Hello, I am Tejo Philips an Artist from The Hauge, Holland.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello all! 

My name is Tejo Philips.

I was introduced by friends of mine: @eindbas and @beervangeer to steemit and what I have seen so far is that steemit is the ideal platform to share some of my art and experiences.

Let me tell you a little bit about myself and what I do. I'm an artist who lives and works in The Hague and Amsterdam, Holland. I prefer to work with clay and my themes derive from the everyday madness of our lives with a cartoonish and a funny touch. 

I was born in 1960 in Den Helder, Holland, were I lived with my family until we moved to Maastricht, South Limburg. At a young age, I had a great interest in drawing and other forms of art and after I left high school, I applied successfully to the Academy for Fine Arts in Leuven, Belgium.
  The first two years there, I took classes in drawing and painting, but in the third year I switched to sculpture and ceramics. After three years, I left the academy in Leuven and moved to Amsterdam, were I continued my study at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy. At Rietveld I further specialized in creating sculptures with the material clay and after five years of hard work I successfully graduated.

(me at Rietveld)

Exhibitions

Throughout the years, I was invited by several art exhibitions at home and abroad. A few of my most memorable exhibitions were held in the Franshals museum, museum Prinsenhof, Gallery Vanparijs, lnstituzione Museo lnternationale Della Ceramiche Faenza (Italy) and the museum in The Hague.

Here is a little impression of some my exhibitions.  
 

Keep swinging 

An exhibition about ordinary objects that are always in motion, such as dancing dustpans, coffeepots and shoes. 

                  

            

Street paranoia

Around the beginning of the new millennium, I decided to do something different and began experimenting with sculptures in water.

 

Fuping 

In 2008, I was invited with other artists to create art for a museum in Fuping, China, only a few miles away from the famous Terracotta army. The group of artists consisted of only sculptors and each of us had exactly one month to create a piece of art. The goal of the museum is to have art from every country in the world, so that they can introduce Chinese people to different art styles.
 

For my sculpture, I drew inspiration from Chinese folklore combined with my personal style and created my biggest wall sculpture to date. 

                                  

                                    


Lost in translation 

My latest exhibition took place in the museum of the Hague, were I created several smaller sculptures, a typography of organic and mechanical forms, and used them to create a wall of text of sculptured language, clayed to prose or poetry, which can be translated into anyone’s imagination.

                  

                         


If you’d like to know more about me, feel free to check out my website! 

www.tejophilips.nl

I hope you enjoyed my first post!

See you all later!  

 




 

Sort:  

Like i said before, awesome work my friend !

Hello and welcome my friend

This is really great stuff, Tejo! Welcome to Steemit, I hope to see you post more.

Congratulations @tejophilips! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tejophilips! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tejophilips! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!