Peace be with you Steemit! - @TheCoffeeJesus here to deliver you from bad espresso!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

thecoffeejesus.jpg

I’m Here to Talk About Coffee, Crypto, and Poems!

My name is Christopher Tavolazzi.
I’m a barista at an independent coffee shop in Chico, CA called The Naked Lounge. I’ve even appeared on our Instagram a few times!
I’m new to Steemit and cryptocurrency in general. @max-infeld introduced me to Steemit and I’m really excited to participate here. I see Steemit as a really cool community of people trying something new, and I want to be a part of it!
I’m here to talk about making coffee, to share some poems I’ve written, and to help make Steemit better and brighter.


My Details

  • 28 years old
  • California born-and-raised
  • Single
  • Moderate
  • Speak: English and some Spanish
  • Half of the radical band Buttknuckle
  • Former tour guide at Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
  • Total nerd - I wrote a Magic: The Gathering strategy guide
  • Studying to become a real estate agent
  • Bachelor’s degree in journalism
  • I have a cat named Lucifer

IMG_20170717_193549_020.jpg
Lucifer, aka "Lucy"

Some Of My Favorite Things

  • Stand-up Comedians: Dave Chappelle, Bill Burr, George Carlin, John Mulaney, Maria Bamford, Kevin Hart, Eddie Murphy, Jim Gaffigan, Ari Shaffir, Bo Burnham, Judd Apatow…
  • Books: Fortunately the Milk, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, A Prayer for Owen Meany, The Picture of Dorian Grey, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, The Alchemist
  • Favorite Drink on a Cold Winter Night: Hot Toddy (yum)
  • Favorite Coffee: Fable Coffee's "Ethiopian Guji" - located in Grass Valley, CA

More About Me

I grew up in the pretty conservative and religious city of Redding in Northern California. I spent almost every day of my youth outside, either hiking, camping, hunting or fishing.
I was raised in the Church and went to private school through 8th grade. My dad gave me a choice when I entered high school and I chose to go public.
I was confronted with worldviews and experiences outside the church, and like most conservative white people it kind of broke my brain. I spent a few years exploring what my teachers referred to as “diversity” and the rest of the world referred to as “normal life” and eventually rejected the Church. My religious beliefs are now almost non-existent.
Now I spend my time working, studying, and making music with my friends. I enjoy learning and exploring. You can find me in the coffee shop about five-six hours a day, every day. When I'm not there I'm either reading or visiting somewhere I've never been before.


So where does @thecoffeejesus come from? Well, I look pretty much just like white Jesus:


IMG_20160926_152810.jpg
My "Self Portrait"

...and I work in an independent coffee shop:


IMG_20170620_082443_844-1.jpg
This is the photo I use for real estate professional stuff.


Last year I spent two months living out of my car and traveling to over a dozen national parks. I visited Bryce Canyon, Zion, Calsbad Caverns, and so many more. It was such an awesome experience that I'm saving money to do it again.


IMG_20161216_080219.jpg
My setup last year. The blue netting used to hold my Beanie Babies.


As my experience with Steemit grows, and the community gives feedback, I plan on refining what I do here. I hope we can all grow together!

Photo on 2-23-18 at 12.22 PM.jpg
I’m looking forward to getting to know you all. Seize the moment and Steem on!

Sort:  

Haha man, love that intro :D And yeah, you kinda look like Jesus!
I would love to go on a trip in such a camper - hopefully you will bring up a detailed trip report about it!
Resteeming you for some publicity!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you so much!!! I'll start working on a detailed trip recap for you.
If you wanna go you can. Each month I only spent about $1000 - mostly on gas and food - which is less than my normal monthly living expenses.
I'll let you know when the article is ready :) Thanks so much for the support


Welcome to Steem @thecoffeejesus.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to steemit @thecoffeejesus. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

I love your blog already! I watched a ted talks about how long after roasting coffee needs to be served, went and got real fresh roasted coffee from a real coffee shoppe and ive been a true die hard coffee an ever since cant wait for what you have to talk about!

Thanks @dizzyjay!
Coffee freshness is a serious thing. Most people drink coffee that's been roasted and ground a long time ago. As you know, the fresher the better!
Thank you for the support!

From what the documentary said. Coffee is essentially dead 8 days after roast. If thats the case. Over 180 active chemicals that make coffee so good are gone before we ever even get to try them buying storebought :/

That's true!

Unless it's stored in a vacuum sealed container, with no air going in or out, the complex flavor and aroma compounds start to break down and dissipate very quickly. The best, best best best cup of coffee you can possibly have would be roasted and prepared in the field, immediately after the drying process is finished. I've never had coffee like this, but I've heard that it's incredible.

