Newbie Newbness! Hi all!

Hi all you Steemians!

I am, of course, a complete newb to Steem, and thus this #introduceyourself post.

My interests vary far and wide, a challenge to somehow categorize them all in a functional manner... is a worthwhile occupation, but for my chaotic side telling me to just go with it and see what happens... so maybe it is more like a pastime...sometimes.

TBoan-1.jpg

I have an Anthropology BA, and an Interdisciplinary Studies: Ethnobotany BS. Two things I think are worth anything at all… all things wilderness and ecoculture (http://www.ecoculturevillage.org)… and well, RPGs (http://www.ttsrr.org)… and skateboarding! So, what’s up!?

How else would I best describe myself? I am a severely under-funded superhero and/or vigilante. Wait, that's not entirely legal. So, no, not that! But something along the lines of making the world a better place to be reincarnated into... and for complete newb souls too... how appropriate for an #introduceyourself post. Yeah, that sounds about right!

Anyhow, I have several online works in progress... most can be accessed here: http://www.tboanprods.com/. Please be patient with my struggle to define myself. I am and most likely will forever be... a work in progress.

IMG_0113.JPG

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/tboanprods. This is all about edutainment on a variety of topics including:

games
gardening
philosophy
survival
weirdness

Although I am really very shy, and it is barriers like these... shyness, perfectionist thinking, self-doubt, etc.... that keep me humble... ? Not sure exactly. But I like to make people laugh (or at least think) whilst I try and share what seems to me to be my subjective understanding of things. I know. Impossible! Contradictory! Well, what else is new? I will try anyway. That said... enough said about my awkwardness of self. I'm glad to be here. Right here. Right now. With all of you.

Oh, and here is what I look like with a beard, at least according to a sketch portrait artist acquaintance of mine...

Troy.jpg

Cheers!!!

Sort:  

Thank you to all who have replied. I look forward to learning more about Steemit, and enjoying the wonderful content.

Have fun on your journey, and keep up voting posts and comments you like. The more, the better. You’re not loosing anything and you’re a help to others.

For the start here a few sites you might find interesting:

And last not least, a nice explanation of the complicated reward system:

Will do. Thanks for the links.

Welcome! New here myself and started slow, with the #introduceyourself still pending, so you’re my inspiration now I guess :)

Have a good start, and btw, ist this a shroom on the picture on the wall in the background? As Anthropology and Ethnobotany BA, waiting here to read some interesting stories soon. Upvoted and Followed!

Thank you! And funny you should ask about the image, is it a shroom? What you see is a guy in an Asian hat, but here is the rest of the image... wallah! He is admiring a cluster of shrooms! I follow you too.

IMG_0116.JPG

This piece, as well as the portrait, is by Chris Lollar. Seems he changed his name again. https://www.facebook.com/chrismvolar/

Tnx for the info, will look up the fella :)
...although, no Facebook here :/

lol, nice coincidence! :D
I’ve spend almost two years in Wudang Shan in a Daoist monastery at the foot of the mountain and watched often the old priests walking the mountains, collecting their medicine... Good thing the past regimes could not exterminate all of them, as we have pretty much done in the West - so much natural wisdom lost... a shame.

It is a shame, truly. I spent 2 months in the Philippines many years. I learned quite a bit about their culture, although much... far too much, is Westernized. This documentary film ( http://www.ecoculturevillage.org/hedonic/write-up-on-bendum-in-the-heart-of-mindanao/ ) is why I was there.

Nice, congrats on the ecoculturevillage.org as well - may it grow and prosper! We need more projects like this. In Europe, there is a similar project called Eurotopia: http://eurotopia.de

You might want to check out or visit one day. The community is very active with hundreds of small places all over Europe.

Hello and welcome dear new Steemian :) . Looks like you are interesting person. I look up at your YT. I hope you will have nice posts here :)
All the best in your careers.
Following, upvoting.
Peter

Thank you! I follow you too.

welcome to steemit. I hope you will enjoy your account and keep posting your original content and the nice photos :)

Thanks. I sure will. And I plan to share many nice photos.

Welcome to steemit! Learn and keep sharing. Cheers @tboanprods!

Welcome to steemit! Have a nice weekend discovering this platform :)

Welcome to Steemit, friend. It's great to have you here. Explore and have fun while we blog. @greatness96