Truly a pleasure to meet you all

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone I'm new to Steemit and wanted to introduce myself properly .


I moved to japan almost six years ago and have been struggling to find my place in this culture for a long time. Last year I opened a small English school and have spent the last year remodeling and renovating, it has also allowed me to grow in many ways as a father, as a teacher and, most importantly as a human being.
I have lost some of myself living here but have gained so much more. I consider myself a multifaceted person with many varied interests , though most often I find myself doing self improvement and home improvement projects. I like to keep my hands busy with projects and hope to share some of them with you, hopefully in the process generating some extra income to help me see some of my many ideas through to completion.
hello.jpg
seeing as I'm new here I'm going to take my time and learn my way around, but starting off id like to share one of my projects from last year.

Bamboo Herb garden afternoon project

I didn't get photos of cutting the bamboo or binding it together as i wish i had, but for reference i used stainless deck screws and #9 wire.
There are better options but i was in a rush and didn't take as much time as i should have.

1549942820996960654-account_id=1.jpg

658478050244418591-account_id=1.jpg

So it was a rush job partly cause I was bored and had extra energy and the lovely wife had been bugging me for an herb garden for a while.
(1.) Starting off choose the poles you want to use and cut them to even lengths and keep in mind where the cell ends are as you don't want to have a long bit of cell on an end of the pole or you're wasting space and material.
(side note: I made drinking cups and vases from the cutoff ends and gave them away as gifts.)

(2.) Once I got the bamboo cut and arranged in a way that suited me, i used the smaller tops from the same poles as legs and bracing for the frame, using 120mm deck screws to hold them together I then used the wire, pliers and a screwdriver to strengthen the joints
(bamboo splits easy and screws can cause a split that offers little strength, pre-drilling a hole helps reduce the chance of splitting but its better to bind the bamboo from without and use pegs or screws to give it a fulcrum point to stop shifting or rolling while you're binding the poles together.)

(3.) Next get out your hand saw and start making your cuts to create the pots for your herbs of choice.

3370588753773081885-account_id=1.jpg

3183077628572350780-account_id=1.jpg

2940958961048962808-account_id=1.jpg

(4.) Using a hammer and chisel I remove the cell wall. use caution or gloves at this point bamboo splinters are fine and can cut like a razorblade.

1191670306107192467-account_id=1.jpg

1150250705334888083-account_id=1.jpg

7765309823762306957-account_id=1.jpg

7765309823762306957-account_id=1.jpg

1256439804846703637-account_id=1.jpg

5118248496751725642-account_id=1.jpg

(5.) Using a hacksaw, a rigid cutting knife and wood chisel we clean up the edges and give ourselves a less prickly work surface.

5238503984127494358-account_id=1.jpg

6340370815054517958-account_id=1.jpg

2809369635988070612-account_id=1.jpg

8188151386668714362-account_id=1.jpg

4950704009396673202-account_id=1.jpg

6142237673185978233-account_id=1.jpg

much better.

(6.) Next using a conical wood rasp bit for my power drill i round out the edges and smooth them further making a splinter free edge on the "pots".

2094447340478495941-account_id=1.jpg

377964027829725623-account_id=1.jpg

467164320685781574-account_id=1.jpg

It's coming along nicely. Repeat the previous steps until all the cells have been opened up and you're ready to move on to the next step.

1434396580435990150-account_id=1.jpg

392707994160674338-account_id=1.jpg

(7.) using the wood chisel again we knock out drainage holes between the cells and ends.
(Alternatively you can drill a hole in the bottom of each pot and use a bit of plastic or fiberglass screen to keep your soil from washing out over time.) I didn't use screens or drill holes in the bottom and the soil i used became too sodden and drown out some of my plants. hindsight is 20/20 so its best to put a thumb sized hole in the bottom of each cell with screen and/or use light arable potting soil .

