later on my stemit.folle and also upvote saya.semoga you sukse in steem

Welcome to Steemit Sunny, I hope you get rid of neck pain soon and then can travel the world with Ryan. Followed.

I am excited to read your future posts. Good luck and welcome! Please consider checking my posts @nakedchef89.

great to see you come and joint me

Welcome and have a blast sunny-d-light.

Welcome to Steem @sunny-d-light I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Hello @sunny-d-light. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hey there @sunny-d-light! Welcome to the platform :]

welcome here are few tips to grow ur earnings at steemit
https://steemit.com/blog/@rajag234/here-are-few-tips-to-grow-your-earnings-and-followers-at-steemit
also resteem post that other will also get benefit of these tips

I am excited to read your future posts. Good luck and welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment