Funding for those who need it.

Hello everyone out there!

I am excited about this project and eager to share it with you all. Basically I was thinking of a way to help fund those who really need it. What I felt was, a lot of people would love to support a cause but financial constraints may prevent them. YouTube is a good example where you can support a channel you like financially without actually paying out of your pocket. Same thing can be done with advertises on websites/blogs and stuff. That's a self sustaining model.

What I wanted to do is use this model in some way to help fund those who really need it. For example: Someone terminally ill who needs money to fight their health condition but may not be able to afford it. Someone who would like to achieve higher levels of education but can't afford it. Or it might be an athlete who cannot afford to participate in bigger events and progress due to financial limitations. Or it might be a kid who lost their dear ones and needs support.

Initially I thought of creating a website/blog and try to achieve this with advertise revenue, but it didn't quite appeal to me due to the reasons that steemit has a lot of advantages for a campaign just like this.

Here is the plan, I would look for such people who need support (also you guys might help me out with this), interview/talk to them, write a steem article about their struggle and why they need/deserve the help. Supporters who feel that it's worth supporting the cause may simply upvote the steem article. Of all the up votes(dollars at the bottom of each article) 75% goes to the author and 25% goes to the curators.meta-chart-2.jpeg
So we have the 75% to play with. To make this more self-sustaining campaign, I've decided that 50% of the author revenues would be donated directly to the candidate in the blog. Of the rest 50% I would distribute 40% to the supporters (50$ per person max cap) on twitter (because that's the only social platform I use right now) who help spread the word, the condition being they are supporting the article and leave a proof by mentioning their twitter handle in the comment section. The rest 10% I would keep for myself as an incentive to keep this going.meta-chart.jpeg
Putting that in numbers, if one of my articles earns 1000$ worth of up votes, 250$ goes to the curators and 750$ is rewarded to me. So, of these 750$, 375 would go to the candidate who we're supporting. 337.5 would go to supporters (max 50$ per person, so that more people have an incentive to up vote and spread the word) and 37.5$ stay with me.
I would distribute to all of you on last day of each month @GMT 7:00. The frequency of distribution can be increased if we actually reach substantial up votes!

Why such a model? Everyone loves an incentive to do something, that's how our brains are wired! A positive re-inforcement to up vote will make more people join the campaign. YOU WONT BE SPENDING REAL MONEY AND STILL HELPING A CAUSE and everyone will be rewarded. I don't know how successful it will be, but nobody has anything to lose. I really want it to succeed and will try my best to make that happen and everyone's support is all we'll need.
To make things transparent I have decided that I would post screenshots of the transactions on my twitter, there can be more ways to keep things transparent. If anyone here has any more ideas, let me know in the comments, I highly appreciate any feedback.
P.S: This entire idea was born when I became a part of STRONGHANDS community where they sponsored athletes. So I would like to express my gratitude to them. You can follow me on twitter : https://bit.ly/2lwMkhm
Since this is my first post and beginning of this project, I would distribute all the up votes/dollars to the supporters. Let's being our journey and lend a helping hand while helping ourselves!!

Sort:  

@thenoblepablo, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Welcome to Steem, @thenoblepablo!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2835 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

Hi @thenoblepablo. Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)


Welcome to Steemit @thenoblepablo!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hello thenoblepablo! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.