2425483550983158416-account_id=1.jpg

4502399590907410367-account_id=1.jpg

thats about it. things turned out passable though i wasn't happy with the alignment of the lowest pole and i could have done a few things differently. but there's lots of bamboo and lots of time ahead so, i may do another one in the future and spend a little more time working on the details. here are the end results before and after planting.

2063941173478176136-account_id=1.jpg

6153737692110473891-account_id=1.jpg

5455198794548272627-account_id=1.jpg

If you've reached this point of my post then i must thank you whole heartedly for taking the time to read my first Steemit contribution.
If you have any questions about my work or suggestions of how i can do things differently or any ideas you'd like to see me include in some of my future projects please let me know in the comments and follow if you enjoy what i do.


"I think that at the heart of every person there is a creator and many of us hold ourselves back from our full potential by limiting our own knowledge to what is comfortable, convenient or socially expected; to what we have or have not been taught.
It is my opinion that it's usually best to go your own way, with the advice of trusted friends and family to guide you and to keep in mind the only thing stopping us from doing something beautiful is often ourselves. Have confidence, believe in your dreams keep yourself motivated and do what makes you feel happy and fulfilled."

Joy and Peace be with you all and thank you again for reading.
@thediyguy.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Welcome to Steemit! A very good first Post 👍

Loading...

hi @thediyguy welcome to steemit! Enjoyed reading the post and looking at the bamboo herb garden. Great work your doing in Japan and the self improvement projects. @cleverbot this is a nice introduction post.

welcome to Steemit! very nice to meet you :) the device you've made is really something!

Welcome :-) following your blog. I love diy

thank you @digitalplayer i have much more to come when i get a bit more organized at home.

Welcome on Steemit!

I hope that you will participe in our community with pleasure, I was preparing to you some usefull links and tutorials for beginners.

Steemnow - this is website where you can check your Upvote power
Steemnow

SteemFollowers – great website for beginners, you can get Upvote for Upvote
Steemfollowers

Write, read and have fun! :D

Thank you for the support i really appreciate it. I'm really happy to have such a positive community outlet for sharing my ideas and projects. I hope to bring alot of useful and entertaining ideas to my fellow steemians.

Welcome to Steemit :)

thank you! I'm loving it so far never imagined so much positive support in such a short time.

Welcome to steemit sir! I came here via @kafkanarchy84 who mentioned you in one of his posts. I hope you have a blast here on Steemit and meet a lot of new friends.

That's an awesome project you did! It always fascinates me how creative some people can be. Looking forward to more cool DIY projects from you! :)

Thank you very much it feels amazing to be getting such a response from so many kind people.

You welcome @thediyguy to steemit.just a little advice, to succeed here you need a lot of diligence and patience. Enjoy the journey even as the funds flow in. I upvoted you. You can follow me so we can connect. Goodluck

thank you man i really appreciate it.

Awesome dude! First post kickin’ ass! Resteemed!

Thanks @kafkanarchy84 i couldn't have one it without you and @kaliju

Well, what can I say, first post and it's looking pretty darn good :) I'm ready to learn sensei. Your contributions to the ever growing community of Liberty Professionals and Homestead people is beyond welcome. Happy to have you here @thediyguy Resteemed and Upvoted, it's all in the family!

Thank you Brother @kaliju i really am so happy that you introduced me to Steemit

Looking forward to more DIY stuff from you. Saw a nice shout out from Kafka talking about you, welcome to the platform!

thankyou so much @intothewild the supportive attitude of everyone is really breathtaking to me i never imagined an online community being like this. seriously @kafkanarchy84 is great he really helped me out getting to understand the steemit system and really helped push me to decide to actually join up.

Props to you man for heeding his advice and actually doing it :) I can't tell you how many friends I have told to sign up and they just brush it off as nothing. Believe it or not, you're still early to the platform. 25 rep to 49 on your into post? That bodes well for you man, best of luck and keep up the DIY stuff cause I love it!

i gotta give props to @kaliju too he put the idea in my head and introduced me to steemit i was skeptical at first of course but i never expected an afternoon project from a year ago to get such a great response. really feeling the good energy of this community.

