Tim Tonic | (de)constructing my identity

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

image

Writing an introduction post makes you think about identities and about how we think about identities.

How do we construct identities?

I could start by telling you

  • how old I am (31, according to my birth certificate, but do I really feel this way? No? (how do you even know how your supposed to feel at a certain age??) And do I look this way? Nope... (always very confusing. Both for me and to other people XD))
  • my gender (born as a woman, transitioned to a more masculine body, but identify as genderqueer, confused yet? Oh, I also do drag, yes ^^)
  • my sexuality (pansexual, polyamorous and kinky, what's not to love <3 no to me it's not complex, try living as a monogamous cisgendered hetero women when you're instead a genderqueer poly pansexual butterfly XD now that's complex.)
  • where I live (Rotterdam NL, but on the verge of moving to Berlin, and next few weeks living as a nomad amongst friends and lovers, still in NL)
  • what I do for a living (just quit my job in a bakery, making sandwiches, and aspiring fetish model/kinky performer (amongst many other things))
  • what my hobbies are (do my relationships and sexy/kinky adventures count as hobbies?? And if so, why should/did I feel ashamed of talking about this?)
  • what my eating preferences are (vegan, no refined sugar, no alcohol (yes to tripping though <3), gluten-free. No it's not hard, yes I still can still eat a lot!)

and I could continue this list by adding more stuff.

I could tell you what music I like to hear, what books inspire me, etc etc.

But then, would you really know me?
What do all these things say about me. If there even is such a thing.

Because what I've learned most during my transition (ftm), it's that my identity was a construct. And I took it apart. And I loved every second of it. Even though it was a hard and sometimes painful process. I've grieved my own death serval times (will write more about this later, but for now think about the image of a fenix), and it took a lot of energy, therapy, rituals and effort to come this far.

By letting go the construct of an identity, I've gained complete freedom. And by doing so, I'm now able to follow my dreams <3

So instead of telling you who I am, I'd rather tell you what I'm going to do :)

BERLIN
I've decided to follow my dreams and move to Berlin to become a fetish model <3. I will probably talk a lot about this in my posts the next few weeks, as I'm in the middle of everything and learning so much about myself in the process.

Main goal/intention is to reset myself (the how and why I'll discuss in later posts) and to jump right into it. So as a close friend of mine said: my plan is to not have a plan.

For now I leave it at this. Because a) I don't want to give everything away just yet :p and b) writing more will fill in the empty space I so long for. I want it to fill itself ^^. But stay tuned for more episodes of this adventure I started.

STEEMIT
The other adventure I'm starting as we speak, is Steemit.

As I'm all about reinventing myself (fenix) and (de)constructing life (in every way), I've also given myself the freedom to self-construct my Steemit profile. What it is, what it could mean, how I plan to use it, i want to be able to construct and adjust this as I go along.

I make it sound very clear and simple. But trust me, this also has been a (small) process. I think I'll update you guys on this somewhere this week.

Anyhow, from the second a friend of mine (@hatsekidee, thank you so much <3) mentioned this platform, I just felt this was the medium I had been looking for to use as a new platform. To express myself, to connect with people, and also as a new tool to better understand myself and the world around me.
I'm really looking forward to start integrating Steemit in my life :)

And maybe by doing so I'll gain a better understanding of who I am.
Because to be honest. I have no freaking clue XD.
I mean, that's one of the reasons I'm moving to Berlin.
To give myself a reset. To be in the next bigger playground. To grow, to explore, to try, to live, to be.

And so I also want to give myself that same complete freedom online. To construct on the go, how I see fit. To make mistakes, to re-shape, to learn, to share and to grow.

It's the only way forward.


No previews are given. [I wanted to write them, because that's how you keep your potential followers interested right, to give them previews and heads-up about what to expect next. But I don't want to force myself in any direction. I might start writing about something completely different :o fooled ya! Haha.]

No, I think if you've read my introduction text and you'll have an idea of what to expect next. Although I do hope to be able to surprise you and move you with the things I share online.

Please always feel free to comment and/or give me feedback. Would love to connect to people and the community <3


Ready to start a new adventure?

  • Press PLAY to start
  • Select mode
    ---> HARD.

Ok, now we're ready ^^.

play: Madonna - Music

Sort:  

Hi timtonic, I'm Aly, nice to meet you. Wow, your post is quite an interesting read, you've had an interesting past. Hope you'll always stay true to who you are, esp in this world full of people that try to tear anybody down. :) Good luck!

Hi Aly! Thank you so much. Both for your comment as for your taking the time to read my post <3 And yes, that's something I also hope I'll be able to do ^^. Sometimes it can be quite a challenge!

Welcome to Steemit, @timtonic! Glad you made it :-D

Great introduction that promises for more to come. As a welcome gift I will sponsor you with some Steem Basic Income Love. You can read more about it here.

Also, check out steemstats.com for convenience, shoadowbot to help you vote when you can't, and of course bitshares.openledger.info to open an account so you can receive your sbi ;-)

All the best for your upcoming move. Have fun on Steemit and don"t forget to join at least Alldutch on Discord!

Talk soon in the offline world!

Hihihi. Thank you so much! <3
Will definitely look into all the info you're giving me. It'll be a nice distraction between the chaos of all the different boxes my appartement is currently filled with XD I have to make sure though I also actually do some packing. Lol. Temptations temptations...

sry I introduced you to Steemit.... you're lost forever now :'-)

Check out this post about two Rotterdam Steemians who met up in real life last week.

Hahaha. Jups, I'm guessing you're absolutely right.
Although I must say, at this point it's a welcome break from the chaos that's called moving to nowhere ><
Thanks for sharing that great story! I'll get back to it later, but from the few clips I read, super nice <3

Welcome to Steemit, timtonic! Best wishes for a very successful journey here on this platform :) Be Happy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you so much for your reply! I'll check out your links when I've escaped from this chaos XD
(aka: my apartment at this moment, boxes boxes everywhere ><)

If you want a free Upvote and Resteem just comment on any one of my comments or posts. It would be greatly appreciated if you followed me so others that use my service will have more people like you to Upvote their great content.

Welcome to Steem, @timtonic!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2691 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.15 : Signatures.

@timtonic, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

@timtonic welcome to this great community..I'm positive you'll do well , I've followed you, please do well to follow back..peace!

Welcome @timtonic. That is quite an introduction. Looking forward to read whatever you want to share about the next step in your life. Good luck!

Hi @ijmmai :D Thanks for your reply and your kind words <3 Much appreciated ^^.

Ej tim aangenaam!!!

you will be fine in Berlin I guess, I was there the last couple week (but most likely at toooooootally different places as where you are going to), and I wrote some stuff about it.

As long as you will be safe you will be!

Veel success op je steemit-wave!

Hoi Karin! Nice to meet you :D
Ooeeehhhh, yassss, I'll check out your writings later this week!! Cool.
Hihihi, I'm trying. This week my head goes: OMG ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO DO THIS??? hahaha.
But all my friends are telling me it's part of the process, so I guess I have nothing to worry about?
(I so hope they are right XD)

Dank je wel :D

T kan niet fout gaan toch.

Ik ga inmiddels ook weer emigreren en net terug van een vorige emigratie. Zo veel kan er niet gebeuren :)

Hmmm, I guess :')
Dit is de eerste keer dat ik zoiets doe of uberhaupt echt zo lang op reis ga. Dus ik vind het best spannend :p
Leuk! Waar ga je heen? En waar kwam je vandaan?

Ik ben Nederlands, en heb de afgelopen paar jaren op Sint Maarten gewoond (ja idd die van die orkaan)... nu ben ik effe tussentijds in NL om zometeen naar zwitserland te gaan verhuizen.

Vele veranderingen, maar uiteindelijk is het super makkelijk. Emigreren is easy, alleen mensen achter laten niet