Greetings! (Ramblings on a Humid Summer Weekend!)

kristopher-roller-188180.jpg
(credit to Kristopher Roller for this awesome photo on Unsplash)

Greetings!

I thought it was high time that I dipped my toe into the proverbial waters and introduce myself!

So excited! I almost ventured into blogging a few years ago, but admit that when social media came, I became more of an avid reader / watcher (OK, I suppose I was a "lurker").

BUT I figured this is a great (fun!) platform to be able to mix the two together! (I promise, I will comment, add positivity, and not just "lurk") :) Pinky promise!

Anyhoo - although I'm a integrative family practice doctor, I'm much much more!

Yes, I do talk about health - oftentimes from a slightly different standpoint (think, integrative, functional medicine, effects of stress, real food - aka, not everything is solved with a "pill")... (currently my day job)

I love cooking (just call me a "home chef") - although this is much more fun when I have time on the weekends.

Newbie gardener (fingers crossed)

Absolutely ADORE mangos (yep, the tropical fruit) and practically every other tropical / exotic fruit! (mangosteen! lychees! jackfruit! durian!! (be prepared to run away the first ten times you try this. I believe it took me 5 times to love it), sugar apples, guava...) (ooh - getting ideas for other posts here!)

Addicted to foodie / travel videos on YouTube! (yep, it's true...where does the evening go?)

Dream of visiting Thailand, Singapore, night markets of Taiwan...and more!


How'd I get to this point? (this may be the boring bit)

  • I burned out from practicing "traditional family medicine" for over 10 years in an inner city clinic (Even though the Puerto Rican food was awesome, and I did at times enjoy being called "la doctora").

  • Walked away and had what I suppose we'll call a "mid life crisis". (My family is still cringing that this ever happened.)

  • Thought I would never practice medicine again...

  • Sunk a bunch of money into a mind body medicine course (that really wasn't all that I thought it was)

  • Revamped my entire house (sunk more money!) and realized that I may have been a wee bit of a hoarder with over 100 pairs of pants / jeans (oh dear, I still can't believe that)

  • Traveled to Argentina / Uruguay

  • Helped friends start an organic ranch (yes, still in the process)

  • Returned to medicine "my way" (let's be honest, shall we say, "ran out of money"?) - which has led me into the field of integrative medicine (combining traditional western medicine with a whole body, functional mindset" - all while trying to avoid burnout again.


Nevertheless I am so excited to meet everyone!

Lots to share, lots to see, lots to learn (I have 5 tabs open on how to use the Markdown Editor as we speak!)

Onwards and upwards!

IMG_2883.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @teresachang I have sent you a tip

Thank you @bottymcbotface! I didn't even realize what a tip meant (I thought it was advice and I was waiting for a message!)

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Looking forward to it! Thanks!

Welcome to Steemit @teresachang :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Thanks @khunfarang! Looking forward to seeing your blogs!

Welcome to Steemit @teresachang!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome!

Why thank you havok777! Thanks for commenting! So exciting!

Hi
Welcome to steemit community and
Struggling steadily
I wish you success
And if you are rich then I hope you do not forget me
I have followed you and visited my blog
If you question and want to help

Thank you @putrakhan for your lovely reply!

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

QUICK TIPS FOR NEWBIES
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you

 

Thanks @tinashe for the great tips!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to steemit !! Followed. Follow me back 😘