Introducing: me

Hey everyone! I've been lurking around Steem for a while now, so I thought I would just introduce myself. 

Hi there!

Hi there!

I am Tiago and I am originally from Portugal but I have lived in the US before and am now based in Austria. Recently, I have become very interested in blockchain technology. Not so much in cryptocurrencies, which I think most people just treat as speculative investments, but more in how other applications of the blockchain can revolutionize society. Steem seems like one of more interesting ones, and super easy to get into. So here I am!

I am a scientist. I was originally trained in physics but have since switched to Biology, in particular to Mathematical and Evolutionary Biology.   I study the evolution of populations and, in particular, how fast they can evolve a particular adaptation and how the adaptations they already acquired condition future evolution. In essence, I study the speed of adaptation and the evolution of complexity, from a mathematical prespective. If any of this sounds interesting, feel free to follow me. I plan to write a number of articles on evolution and genetics in general.

See you around

See you around!

Sort:  

Saluton kaj bonvenon je steemit. Vi ja estas unu el la multaj mondaj vojaĝantoj. Por vi tiu loko certe estas bona afero, ĉar ĉi tie vi renkontas grandajn ideojn kaj homojn. Ĝuu !

Thanks! Nice touch, speaking esperanto (is it?). we are all citizens of the world, after all.

Jes, ja ni ĉiuj estas membroj de la monda familio. Ekzistas nur unu raso, nome la homa.
La vere internacia lingvo Esperanto estas ankoraŭ ne konata tutmonde, nur ĉe google translate :-) kaj jen :
https://steemit.com/esperanto/@johano/esperanto

hello @tiagopaixao

Since you write, you can participate in the fifty word story contest for new Steemians on @literature-trail, for a chance to win big.