@thediyguy, welcome to Steemit!
I am so happy to see you my friend^^

Thank you Darlin'! @hannaju I really appreciate the support!

@thendiyguy, I will always support your post!

Welcome to Steemet
follow me @lomidze

Beautifully written, captivating pictures, awesome post! Welcome to Steemint @thediyguy. I have followed and upvoted your post

Do follow back and check out my posts if its convenient.

thank you so much! the positive feedback is a bit overwhelming ive followed you back and look forward to putting up my next post.

wow bro u got great idea ..

thanks man, feels good to get all this positive feedback.

How are you? Thediyguy, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

thank you for the support and the comment sir. I'm doing really good now i never imagined a community like this online until i saw it with my own eyes.

Welcome to steemit! Hopefull you will enjoy it and the community.

Thanks for share your work with us.

thank you very much! im loving it so far.

This is an awesome project! I respect your craft. If you're interested in a slightly different craft check out my page, I'm a glass blower but would love to learn how to wood work.

Thank you! and i most definitely will check out your posts! i've seen glass blowing done first hand at ren faires and it looks amazing and dangerous. my sister in-law does some beautiful stained glass, i'm interested in all material arts disciplines especially if they involve fire.

Yeah, the fire component is definitely alluring and a lot of fun! You get the occasional burn but overall its not as scary as it looks. I'd definitely recommend giving it a try if you have the chance, it's addictively fun!

a persons gotta love playing with fire and creating something beautiful with the raw elements.

Congratulations @thediyguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome and i love the gardening project.

Nice job. you gave me an idea. tnx

thankyou for the comment and i look forward to seeing what you come up with! i hope you share the results with us.

Nice intro, i like it!welcome to steemit and good luck in your project!

thank you! i have a feeling there will be lots to come in the near future i have a backlog of old projects i can share once i get the photos sorted out a bit more.

great invention boss..i love people doing this

there is more to come, keep checking back im gonna try to get some more projects put up soon.

Hey @thediyguy! Welcome to steemit.

Great post, enjoyed reading it. Looking forward for more so that I can try some DIY things at home.

thank you so much. if you ever have an idea you need any assistance with let me know i love problem solving and helping others realize their own ideas.

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit. @thediyguy
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

thank you i followed you back! i am really feeling the love here on steemit this is just a really great place.

You're doing a good job. Keep going like that.💪

Thankyou sir much appreciated

Welcome to steemit. Hope you can find your success here :)

Thankyou @xyza i hope the same for you!

A new Steemian ^^ hello @thediyguy I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

and i have followed you back, you have some interesting posts ill check them out soon when ive got a bit of reading time. thank you for the follow i really appreciate all the support im getting.

Hello, welcome to the Steemit community, it's really great to have you here with us, i hope you have a great time here and achieve great success.
I would be looking forward to reading more of your post. Interesting introduction you got there and great pictures and skill.
I'm @smartalec, would be great If you could follow back. I have some interesting write ups I'm sure you would or can relate to. Welcome again talk more later.
Cheers

pleasure to meet you. it has been great so far and i am really thinking hard about my next post and look forward to meeting more like minded people.

Hey @thediyguy,

Welcome to this wonderful community.
Steemit is a great place to write, share and connect with other people.

I wish you all the best here.
May your dreams come true.

If you​ have any questions feel free to ask.

All the best :)

thank you so much good sir. It's really blowing my mind how much support my first post is getting. i never expected such a warm welcome.

