A Life-Giving Visit to Arches National Park, Utah

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I am a dad on the road. A road dad. And I have a thing for ancient trees. It's true. (The last photograph will prove it.)

Todd and Julie.jpg

For the past 6 1/2 months, my family and I (wife and two kiddos) have been traveling North America in an RV and hitting literally every single national park we can make our way to.

Sure, there are some visits to major cities mixed in there as well. But the parks. The parks are what keep me going. The parks breathe new life into me each and every time. The parks are truly the lifeblood of our travels.

Arches NP-1.jpg
Delicate Arch at Sunset

I don't leave a national park, or any experience with nature, without stopping and saying a verbal "Thank You" to the place. Why? It just feels like the right thing to do.

And lately, I've found myself putting my hands together in front of me, closing my eyes and slightly bowing as I say my "Thank You".

I am deeply connected to these sacred places and right now that just feels like the appropriate response to the overwhelming privilege of getting to explore and absorb the beauty and wonder they hold.

Arches NP-5.jpg
Double O Arch with Son

Arches National Park just outside of Moab, Utah was no exception. We had a couple of days in December 2017 to get out and see the glorious sights that Arches boasts. We made many memories during our time there and hiked quite a few miles, but the highlight would have to be the sunset hike to Delicate Arch.

This is all I can say: If you get a chance to visit this arch at sunset, do it! And if you can do it in December, even better! That picture up at the top of this article, without any people in it, would never be possible during the busier summer months.

So put on a couple extra layers of clothing, pack a thermos of coffee or hot chocolate, and hit the trail to Delicate Arch as soon as you can. It's only about 3 miles round trip from the parking lot, but it has some pretty steep terrain to tackle so you will get a good cardio session in.

Arches NP-7.jpg
Double O Arch with both Sons

Arches National Park has its own unique character and mystery that will absolutely keep you coming back for more.

Just one more reason, one more opportunity, to stop and say "Thank You" in this glorious life we have all been given.

Arches NP-9.jpg
Ancient tree I fell in love with near Landscape Arch

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! I'm very interested in #vanlife so have followed. Also, I'd love to hear more about your sacred practices! Lovely photies by the way! Kate

Thank you for your interest, Kate, and glad you have enjoyed so far. More to come on all fronts!

Welcome to the Steemit Community! You and your family are on an adventure of a life time. I am looking forward to posts where you share these experiences. Upvoted, following and resteemed.

Thanks so much! Appreciate your support and looking forward to sharing and following you as well.

You are welcomed, you and your family

Thanks very much! Happy to be here.

You're welcome

welcome to the platform todd. how did you find steemit?

Thank you teamhumble! I owe my presence here on Steemit to my son, @josiahthomas , who started researching cryptos and the rabbit hole led here. Appreciate your support very much.

woa.. look at the way that bad boy twists and flows, its almost like water, yet harder than other trees that don't have time at their backs-

Lovely post and welcome to steemit, nice to meet a fellow nature lover!

Thank you dayleeo! Very happy to be here. That tree was really something else and put a nice big smile on my face. Nature has a way of doing that to me. Appreciate your support!

That's the best feeling. I know exactly what you mean. Time in nature charges up the batteries for me for sure <3

This is awesome. My mom also has a thing for national parks. Which one is your favorite? Not that I've been to many national parks but I really loved Glacier National Park. I look forward toward seeing your adventures on Steemit.

Thanks mikeycolon! Your mom is a smart woman. :) We have seen quite a few parks in this six months, but Glacier is always at the top of my list. We spent about a week there back in July exploring and hiking from both the west and east entrances. And I WILL go back there for more. What a sensational experience! (Yosemite and Crater Lake are right up there at the top as well.) Thanks for your support.