You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I put a dog on a coin and the rest is history - hey Steemit!

Jackson I think you are spot-on that everything blockchain is going to have to get a lot simpler before critical mass/mass adoption can happen for anything blockchain. No doubt that people would be as carried away as myself with blockchain innovation, and the excitement that it brings to one daily once a point of entry is discovered, if one could just get started. I definitely think that Steem has been the easiest application yet for me to 'get' (and with which to get started) in the blockchain space. One can jump right in and participate in an activity that is fun and rewarding without having to understand Bitcoin, cryptocurrencies, or blockchain technology generally. Steem is thus a gateway into this new world for 'non-technical' types, and I think that understanding of the blockchain space may happen somewhat passively for folks if they can just find a place to fit in and express themselves without having to 'wrap their head around' something so different from what they are used to. Please forgive me if I am off-topic or have no idea what I am talking about as I am truly a neophyte with all of this, but I am more excited now than I have been since the arrival of the Mosaic browser ( and the world wide web). What an amazing time to be alive!

Sort:  

You're absolutely right, it takes use cases like Steem to get people into crypto without putting the monetary/crypto component right in their faces... in this case it's about great content, in other cases it could be things like identity management, inventory management etc. There are lots of potential use cases that don't revolve around "make money with money hackers use" which is what the mass market perceives Bitcoin as. :)

oh man...you really need to look at the graphene toolkit that was used to build steem. You obviously also need to speak with @dantheman directly about DACs as you are just smacking the nail directly on its head with every post...