Excellent post, and you remembered to take a picture of yourself as an intro.. I forgot to do that. Those bamboo are HUGE? It would cost a fortune to buy those here in England. Keep up the great posts!
I may have to use drain pipe for my version :D

pvc pipe would work just fine i think. i would be careful if you use corrogated black plastic drainage pipe like below. though it is probably your least expensive option and it would be strong enough if you got the rigid variety ,but it would most likely cook your plants roots if in full sun for for any length of time. a shaded area would work very well i think and have an interesting industrial look to it.

corrugated-pipes-250x250.jpg

youre best option all around would be white pvc, as my father often used that in his greenhouse it was very similar to this and is often used in professional greenhouses and gardens. though i noticed after a few years time outside in full sun it would sometimes get a chalky coating to it as the outer layers weathered.

maxresdefault.jpg

Thank you for the advice. I used that sort of stuff for a French drain similar to the picture. I will definitely consider it and keep your post in mind. Thank you for the detailed reply.

Welcome to Steemit @thediyguy. Enjoyed reading about the bamboo herb garden project, the way you have explained to us how to make it step by step, thank you. Have fun steeming. :)

thank you i try to be detailed but always feel like I'm forgetting something really excited that so many people are enjoying my post and I'm working hard to decide on my next project post.

Whatever it is just bring it on! Good job buddy.

Welcome to steemit! Well, this is beautiful work! Keep it up!

thank you i really had a slightly different end product in mind but that's part of the beauty of working with natural materials.

Welcome to Steemit! :) The creativity in making those is just awesome! Would love have to one on my home too.

thank you for the warm welcome working with bamboo is a bit different than wood but these are really quite easy to make with just a few simple tools. if they didn't weigh so much i would like to make better quality ones to sell and ship out to other places but green bamboo can be surprisingly heavy.

They are indeed, I have worked on some bamboos when I was a child.

Selamat datang... Saya senang bisa berkenalan dengan anda.
Saya sebagai pemula di steemit. Dan saya merasa sangat senang, bila anda berbagi ilmu dan pengalaman kepada saya.
Terimakasih banyak...
Salam sukses...

Welcome... I am glad to know you. I am a beginner in steemit. And I feel very happy, if you share knowledge and experience to me. Thank you very much... Send regards for success...

thank you for the warm regards, i really appreciate it @muzzakir.jack good luck to you too in all you do.

Welcome to Steemit @thediyguy! That bamboo garden is so creative and innovative! Good job! Hope to see more from you. Goodluck on your steemit journey!

thank you so very much @shairanada

upvoted bro..

thank you kind sir.

ようこそ on Steemit @thediyguy!
Welcome!

Thank you!

It's surprising how you can easily cope with cutting tools... )) I enjoyed studying your post... )

cutting tools are just small chisels or teeth eventually you learn by feel f how much bite each tool has and you get a feel for just how much you need to move the blade to get exactly the cut you want. dumbly i take alot of risks that could end badly for me, but i know my tools and i take care of them and generally i can avoid any injury. in my posts though i want to push safety especially for people who are not familiar with using tools and may over exert themselves or may cause themselves injury because of lack of experience always always err on the side of caution if you're unsure in the very least take extra measures to protect yourself.

I consider myself bold but cautious ...)) I will follow your posts and gain theoretical experience ...)

Welcome to Steemit! I'm fairly new myself but it's been awesome. That's an incredible look herb garden. I wish you well :)

thankyou best of luck to you as well!

You're welcome to this wonderful family.
Enjoy your stay here

Congratulations @thediyguy!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following categories:

  • Comments - Ranked 1 with 78 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 74,18

Wow thank you for telling me!

Welcome! I am also new here! @carjhb from South Africa! Hope you have a good ride here on Steemit!

Welcome & Keep going with good jobs! My first follow is going to you !:)

Congratulations @thediyguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the community!

I offer support for newbies, or "minnows" as we call them, so please, take a stroll down my page and if you have any questions please ask :)

I know what it's like to be the new kid, so I promise to sit with you at lunch :)

Thank you i am really enjoying this sharing what i've done.

There are 2 pages
Pages