Hello World!! Need help with your passwords?

"Hello World." This is the first blog post of my life. At first, I thought I might write about something I love doing, like golfing or surfing or snow skiing....or even cryptocurrencies. But I thought perhaps I might attempt to bring some practical value to the world (boring as that may be to most). I work as a cyber security analyst. Please don't run away yet. I'm not going to commence with technical geek-speak. Security folks already know what I'm bringing to this table. And I'm not writing about security for security people. No I'd rather try to connect with everyone else (despite the not so healthy paranoia that prevents me from posting pictures of myself). However, I will be grateful for any feedback from anyone if it is intended to improve the quality of the content I deliver, without insulting my mom. Now on with the anti-climactic show/first episode.....

Based on my experience there’s a good chance your passwords aren’t very strong. There's an even better chance that you use the same one for many different sites. No surprise that this is not good.....and makes it easier for hackers, phishers, and shady-types to get at your data. Well this unfortunate nuisance will go away in the future (think fingerprint and retinal scanners). But in the mean time I wanted to share a couple of free Password Management tools that will make your life much easier while keeping you more secure. What do they do? In short, they generate strong, random passwords that you don't have to remember. They store those passwords using strong encryption (AES-256 for those of you who give a rats ass). And they make it easy for you to copy and paste your passwords in a more secure manner (deletion from clipboard in 30 seconds). Ultimately you can store all your passwords in one secure place so that you'll only have a single "Master Password" to remember. There are other options out there. And I encourage you to check them out. But if you'd like a quick and easy recommendation that will get the job done, then check out these two popular free options:

KeePass:
http://keepass.info/

Lastpass:
https://www.lastpass.com/

I_like_booze.jpg
This is QR language for "I like booze"

Sort:  

Nice post! Thanks for offering tips with passwords!

Wow you're a fast reader. Ha ha. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Congratulations @sv67216721! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to Steemit Land!

Thanks. Great to be here.

Congratulations @sv67216721! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Lastpass isn't that good . They have been on news more than once for the bad reasons

I don't use third part apps because I'm paranoid. Instead, I use different templates following a pattern only I know. Then I use even more complicated passwords for the most important credentials. :)

More power to ya man. I'm only partially paranoid, but very lazy. Ha ha. For example, one thing I like about KeePass is that when you copy and paste your passwords, they are automatically cleared from the clipboard in about 30 seconds. This is something I would have to do manually if I was copying from a text file.

Loading...