Since most people don't have a coffee farm in their back yard, going for the freshest coffee possible will give you the tastiest cup. Look for the roasting date - the closer to roasting your beans are, the better your coffee will taste.

Lots of coffee snobs will tell you to throw out beans roasted more than a week ago and I have mixed feelings on that. While it's not going to taste as good, older beans are still ok to drink. Don't let any snob ever dictate what you're allowed to enjoy. Whether it be coffee, beer, whatever - drink what you like drinking.

Thanks, cheers!

Haha great intro! Welcome to Steemit! Two questions: what kind of music does ButtKnuckle play, and (assuming your family is still religious) how much do they love your jesus-style?

Hi! Thank you!
Buttknuckle is honestly mostly friends messing around. It's very experimental and blends genres with the goal of being a collaborative musical experience.
We're working on a disco-country album as our EP, and already have a few tracks laid out for our next album, a rap-funk-blues sampler :)
As for the jesus-style...let's just say I don't get too far into family gatherings without hearing someone tell me to cut my hair.
Cheers!

Haha nice! Let us know if you post some of your music :)

Welcome to Steemit @thecoffeejesus!

I write a weekly curation blog that features new Steemians, I'd love to mention your blog if that is ok with you!

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community on Discord Chat where you can chat, learn, and network with other Steemians!

Hi! Yes that would be amazing! Feel free to mention my blog.
I'm looking forward to digging into your content, it seems like you really know what you're doing. I'm also really excited to get to know the Steemit community. This place feels really interesting, and very personal.
Cheers! Thanks for the support!

Greeting from venezuela! i really have fun with your post! i guess you should be call JESUS CRIPTO!!! jajajaja

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!
I heard your president asked your banks to mine cryptocurrency. That's wild!

Hello :) I'm byungchan from south korea
I hope i can make global friendship with you as Mutual followers
I just follow you :)
if you want know about me check this out
my introduceyourself
Thank you ^^

Hello! :)
I read your intro post. You're a good looking man!
I saw you like to sing! Me too! What song makes you feel really happy?
Hope you're doing well, thanks for commenting!

haha i usually sing love song <^^ balad~
what about you ?^^

I love singing old soul music :) Sam Cooke, Al Green, The Temptations - all favorites :) :) Do you have a love ballad that you listen to more than others?

Love your post :)
Following you for more.

the best part of the entire post is Lucifer btw, he is just beautiful. I have a little lady who looks just like him :)

Thank you!
Lucifer is such a wonderful part of my life. I call her Lucy :) She actually just showed up at my apartment one day out of the blue and stuck around. I'm so lucky :)

Haha mine was an abandoned stray too. Found her outside the supermarket and now she just won't leave. Cats are amazing !
Ps. apologies for assuming she's a he :)

It's ok! Lucifer is a pretty boy-cat name. I chose it because I could call her Lucy and tell people it's short for Lucifer :) That's so cute that you found her outside a supermarket!

Hi @thecoffeejesus, welcome to steemit..it will take a bit long time to fully unferstand this platform..do it for long term and enjoy..nice to know you..hope that you will get success in this platfotm..cheers bro..👏💖

Thank you!
I'm excited to learn more about Steemit. It seems like a really cool platform. I'm looking forward to getting to know it more and more.

Great post, welcome to the steem blockchain!

Thanks! Sorry I misspelled your Steem name. Thank you so much for the introduction to Steemit!

Nice intro post, I think I would have the same comedians in my favorites, except maybe Lewis Black would definitely be in there. Look forward to seeing more of you posts.

If you are interested in cryptocurrency check out my last post https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@byzantinehash/old-doge-s-can-do-new-tricks-for-hooters-coins.
Be sure to follow @ByzantineHash if you want to see more like it.

Hey, pssst.

Hello Christopher welcome to the community of Steemit ❤ Great post.
I must say that I loved your #Introduceyourself is great for me to read the "presentations" of the other new Steemians like me on this platform ... Thank you for taking the time to write about yourself, about your life and let me know a part of what you are. I hope to read more about you soon, as well as I hope you can succeed in this social network.
By the way, I want to take this opportunity to tell you that, like you, I'm also new to this platform and I made my first post, I would greatly appreciate it if you read it and if you like it, give me a vote, comment something, give me resteem or follow me, I'll do the same if you want.
Without further ado, I say goodbye. I remain attentive to your next publications. 💋
@Mjzo here to support you in what you need. Regards!

Hi @thecoffeejesus! Really liked The Picture of Dorian Grey as well, so I know you're going to be awesome already =) Followed and resteemed.